We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais Villa Petrischio
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is a superb place to stay for a few days or maybe a week.peaceful ,relaxed and with some of the best views you will ever get in a hotel.
Do check,though if they have any weddings as they will take over the place at the expense of the paying guests and carry no til the wee small hours.we are talking parties with over 150 people.
Having said that and it happened once on a Saturday night, all the other nights were quiet and calm.so,perhaps unfair to judge it for that but we were staying a week and had no prior warning .the only notice we had was asking us to move our car!for this reason alone we are giving four not five stars.
A great place from which to explore eastern Tuscany.
For reference it is about 45 minutes to Sienna ,a bit less to Arezzo,and a bit more to Perugia.the smaller towns of Montepulciano , Montalcino and Castiglioni are closer and a pretty easy drive
away.
Best restaurants within 20 minutes :
Osteria del teatro ,Cortona.
OsteMatto,Lucignano
L'Acquario,Castiglione del lago at the very top by castle
Degli Archi,Montepulciano.
All priced 80 ish euros.
Dinner at the hotel is just wonderful and with a good wine will cost you about €100.
Breakfast is typically continental,so get in first!
Rooms very comfortable .some noise from adjoining rooms,some of which was amusingly "nocturnal".but most people were early to bed and not too early to rise.Pool
is very nice but too cold for most.
Conclusion- avoid the weddings and you will be amazed and delighted and wanting more!
Staff very helpful especially at dinner time.
And Valentina is just gorgeous!

Room Tip: Try to overlook the rear of the property if in main building The bungalows look very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdrivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petrischio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Villa Petrischio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for writing your review on our hotel.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay in Tuscany and at our location.
For the wedding we are really sorry , we always communicate the presence of an event first to the agencies who book for you and then to our guests at check-in.
In this case, we apologize, there will be certainly been a misunderstanding in giving you the information.
We hope you will be our guest again in the future.
Sincerely,

Elga Gemini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

The best hotel of our stay in Italy as it provided the perfect background for Tuscany's natural beauty. My husband and I spent two weeks traveling throughout the country and still recount the beauty and splendor of Relais Villa Petrischio, its pleasant staff, impeccable facilities and unmatched setting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petrischio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Villa Petrischio, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for writing your review, we are very pleased to know that you spent the most wonderful stay here.
You are always welcome,

All the Best
Elga Gemini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Beatiful locations, nice swimming-pool, very lousy restaurang , wi-fi on and off and a waiter with the same spots on his trousers, day after day. His english was absent, two days a dog entertained the guests. The air condition did not work in the sleeping room, therefore my wife got 20 inseckt bites as a memory from the resort. And it was difficult to believe the excuses from the manager...
Great potensial, but not high class!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Hans jacob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petrischio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Villa Petrischio, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013
Google Translation

Cher Client,

Nous sommes désolés pour ce qu'ils ont appris dans son commentaire et de ne pas être en place pour fournir un service adéquat.
Si nous avions su de votre mécontentement , nous aurions tout notre possible pour vous faire sentir à l'aise fait.
Nous sommes vraiment désolés et nous espérons que dans l'avenir vous accepterez notre invitation pour un dîner au restaurant.
Cordialement,

Elga Gemini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Villa. We stayed in the Tuscan Suite and my wife and I renewed our marriage vows in the Chapel. Gianni, the photographer that the Villa arranged for us did an excellent job, and the scenery made for great pictures and lifelong memories. The restaurant did an outstanding job on the food for our celebration lunch (we just wish we could have made it to the second course; we were so full, we couldn't eat another thing). The Suite itself was wonderful. We had more than enough room for the four of us, and it was so nice having a full kitchen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimmRawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petrischio, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Villa Petrischio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Guest,
we remeind you and your family with great pleasure, the party was wonderful , we were really happy to has been the perfect place for your wedding renowals.
We hope to see you again,
All the best

Elga Gemini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I had heard beautiful things about Tuscany, that is why my family and I went there. Now I share this feeling, and when I think of Tuscany I remember the wonderful sunset at Petrischio. That view was really amazing.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Rosario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We spent five nights in this old villa set in acres of its own grounds. It has been beautifully converted into a hotel of great quality and style. The level of service from all the hotel staff was excellent and the room facilities 1st class. There is an attractive outdoor pool and good terrace area.
The restaurant is operated by a separate organisation, presumably franchised, and did not quite come up to the standards of the hotel. The food was very good but the complete absence of spoken English, meant that the service,while efficients, lacked warmth and charm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAMILJAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel early August. The hotel is located on top of a hill with spectucalar views. The room was OK for the three of us. The bed was comfortable, the room was nicely decorated in local style. The bathroom was clean and functional. The AC was working and required as the it was 35 degrees plus. Wireless is available at no charge. The hotel is about 20-25 km from Cortona, Montepulciano and close to the expressway to Perugia. Ideal for daytrips.

The staff at the hotel was very friendly (at the reception, the ladies cleaning the room).

Unfortunately, we had very bad experience with the breakfast. This not only on the first day but also on the following 4 days. The lady in charge was extremely rude. We wanted to have breakfast outside near the pool but that was not possible although there was nobody. Then I heard her complaining in French to somebody outside not knowing that we could understand French. Then there was no bread, the same cake appeared on the buffet for several days, empty trays were not refilled etc... Amazing, how one person can destroy our otherwise lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAHL1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
7.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#6 of 24 in Cortona
315 reviews
8.5 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
669 reviews
7.1 mi away
Relais Villa Baldelli
Relais Villa Baldelli
#9 of 24 in Cortona
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
442 reviews
7.4 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
833 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 24 in Cortona
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Petrischio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Petrischio

Address: Via Villa Farneta 25 | Cortona, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: £94 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Villa Petrischio 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find Relais Villa Petrischio in the heart of Tuscany. The Villa was built in the 18th century on the highest hill of Farneta, which is a little village ten miles away from Cortona. Villa Petrischio is surrounded by three hectares of park with secular pines and cypresses . A long time ago the Villa belonged to the family of Count Lambardi, now the new owners have changed it in to a charming and elegant four star Relais. The accommodation offers guests a pleasantly relaxing experience, after a walk in the park or a trip to visit the "pearls of the valley". 18 rooms named after mythological females are situated between the Villa and “Il Borgo” which has a Japanese atmosphere. All the rooms are decorated with precious designs and it's possible to sense the touch of local artisans of the 18th century, without forgetting modern equipment as LCD TV, hydro massage bathtub and shower , minibar and wi-fi connection. All the rooms open up to the large green park and around the swimming pool there is natural terrace offering unforgettable views over Tuscany. Within the three hectare park there is a possibility to find many beautiful details as little rose fountain and a Japanese garden. From the swimming pool terrace it is possible to look at an inimitable sunset. At the edge of the swimming pool there is our restaurant La Terrazza where our appreciated Chef Walter Passeri 1 Michelin* offers typical Tuscan plates from an extensive “à la carte” menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Relais Villa Petrischio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Petrischio Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing