We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel, friendly staff, excellent location”
Review of Hotel Sabrina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sabrina
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value hotel, friendly staff, excellent location”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This is a very reasonably priced hotel, clean, spacious rooms - ours was enormous - and if you stay in one of the rooms at the back you get a beautiful view out over the rooftops of Cortona. The owner was so helpful and friendly, driving us in his car to collect our car that was parked a short distance away and bringing us to the free public carpark just around the corner from the hotel. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The centre of Cortona is a few minutes walkaway. This hotel was a great find, with a town as beautiful as Cortona you'll want to spend all your time outside taking in the stunning views and sitting in the cafes, so why spend lots of money on an expensive hotel. Yes the rooms are basic, but they are large, bright and clean and for a town as popular as Cortona, it's the best priced hotel you're going to find. Hotel Sabrina was perfect for us and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlegypsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    35
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
16
49
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Very basic room, but clean and spacious. Bathroom also clean, and featured the standard telephone booth-size shower installed by all Italian hotels. Wonderful and very sweet woman runs the hotel. She speaks very little English, but was extremely patient and kind in dealing with my limited Italian. Excellent location. I would stay here again just because I liked the innkeeper so much.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel a year ago during our 20th anniversary tour of Tuscany. It was in a great location of Cortona, everything is walking distance. The staff were very nice and helpful. The room was very nice. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I would avoid this place, unless you can't find anywhere else in Cortona.

There was a musty smell on entering the reception, and the old furnishings and fittings continued in the room. The light in the bathroom was dismal, consisting of a single bare bulb over the washbasin which left the shower in deep shadow. (This was increased to 2 bare bulbs after we complained.) The hot water supply was poor in the shower - I needed a lot of patience to swill first one small part of my body and then another, and my girlfriend just gave up washing her hair; in the washbasin it was entirely inadequate - just a trickle. The air-conditioning didn't work for the first 2 out of the 3 days we stayed. There was no fridge in the room. On the first night there was an ominous "gnawing wood" sound from under the wardrobe - probably just a mouse not a rat, though. Breakfast was adequate on the first 2 mornings (although there was no fresh produce, just processed cheese and stale bread) but on morning 3 the coffee machine failed and we had to walk 100m down a side street to a restaurant owned by the same woman.

The place is really a B&B rather than a hotel - there was no-one at reception most of the time, and there is no bar nor any of the other facilities you might associate with the word 'hotel'. However, the room was clean and there was wifi.

All-in-all, it was plain that this was an establishment run with a bare minimum of effort and expenditure. On 2 out of 3 nights it appeared that we were the only guests and we were not surprised! A substantial investment would be needed to get out of the vicious circle of low quality - few guests - low income - low expenditure - low quality.

Room Tip: If you really must stay here, take a back room - they will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theSkipper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We were a group of 5 adults on a road trip driving through Tuscany last August 2009. We booked one night at Hotel Sabrina and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean, spacious and charming. Having travelled to many parts of Italy and staying at different hotels, it is safe to say not all hotels have elevators, easy parking or underground parking and usually the rooms and bathrooms are quite compact (one should always be prepared for small, tight quarters). In fact, many medieval villages do require you to park outside of the stone walls. With Hotel Sabrina, you can drive to the front of the hotel, drop off your luggage and park your car a block away. Driving in the village may be a shock to some who are not use to tiny roads and you do feel like you're driving on the sidewalk, but hey, you are in Europe afterall and a medieval village.

We had two rooms booked, a double room that was quite spacious with a nice, clean bathroom with shower and a 3 person room that could've actually fit all five of us!! We walked into the 3 person room and there were two single beds in the first room, a pretty big bathroom with shower and a separate room with a queen bed. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. We all enjoyed our stay and wished we had booked additional nights in Cortona to enjoy the Tuscan Sun Festival and the village itself which is perched on top of a hill overlooking the gorgeous landscape. The breakfast is standard continental - juice, bread, pastries, jam, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, yoghurt, and they can make you a cappuccino or espresso!

We would definitely go back to Cortona and stay at Hotel Sabrina again. It's better than many 3 star hotels we've stayed at in Italy, the location's great - right by the center, owners are friendly, parking is close by, and don't forget, there's no elevator and you will have to walk up some stairs with your luggage :)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avid_traveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We are an old Swedish couple and we love Italy.We found Cortona wonderful partly depending on the wonderful landlords, Franca and her husband Paolo, grandmother and the son. Cortona is a nice city, beyond the ordinary tourist ways. The city is not destroyed by tourists and modern times. I, Christina, speak Italian and of course this is like a ticket to know people and coming in contact with everybody. Franca gave us nice tips were and how to go around in the countryside.
We are so happy that Franca told us that they also have a little restaurant in a small "vicolo" (that could be difficult to find). The name is "ANTICO POZZO",in an medeival palazzo that now belongs to the family. They have restored it into a wonderful house for B&B and hotel where the guests can have their breakfast in the old "Cortile" with the old font, "antico pozzo". Lovely atmosphere even for honey.moon. The restaurant have excellent dishes, typical for the region. Our dinner was the most excellent dinner we ever had in Italy for many years! Yours Christina and Staffan Nordin from Sweden

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skogsfolket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

For an authentic hill town experience, Hotel Sabrina hits in right on the mark. Our room, located on the top floor, was spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean, and above all, quiet and peaceful. This B & B is family-run, thereby attention to their guests' needs is their number one priority. The family also owns the fabulous "Locanda al Pozzo Antico Ristorante," located just around the corner from Hotel Sabrina. Do not miss at least having one meal at this restaurant, serving typical Tuscan cuisine, which was absolutely delicious, and would not hesitate to add probably the best food we had in Italy! We made a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LowePower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oasi Neumann
Hotel Oasi Neumann
#17 of 24 in Cortona
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 24 in Cortona
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
775 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#7 of 24 in Cortona
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sabrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sabrina

Property: Hotel Sabrina
Address: Via Roma 37, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sabrina 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sabrina, located in the historical center of Cortona is in a fine, old sixteenth century building, once the residence of the famous sculptor Fabbrucci; it offers its guests a warm and friendly atmosphere with simply but tastefully furnished rooms. In the small Hall it's offers excellent and genuine rich breakfasts with delicious hot tarts and home-made jams, juice and bread. Every room has en-suite bathroom, TV, direct telephone, safe and everything required for passing a marvelous stay in the Etruscan town of Cortona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Sabrina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabrina Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing