We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless with great location...”
Review of Hotel Sabrina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sabrina
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Spotless with great location...”
Reviewed 20 April 2008

We found this hotel at the last minute and were very happy with our choice. Cortona has little parking and you have to park outside the ancient walls for most of the smaller character hotels. The Sabrina was very close to the gates and a short walk to the parking. (EVERYTHING is up-hill in Cortona!) A five minute walk to the main piaza and the great Etruscan Museum. The room was spotlessly clean with crisp sheets and nicely decorated, maintaining the character of the ancient building. The bathroom was clean and modern. Yes, there were lots of stairs, but we were in Tuscany and Umbria for 17 days and this is almost universally true - if you want an elevator go to the Holiday Inn. The breakfast was very good and the staff spoke very good English. An Excellent choice for someone who wants to experience the real Italy on a buget.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Blewnoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    35
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
16
49
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2006

I was booked into this hotel for a week as part of an artist's retreat. I knew I wasn't going to be happy from the minute I walked into the lobby (about 10 square feet) and discovered that my room was on the third floor and no elevator. I struggled with my suitcase up three flights of stairs only to find one of the worst rooms I have ever seen. It had one bulb in the ceiling to light the entire room and no reading lights near the bed. The bathroom was tiny and not very clean...and the odor was just overwhelming. I was forced to stay one night but got out of there the very next morning and found another hotel. Other reviewers have tried to pass this hotel off as a charming bed and breakfast type establishment, but there is charming and then there is dump - Hotel Sabrina falls into the latter category.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Lack of lighting and smell
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ntfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbs of Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2006

We stayed in the top floor suite of Hotel Sabrina. The management is very friendly and accomodating. The grandmother serves the breakfast in the morning and makes "to-order" coffee of choice. The bathroom showers are pretty small but that is pretty normal in Italy. The location was phenomenal as a walk to the center was only three minutes. Very close to cafe's and shopping. We received hugs from both the grandmother and daughter on our last day there! :)

Stayed June 2004
Helpful?
3 Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 May 2006

The Hotel Sabrina was the best hotel our family group stayed at during our trip. Both double rooms were very comfortable, clean and quiet. The breakfast was large and delicious, including homemade bread & jam, cereal, yogurt, juice and cappuccino. It's a very short walk from the town center. We travelled by train & bus so driving & parking wasn't a concern. Not all the staff spoke English (but it is Italy) but we had no trouble communicating with our very limited Italian.
The price was very reasonable at 75 Euro (off season rate).

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 October 2005

The Sabrina's management staff is friendly and helpful, but the hotel doesn't deserve 3-star rating, even in Italy. The location, not far off the town piazza, is the main strong point. Located in a hard to get to, narrow, street, and there is no elevator, so guests have to carry luggage up a steep stairway. Rooms are small of course, but the big issue is the bathrooms. Basically the bathroom floor is the shower floor ... the shower water flows to a drain in the middle of the floor, so there's no dry floor to step onto from the shower. The shower area itself is so small that you constantly have to peel the shower curtain off your backside. It's pretty awful. The family who runs the place are all nice, but only the daughter speaks English, so if she's not there it's tough to communicate effectively.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oasi Neumann
Hotel Oasi Neumann
#17 of 24 in Cortona
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 24 in Cortona
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
775 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#7 of 24 in Cortona
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sabrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sabrina

Property: Hotel Sabrina
Address: Via Roma 37, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sabrina 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sabrina, located in the historical center of Cortona is in a fine, old sixteenth century building, once the residence of the famous sculptor Fabbrucci; it offers its guests a warm and friendly atmosphere with simply but tastefully furnished rooms. In the small Hall it's offers excellent and genuine rich breakfasts with delicious hot tarts and home-made jams, juice and bread. Every room has en-suite bathroom, TV, direct telephone, safe and everything required for passing a marvelous stay in the Etruscan town of Cortona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sabrina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabrina Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing