We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disppointingly poor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sabrina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sabrina
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Disppointingly poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

I would avoid this place, unless you can't find anywhere else in Cortona.

There was a musty smell on entering the reception, and the old furnishings and fittings continued in the room. The light in the bathroom was dismal, consisting of a single bare bulb over the washbasin which left the shower in deep shadow. (This was increased to 2 bare bulbs after we complained.) The hot water supply was poor in the shower - I needed a lot of patience to swill first one small part of my body and then another, and my girlfriend just gave up washing her hair; in the washbasin it was entirely inadequate - just a trickle. The air-conditioning didn't work for the first 2 out of the 3 days we stayed. There was no fridge in the room. On the first night there was an ominous "gnawing wood" sound from under the wardrobe - probably just a mouse not a rat, though. Breakfast was adequate on the first 2 mornings (although there was no fresh produce, just processed cheese and stale bread) but on morning 3 the coffee machine failed and we had to walk 100m down a side street to a restaurant owned by the same woman.

The place is really a B&B rather than a hotel - there was no-one at reception most of the time, and there is no bar nor any of the other facilities you might associate with the word 'hotel'. However, the room was clean and there was wifi.

All-in-all, it was plain that this was an establishment run with a bare minimum of effort and expenditure. On 2 out of 3 nights it appeared that we were the only guests and we were not surprised! A substantial investment would be needed to get out of the vicious circle of low quality - few guests - low income - low expenditure - low quality.

Room Tip: If you really must stay here, take a back room - they will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theSkipper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    32
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
48
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

We were a group of 5 adults on a road trip driving through Tuscany last August 2009. We booked one night at Hotel Sabrina and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean, spacious and charming. Having travelled to many parts of Italy and staying at different hotels, it is safe to say not all hotels have elevators, easy parking or underground parking and usually the rooms and bathrooms are quite compact (one should always be prepared for small, tight quarters). In fact, many medieval villages do require you to park outside of the stone walls. With Hotel Sabrina, you can drive to the front of the hotel, drop off your luggage and park your car a block away. Driving in the village may be a shock to some who are not use to tiny roads and you do feel like you're driving on the sidewalk, but hey, you are in Europe afterall and a medieval village.

We had two rooms booked, a double room that was quite spacious with a nice, clean bathroom with shower and a 3 person room that could've actually fit all five of us!! We walked into the 3 person room and there were two single beds in the first room, a pretty big bathroom with shower and a separate room with a queen bed. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. We all enjoyed our stay and wished we had booked additional nights in Cortona to enjoy the Tuscan Sun Festival and the village itself which is perched on top of a hill overlooking the gorgeous landscape. The breakfast is standard continental - juice, bread, pastries, jam, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, yoghurt, and they can make you a cappuccino or espresso!

We would definitely go back to Cortona and stay at Hotel Sabrina again. It's better than many 3 star hotels we've stayed at in Italy, the location's great - right by the center, owners are friendly, parking is close by, and don't forget, there's no elevator and you will have to walk up some stairs with your luggage :)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avid_traveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

We are an old Swedish couple and we love Italy.We found Cortona wonderful partly depending on the wonderful landlords, Franca and her husband Paolo, grandmother and the son. Cortona is a nice city, beyond the ordinary tourist ways. The city is not destroyed by tourists and modern times. I, Christina, speak Italian and of course this is like a ticket to know people and coming in contact with everybody. Franca gave us nice tips were and how to go around in the countryside.
We are so happy that Franca told us that they also have a little restaurant in a small "vicolo" (that could be difficult to find). The name is "ANTICO POZZO",in an medeival palazzo that now belongs to the family. They have restored it into a wonderful house for B&B and hotel where the guests can have their breakfast in the old "Cortile" with the old font, "antico pozzo". Lovely atmosphere even for honey.moon. The restaurant have excellent dishes, typical for the region. Our dinner was the most excellent dinner we ever had in Italy for many years! Yours Christina and Staffan Nordin from Sweden

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skogsfolket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

For an authentic hill town experience, Hotel Sabrina hits in right on the mark. Our room, located on the top floor, was spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean, and above all, quiet and peaceful. This B & B is family-run, thereby attention to their guests' needs is their number one priority. The family also owns the fabulous "Locanda al Pozzo Antico Ristorante," located just around the corner from Hotel Sabrina. Do not miss at least having one meal at this restaurant, serving typical Tuscan cuisine, which was absolutely delicious, and would not hesitate to add probably the best food we had in Italy! We made a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LowePower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

This is one of those neat hotels I love staying at because of their charm. Family run, it is one of those walk-up doorway hotels on a hilly side street that have a comfortable feel to it because it is maintained like a home. Clean, relaxed atmosphere! The staff are Grandma on down, and you get to meet them all. Genuinely friendly and helpful, all you have to do is ask! They give you keys to all the doors, so you can come and go as you please. Breakfast is pretty continental with fruit, but I prefer that to a heavy farmers breakfast that begs for a nap after. Rooms are very clean and neat. Beds comfy (so tired after sightseeing, could have slept on a bread board). No real extras (small TV, no radio), kinda rustic, but anything else would only distract from the Tuscany feel I want. Watch the short step backwards from the sink, that's the lip of the shower. We were on the first floor (no elevator, but that was a non-factor for us) and all was quiet. Our friends on the second floor had the tipsy couple coming in at 2 a.m. Bad Ju-Ju. Parking is a short walk at the bottom of the street, through the gate, outside the city wall. Good places to eat, shop, drink coffee at all around Cortona. Some excellent restaurants, a couple just around the corner from the hotel. Ristorante Dulce Maria is very good. Strong Hint: If you plan on eating at Ristorante La Bucaccia, make reservations days in advance. I agree with the other person, everything is uphill in Cortona, so bring comfortable walking shoes. Overall, you'll have an enjoyable stay at Sabrina. I would definately stay there again. If there was a con to this place, it would only apply to persons with walking disabilities because of the hilly location and no elevator.https://tonic.tripadvisor.com/SavedPhotos-g586481-i21621489,21621490,21621492,21621493,21621494,21621495-w1-Cortona_Tuscany.html#21621489

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timetraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OROmie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

My sisters and I stayed one night at the Hotel Sabrina then moved "around the corner" to our reserved rooms at Dolce Maria B&B. Both establishments are owned by the Barboni family and everyone is included in the hospitable reception and service. (Except grandson, Gulio the 15 month old charmer.)

At the 7 room, newly renovated B&B you feel like you're at home with comfortable beds, large, well appointed bathrooms, and breakfast personally served each day by Nonna (grandmother) Deana. Language doesn't seem to be a barrier when cherrfulness, attention and efficiency are apparent.

At night, just walk downstairs for a wonderful meal on the patio at Dolce Maria Ristorante. Manager Luigi Paletta will create a relaxed evening of wine, delicious food and attentive service.

At Dolce Maria B&B and ristorante you feel like one of la famgilia.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank OROmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2008

We found this hotel at the last minute and were very happy with our choice. Cortona has little parking and you have to park outside the ancient walls for most of the smaller character hotels. The Sabrina was very close to the gates and a short walk to the parking. (EVERYTHING is up-hill in Cortona!) A five minute walk to the main piaza and the great Etruscan Museum. The room was spotlessly clean with crisp sheets and nicely decorated, maintaining the character of the ancient building. The bathroom was clean and modern. Yes, there were lots of stairs, but we were in Tuscany and Umbria for 17 days and this is almost universally true - if you want an elevator go to the Holiday Inn. The breakfast was very good and the staff spoke very good English. An Excellent choice for someone who wants to experience the real Italy on a buget.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Blewnoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Santa Margherita
Villa Santa Margherita
#14 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sabrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sabrina

Property: Hotel Sabrina
Address: Via Roma 37, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sabrina 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sabrina, located in the historical center of Cortona is in a fine, old sixteenth century building, once the residence of the famous sculptor Fabbrucci; it offers its guests a warm and friendly atmosphere with simply but tastefully furnished rooms. In the small Hall it's offers excellent and genuine rich breakfasts with delicious hot tarts and home-made jams, juice and bread. Every room has en-suite bathroom, TV, direct telephone, safe and everything required for passing a marvelous stay in the Etruscan town of Cortona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sabrina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabrina Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing