We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will never have a better holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You will never have a better holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

This was a fabulous holiday. The property and immediate surroundings are as beautiful, if not more so, than the photographs on the web-site suggest. The views from bedroom (and bathroom!) were breath-taking, especially when the mist blanketed Mercatele in the early morning and we were high on the hill in the sun-shine. Clean and beautifully furnished. Andrea, the owner of the accommodation was a great and kindly host - could not have done more for us. Step outside and you can swim in the pool or walk in the wooded mountains. Hop in the car and you can lose yourselves in breath-taking countryside and atop more glorious medieval hill-top towns than you can throw a stick at! Am back home, sat at my computer working (well trying not to, actually) and already I miss the people, accommodation, weather, wine, food, history, culture, countryside and the local shop-keeper carving proscuttio, waver by waver, with all the time, and not a care, in the world. If you book this accommodation and we can't get back in, we will be very cross!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olleysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
88
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

A sunny, peaceful corner on the border between Tuscany and Umbria, with the advantages of both : cultural visits & history, hills, valleys forests and lakes (biking, hiking), local cuisine and wines and, especially, a friendly Italian welcome, in the villages of Mercatale and Lisciano and most of all by Andrea and Stefano, without whom our stay would have been much less enriching. The Rocca di Pierle boasts a perfect location, with an enchanting view of the valley below. The gardens and pool are lovely. Only 3 apartments, so quiet almost guaranteed. One note -- the roads are very hilly with steep climbs, you may want a 4 wheel drive in fall and winter. And to get there, go toward Mercatale and Lisciano Niccone (the towns nearby).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmhartl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed in the Valle apartment for 1 week - the apartment was very clean, comfortable & well appointed with homely furnishings. Andrea was an excellent host - he speaks perfect English & was very helpful in reccomending local restaurants (also making bookings) & activities. The village of Pierle (population 14!) is a stunning location - quiet & peaceful high above the Mercatale valley. The gardens of the farmhouse are beautiful & very well maintained as is the pool. With 3 apartments the agriturismo is just right & maintains the peace & tranquility which is the big draw.

Rocco di Pierle is well situated for touring in the area. Will reccomend to friends & family.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseInCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We did have a wonderfull vacation at Rocca Di Pierle , The villa was beautiful , the pool was beautiful and the area was beautiful . Close to Mercatale and Cortona .Many thanks to the owner Andrea and father Stefano which were always kind and ready to help and guide us . We will be back for sure .
SERGE, SUSAN & JESSICA

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guitarefender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

This is the second time we have visited Rocca Di Pierle and it was every bit as good as we remembered. Wishing to offer a balanced review I considered what negative points we encountered. I can honestly say however, that we didn't find any !
A truly spectacular location, immaculate property and first rate service accurately summerise this property.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobert
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

What can possibly be said to convey how amazing Andrea (owner) is, how spectacular the villa gounds are and, the units? unbelievable. Many reviews say things such as pictures cna't do justice. But it is true. No camera can begin to capture the valley, grounds, and accomodations fully. Andrea made my wife and I feel like a Queen and King. He is truly remarkable and treated all of our guests equally as great. He never steered us astray, always recommending awesome places to eat, tour guides (Giovanni), and going that extra mile to help us in dealing with non-english speaking venues. We would go back a thousand times over. Thank you Andrea for making our wedding perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajforsyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

This was my second stay at this magical place and location - original visit with a girlfriend so successful we decided to bring our teenagers this time. Even more beautiful and with the added attraction of a lone baby fox that fed from my hand each night. Our children adored it - they relaxed in the pool every day following end of term exams and were quite happy to remain in situ (though we did drag them out to Siena, Montepulciano, and Cortona on occasion). On our final night I became extremely unwell (nothing to do with the holiday itself), and the wonderful Luchinis (owners) arrived immediately and drove me to hospital. Everything was taken care of beautifully and nothing was too much trouble. My family had to fly home the next day, but I wasn't alone in hospital following my operation as the Luchini family visited and made sure I had all I needed. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Thank you, Stefano and Andrea - we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fillyjonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.7 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
4.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
6.1 mi away
Villa Marsili - Chateaux et Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
7.3 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
7.1 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle

Property: Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle
Address: Loc Pierle, 30, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the green hills of the Pierle valley, only a few miles awayfrom the Etruscan town of Cortona, lies the Country House Rocca di Pierle,an ideal place to seek and find tranquillity and peace. The completely restoredfarm house, finished in the end of 2004, overlooks a beautiful valleyand is bathed from early morning to evening by warm sunshine. Besidethe apartments the adjoining storeroom has been restored and is now usedas a breakfast room and is available to guests for their lunches and dinners.Rocca di Pierle Country House is only 10 miles from Cortona, and is 500m above sea level. Its central position is within easy reach of the major culturallocations and natural areas of Tuscany and Umbria., such as Florence,Siena, Perugia, Assisi and Rome. Vineyards nearby include the Chianti region,Montalcino and Montepulciano. After their excursions guests can relaxin the Country House’s own swimming pool (7,5 x 14 m) and enjoythe breathtaking natural surroundings. The “Country House Rocca di Pierle”has been beautifully restored and is a relaxing and comfortable residence,where guests enjoy faultless service and an incomparable atmosphere insurroundings that are cared for in every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing