We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I am looking back on a perfect holiday. All ingredients are present, you can choose whatever you want: just relaxing in the garden, swimming, enjoying the sun, city trips, hiking, biking, cooking classes, wine tasting, visiting fine restaurants. The owner Andrea gives perfect advise, you can do a lot but you can also enjoy doing nothing.
Besides Andrea the whole family is involved in the business, his wife made a cake for us, his father build the house and takes care of things, together with Andreas mother.
The apartments have a nice traditional atmosphere but with modern facilities like airco and wifi.
There are only three apartments on a 5.000 m2 property with a big swimming pool, that is what makes Rocca di Pierle uniquely relaxed, together with the modest presence of the owner Andrea who helps you exploring the region.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jort T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

Just back from another (our seventh) wonderfully relaxing holiday in Rocca di Pierle. I can confirm that the standards of hospitality and accomodation are as high as ever - and in one significant respect they have improved even further.
We have never felt the need for air-conditioning during any of the holidays we have spent in this fabulous accomodation. However this year the owners have installed an environmentally friendly air-conditioning system which we used only at night. We didn't it but the result was that our sleep was even better than before. The particular system installed must be the quietest one available as it was almost silent in operation.
The best is now even better!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DedalusIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We came back to Rocca di Pierle for our 1st anniversary after getting married there last year and it was just as good as we remembered. A charming house in beautiful surroundings; it's a great place to completely chill out. 

The owner, Andrea is a great host. He's very attentive and a good source of knowledge on places to eat and visit during your stay. 

Cortona is a lovely town with lots of quaint little shops and nice restaurants. 

Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is our fourth time in Rocca di Pierle. As on all previous occasions, we find here our home away from home. Andrea, the owner, will always make us feel welcome with a generous reception and full attention to details and our privacy.
The views are stunning and the ruin of the castello di Pierle will always serves us as a point of reference as to where our home in Italy is.
the standards of the flats (through time we've stayed in them all....) are very high, always clean and functional. the pool is stunning as well as all the rest.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Monte is the one with a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Izaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Yet another wonderful stay at Rocca di Pierle. As we have found on our three previous visits, this property has everything you could wish for. Exceptionally clean, well furnished, comfortable beds and idyllic surroundings. If you choose to self cater, the kitchen has all the equipment you would require, together with a BBQ for guest use. Andrea gives 200% to ensure that his guest's stay is perfect. Nothing is too much trouble. The surrounding area is very interesting, with plenty of places to visit, whether your interests are historical, cultural or culinary. If sight seeing isn't your forte, then just sit by the pool, relax and absorb the tranquility and beautiful views. You don't know what you're missing, it is magical!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welltravelled1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our fourth visit to Rocca di Pierle and I am sure it won't be the last. The whole experience is first class and very intimate as there are only 3 apartments. The pool area and landscaping are immaculate and are never crowded even when all apartments are booked. It truly is a magical place and a terrific way to unwind. The Tuscan hills surround you and you are very near Cortona, one of the beautiful Tuscan cities. Andrea is the perfect host and can not do enough for you. Try it for yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LogoWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in May 2012. The location is good, the owner, Andrea Luchini goes out of his way to make your stay special. He is very personable, speaks English very well and I appreciated that he has all the services clearly defined that are included and those with an extra charge. He gives a briefing with an overview of the area, provides a packet with places of interest and specifics about the facility. He also gives you a cell phone that can be used while you are a guest.

An example of his hospitality is on the day we checked out to drive to Venice we had a problem with the ATM in town; we called Andrea and he called his father, who lives in town. His father met us at the ATM and helped with the problem. He also followed up with an email to be sure the problem was addressed.

The location of the property is beautiful and inspires relaxation. It was a little chilly during our stay, so we did not spend too much time outside by the pool. We could see how this would be fabulous if the temperature is warmer. We stayed in the La Loggia apartment; it was immaculate; nicely furnished, comfy beds, felt like home. We had internet access, used the washing machine (for a reasonable fee). There is a patio with table and chairs outside the front door; however the wall around the patio blocks the gorgeous view. You have good views from the windows, but the best way to see the hills and the valley would be from the pool area.

The kitchen has all of the items needed if you want to cook. You need to stop to get some basic items like paper towels, dish washing soap, condiments, plus food. Speaking of food, we participated in the cooking lesson that was offered. Ms Anna, the teacher, was wonderful and we had a very enjoyable time; but I would not do this again as the cost was relatively high.

Bear in mind that you are in the Tuscany region and a car is necessary. We found that it took about 45-60 minutes to get from Rocca di Pierle to other places of interest. The drive is breathtaking, but you will spend 1.5 to 2 hours each day getting to/from. Our favorite trip was to Sienna; cute town, nice size and great eating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank texastwosome22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.7 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
762 reviews
7.8 mi away
Villa Borgo San Pietro
Villa Borgo San Pietro
#16 of 24 in Cortona
184 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Relais Villa Petrischio
Relais Villa Petrischio
#14 of 24 in Cortona
260 reviews
4.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
658 reviews
9.8 mi away
Cortona Resort - Le Terre dei Cavalieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle

Address: Loc Pierle, 30, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Cortona
Price Range: £112 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the green hills of the Pierle valley, only a few miles awayfrom the Etruscan town of Cortona, lies the Country House Rocca di Pierle,an ideal place to seek and find tranquillity and peace. The completely restoredfarm house, finished in the end of 2004, overlooks a beautiful valleyand is bathed from early morning to evening by warm sunshine. Besidethe apartments the adjoining storeroom has been restored and is now usedas a breakfast room and is available to guests for their lunches and dinners.Rocca di Pierle Country House is only 10 miles from Cortona, and is 500m above sea level. Its central position is within easy reach of the major culturallocations and natural areas of Tuscany and Umbria., such as Florence,Siena, Perugia, Assisi and Rome. Vineyards nearby include the Chianti region,Montalcino and Montepulciano. After their excursions guests can relaxin the Country House’s own swimming pool (7,5 x 14 m) and enjoythe breathtaking natural surroundings. The “Country House Rocca di Pierle”has been beautifully restored and is a relaxing and comfortable residence,where guests enjoy faultless service and an incomparable atmosphere insurroundings that are cared for in every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing