We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but that is about it...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, but that is about it...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

Tiny rooms with low, uncomfortable beds. No internet in rooms. No one mentioned how early checkout was (10:30am), and we were disturbed and asked to leave at 10:45.

Like title of review, great location if you are looking to take in restaurants and sights of town of Cortona.

Restaurant next door is great! (forget name...)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    88
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
44
153
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

Stayed at this hotel in the lovely town of Cortona. It was recommended to us by our daughter's college professor who taught at the art school in town. Since we did not rent a car, we were looking for a reasonably priced hotel, but one that would also offer us a nice room, was clean, and convenient in the town of Cortona. We stayed there 3 nights during the week. We know a couple of other students' parents who also stayed there and they enjoyed the hotel, as well. The hotel manager/person who checked us in was very nice and helpful. The hotel was very charming, "boutiquey" sort of, and very clean. The room we had was pretty small, but we had a queen bed; one window. The bathroom was a nice size and it was very clean, too. I think you could have had breakfast at the hotel (not sure), as it wasn't very visible when you checked in, but we chose to go to some of the bakeries in town, to get breakfast and coffees outside of the hotel. Internet was a little expensive if you needed it for awhile. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parroteyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

We made the reservation on line a day ahead for a standard room for one night. After we got there we asked to see what else they might have available.....that room would have been fine for the price, but we thought we would stay 2 nights, so he showed us a superior room and the single junior suite. Based on our staying 2 nights, he offered us a good rate on all the rooms. So we took the junior suite as a spurge, and we loved the bright, spacious room, the views, the hotel, and the area including and surrounding Cortona so much that we stayed for 3 nights. The hotel has recently been refurbished, and though it certainly retains it's charm, there are many updated features including a lovely bathroom. The staff was very friendly and very helpful in many ways, including making restaurant recommendations and reservations. The breakfast is quite nice, served in a cheery room on the top floor with beautiful views. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank principessa3225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful two week trip in Italy. Along the way, we decided to book this hotel using TripAdvisor recommendations. We called and reserved one night. A few days later, our plans changed, and we called to ask them if we could cancel the reservation without a fee. Francesco asked us if we had read the cancellation policy over email, but we told them we had not because we didn't have email (we were staying at a farmhouse in Tuscany that didn't have internet or phone - we had to drive to the front desk building to use their phone). Francesco said "OK, we normally don't allow cancellations without a fee, but we will not charge you a fee for your cancellation, and we hope you visit us in the future." We said thank you, and thought that was the end of it.

We were wrong. A few days later, Francesco emailed us a bill for 97 euros (about $125) as our cancellation fee. I emailed him back, reminding him that over the phone he agreed that there was no cancellation fee, and thus I thought he sent me the bill in error. Francesco, and then the manager Maurizio Arena replied, and bizarrely still want to charge us. They say that because they sent the cancellation policy by email that they had decided to charge us for the night. They told us that it was our duty to tell them if we did not have access to email.

So let me get this straight: we call to cancel a reservation, they tell us there will be no fee, then a few days later they change their minds and try to charge us $125? Umm, there's a word for that. It's called fraud.

In an email to me, they wrote "Francesco told the lady that Mr. Mouat should pay the room due the cancellation policy but before we will do it we wiil wait the date of check-in, just in case Mr. Mouat change is decision." No, actually, that is the opposite of what happened. Francesco said that he would not charge the cancellation fee. Now they are trying to rewrite history and that pisses me off.

This place is bizarre. I would be very wary in dealing with them, and scrutinize your bills after the fact.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IndyFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelitaliacortona, Direttore at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 6 October 2010
Dear Mr Mouat,
as I wrote to you by mail and as our guest Know, we never used the credit card whitout a right reason.
Unfortunaly you tried to be clever because when you said that you didn't received any mail, THIS IS FALSE, because we received the message on our outlook the "delivered notification".
Second point: you said that you called us by telephone........FALSE!!!!! A lady called us and she didn't say her name.
Third point: The credit card company received all documentation as per your request and till now they didn't answer to us, It mean that we are right.

Please note, read very well the comments of the guest........We don't think that we are fraudulent specially with your € 97,00.......DURA LEX SAD LEX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

We stayed here for a single night in Cortona in August. The best things about this hotel are the location, the staff, and the bathrooms. First, the location is outstanding, just a few meters from the main square in Cortona and even more important, not too far from one of the outlying parking lots outside the walls (parking is free). Once you park, you have to haul your gear up a pretty significant hill but while steep, it's a pretty short walk - 5-10 minutes.

Inside the hotel the staff is very friendly with recommendations and assistance. Our actual room was pretty small by American standards, but the bathroom was large. Large shower, large bathroom and two sinks. Also, the A/C was very strong. Very little in the way of storage or TV.

I paid 135 euros, which is pretty high for August, but the location was worth it. The leather store in the Cortona square has great stuff and the guy there will deal. The larger enotecca in the square there offers quintessential wine snobs. Avoid. Instead, just sit in the square in front of the leather store and drink a beer from the corner cafe. Also recommend La Buccacia as a restaurant, just a few meters down hill from the hotel.

Free wi-fi in lobby, but none in rooms. Average breakfast, but above average views from the breakfast room. I would spend an extended period of time in Cortona and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTrav30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

I was in Cortona with my parents-in-law while my husband was just outside the city at another hotel for a meeting. Hotel Italia was a wonderful place to stay. Just off the main square but down a side street that was quiet in the evening.

Maurizio checked us in & gave us many details about the history of the hotel. He proceeded to book cabs, help us determine best ways to take day trips, and went out of his way to fax a needed copy of a passport to our hotel in Rome once we left. A beautiful wifi-equipped lobby with a side room with tables, chairs, and a small shelf full of books to share. Beautiful lighting in rooms with comfortable beds and good AC in summer (ensure to turn it on again when it cuts off at night or leave windows open). Great shower pressure. Clean hallways with a light smell of cinnamon.

And the breakfast was wonderful! It was on the fourth floor with views overlooking Tuscany. We lingered each morning to look out over the city. Francesco helped with breakfast each morning. He helped me plan a running route to Eremo Le Celle, gave us much information about the area, and served us coffee/juice as we selected items from the buffet (prosciutto, cheese, breads, pastries, yogurt, cereals).

This was a beautiful home with incredibly helpful staff in a charming city. If I'm lucky enough to return, I'd stay here again.

Note that if you arrive in Camucia-Cortona on a Sunday, take the number of a cab with you. We did not find a place open to buy bus tickets. Luckily, Alessio, who runs a cab service with his father, was driving up the street as we were lugging our bags trying to find an open Tabbachi!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlb3eb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pearl, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Italia for six nights near the end of April. We arrived later than expected and contacted the hotel from the train station in nearby Camucia. The gentleman at the front desk, who spoke excellent english, sent a Taxi to pick us up. Our room was lovely and clean with a great view, a little small, but very nice. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. As a matter of fact they always seemed to go out of their way to help, whether it be to make dinner reservations or suggestions for local sightseeing, or helping deciher train schedules. We loved the Hotel Italia and would definitely stay there again. Oh and yes the view from the breakfast room is absolutely beautiful. A great place to sip your capucino in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NfldTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
3.2 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Via Ghibellina 5/7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing