We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning Italy”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alle Pietre

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
mark b
Urmston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning Italy”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fabulous stay in Italy. our stay in Cortona was even better when we saw alle Pietre. It's a wonderfully charming little cottage with stunning views. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and a short 5 min walk from the main square in Cortona with its restaurants museums and shops. If you arrive by hire car there is free parking a 5 min walk away. Worth noting that the beautiful city of Florence is an 80min train ride away and alle Pietre is well placed to explore the local area. We would definitely recommend the cottage to others. thank y
Out for a wonderful stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Hello Mark,thank you for your kind words.
You will be always welcome at home !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mooreclar...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully decorated house with fantastic view”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This house is great. It has a fantastic location, is beautifully decorated & has stunning views from the outdoor area which was perfect for an evening drink. The host was very helpful & thoughtful. I would definitely recommend this as place to stay in Cortona.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Dear Clare,
thank you very much.
You will be always welcome at home.
With my best regards,
Ester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaw051
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A most accommodating accommodation”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you are attracted to the quaintness and lifestyle of the small, walled cities of Tuscany, then you would be hard-pressed to find a better destination than Cortona. We have been four times in the last decade or so but have never stayed in the city itself until this recent visit. And the house at Alle Pietre was the perfect way to do it. Ester is the most accommodating of hostesses, advising us during our pre-planning, introducing us to the home and its amenities, and responding in a timely manner with help whenever we had a question or a need (including arranging our rescue when we missed our train stop coming into Cortona). The home itself sits amid a series of small homes in connected buildings on a sloping street just a couple of minutes walk from the main Cortona piazza. It is three floors, generously and beautifully furnished, clean and comfortable - and out the back door the valley below and the surrounding hills deliver one of Cortona's most spectacular views. As private as it is convenient, as meticulously maintained as it is well furnished, Alle Pietre is a great choice for a couple looking to enjoy Cortona and the surrounding area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Dear Mike, dear Linda,
to meet you was a pleasure.
Thank you for your kind words.
You will be always welcome "Alle Pietre".
All the best,
Ester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Tuscan Gem in Noble Cortona”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from 2 weeks in Italy, which began with our first visit to Tuscany, where we stayed in Cortona for an amazing week at "Alle Pietre". The owner Ester has done a wonderful job making her home incredibly welcoming and comfortable. Every detail was considered, even a few breakfast items for our first morning -- so thoughtful! The bedroom was very nice, and we both slept very soundly every night. The house makes you feel so comfortable, while still maintaining the amazing atmosphere of a home in an authentic medieval Tuscan hill town which has deep roots from very ancient times. Being so close to the center of the city made exploring Cortona so easy, and Ester's dining recommendations were spot in for several fantastic meals. Her suggestions for day trips were also very helpful. Being able to cook together in the cute kitchen was so fun, and after a week we really felt at home...and really had a tough time saying goodbye! The views across the Val di Chiana from the outdoor seating area are amazing, and settling in for that week was a great experience! We hope to come back again very soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Thank you for choosing "Alle Pietre" and for your kind words.
Your pleasure it is my pleasure.
I really hope to meet you again.
With my best wishes,
Ester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketchupre...
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Loved our stay!”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay was too short - this has to be one of our favourite places we have ever stayed! It was the cutest little house on three levels with the nicest owner. Our teen girls loved their lower level room and the upstairs bedroom was fantastic - even better than the photos. Every little detail was thought of and it was so well supplied - the best we had during our trip in Italy. It was beautifully decorated throughout and spotlessly clean. The view out the back on the walls of Cortona was amazing and then to be able to exit out the front door and be in the centre of town in one minute was fantastic and it was also very quiet. Cortona was such a neat little town and we had some of our best meals in Italy here. We really hope to come back some day and stay here again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words.
You will be always welcome at home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESTIE S
Mpumalanga
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay in Cortona ”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely three level house, situated on the Etruria walls with beautiful, expansive views over the countryside. This is a well kept and equipped home, styled to perfection. It was a real treat to have books, music, and art on the walls, and in picture perfect collections of stones, books and plants on window sills, niches and tables. It was easy to communicate with Ester, she was prompt and helpful with check-in, and all instructions were clear and practical. The sofa bed in the downstairs room was very comfortable. The heating worked well, and we were warm despite the very low temperatures some days during our stay. We loved our stay in Cortona, and Alle Pierre house contributed to our positive experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Dear Estie,
thank you very much for your kind words.
You will be always welcome !
Ester
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nkmarshal...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful House”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ester met us and showed us the lay-out of the house. It is a 3 storey house, extremely clean with wonderful views over the Tuscan mountains. It is very centrally located within the charming village/town of Cortona. Overall a great house for using as a base in Tuscany. Like most Tuscan villages/towns parking is difficult, however there is free parking 50 yards away, beware it is a steep hill up from the parking (good exercise after the cantucci and gelato I consumed!). There is a cleaning fee, but the house was very, very clean. We travelled with young children and my opinion is mixed, on the one hand it is not really set up for 2/3 year olds, however it was excellent in terms of 2 different floors with bedrooms etc.. In the end it actually worked well for us. A small, clean and practical kitchen area, just what you need if you don't want to eat out for all meals everyday. Beautifully decorated with an outside table & chairs. Overall a lovely residence.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words.
You will be always welcome !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing