We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Charming Hotel in the Heart of Cortona”
Review of Hotel Sabrina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sabrina
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hotel Sabrina was absolutely charming and lovely! Very clean, very friendly and helpful owner and staff, very accommodating! I cannot say enough good things because we loved this hotel. We stayed here for four nights/five days -- cannot beat the location right down the street from the main piazza in Cortona, with free parking just down the hill. Breakfast was wonderful each morning as well. I had the "Audrey Helpburn" room and my friend had the room above me one floor up, and both rooms were gorgeous, and had everything you need for a wonderful experience. Although they don't have air conditioned rooms the fans provided were more than adequate coupled with the evening breeze coming through the windows, for a very comfortable sleeping experience. Free wifi with good service. There are some stairs to climb from the main lobby, but after all the pizza, pasta, prosecco and limoncello, it evens you out and is a good thing! :-) You can drive up to drop off luggage when you arrive and pick up when you leave so you don't have to lug it to or from the car. I will most definitely stay here again on my return trip to Cortona. And the restaurant just half way up the hill toward the piazza, Ristorante Cuccina, is excellent! Love it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

In a town that is grossly overpriced and not always particularly friendly, this hotel is a real find. Great location, great welcome, sparkling clean rooms, terrific price. Yes, you may have to be in good enough shape to climb the stairs, but the town itself is very steep.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgc37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is a bit old, but it is clean and nice. I stayed for a night and it suits the purpose. The location is great, right in the middle of town. The manager is very accommodating. Though the taxi he arranged for my early monring commute to Terontola is overpriced. He said it takes 25 minutes, that's why it is 25 euros (which I was charged) but it only took a bit more than 10 minutes. And there is no licence whatsoever on the cab. I am not sure if this taxi is legit or it's just moonlighting by his friends. But the driver was courteous and efficient so I paid him the EUR 25.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel was lovely. Sergio gave our family of four a large room on the top floor with a queen bed in one room and two single beds in a connecting room. The bathroom was large and well equipped. We loved our time exploring the town with so much character and beauty. We were provided with a hearty breakfast of pastries, dry cereal, flat breads and anything we chose to drink. The staff was outstanding and super friendly. We would highly recommend this hotel for the superior service and beautiful rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windsurfer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel Sabrina twice now, and should I ever find myself in Cortona again I will definitely stay here again. This is not a modern hotel, though the bathrooms have been updated. Most of the furnishings appear to be gorgeous antiques, and most of the rooms are quite spacious. (Having traveled with friends on both visits I have seen many of the rooms.)

Breakfast is usually served by "Nona," and while it's not the largest breakfast it is more than adequate.

The hotel is located a short walk from the town square, and is just far enough away that you should be able to sleep should you retire early.

Hotel Sabrina is an authentic Tuscan hotel that still manages to be affordable. I cannot recommend it more.

One word of warning: Be sure to connect with the hotel before you arrive to let them know what time to expect you. There's no traditional check-in counter, so you'll need to tell them when to expect you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 442lisak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is exactly what i expect from a three star hotel. On the positive side its located in the middle of the city, that is really beautiful. It has very friendly staff, bookshelf with travel books from Italy, Tuscany. Breakfast was ok.

On the negative side due to the fact that Cortona has had attractions almost every day it means its parking areas are usually full with cars. So if you arrive after 18:00 expect problems finding parking. watch for white lines for parking, yellows are for locals, blue lines show paying spaces.
The other word for caution, due to the fact that it is located close to the very few exits from the city, our room with window to the street were incredibly noisy. You need to avoid these rooms or put something inot your ear, or you wont sleep much.

Room Tip: Avais street-facing rooms at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I recommend this hotel for a variety of reasons:
It is located a few meters from the main piazza.
Parking is even closer.
The room is very clean, airy and bright.
The bathroom is spotless and very spacious.
Breakfast is great and you get to mingle with other guests.

But the main reason I will come back again and again is the host: Sergio.
Sergio goes out of his way to make your stay more enjoyable and memorable. He knows everything and everyone in town. He will recommend to you activities, restaurants, gelato flavours and picturesque drives out of town. Anything you want, any question you have, he will have a response for you.

I will come back, without a doubt, time and time again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#6 of 24 in Cortona
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#15 of 24 in Cortona
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 24 in Cortona
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
412 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Nuovo Centrale
Hotel Nuovo Centrale
#22 of 24 in Cortona
59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Locanda i Grifi
Locanda i Grifi
#11 of 24 in Cortona
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sabrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sabrina

Address: Via Roma 37, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Price Range: £66 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sabrina 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sabrina, located in the historical center of Cortona is in a fine, old sixteenth century building, once the residence of the famous sculptor Fabbrucci; it offers its guests a warm and friendly atmosphere with simply but tastefully furnished rooms. In the small Hall it's offers excellent and genuine rich breakfasts with delicious hot tarts and home-made jams, juice and bread. Every room has en-suite bathroom, TV, direct telephone, safe and everything required for passing a marvelous stay in the Etruscan town of Cortona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Sabrina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabrina Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing