We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place.”
Review of Rugapiana Vacanze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rugapiana Vacanze
Ranked #18 of 43 Cortona B&B and Inns
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this place.”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I doubt I was even in the nicest room. First floor on your immediate right - but it was charming, clean and comfortable. The bed was amazing.
I have to say the host Massimo was wonderful. Such a great and kind spirit. I had issues trying to upload some large files to my MacBook and he let me stay well past checkout time and in fact let me into a top floor apartment to be closer to the wireless router and speed up the process.
Delightful, comfortable, charming and welcoming. Made for an amazing stay in a stunning place.
Will definitely be back.
Massimo is the Italian David Cross btw - and very generous when I wanted to video him to prove it!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    67
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
28
134
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed for a 2nd time in May 2011. Its a wonderful place to stay and Massimo is very helpful. He helped us with our rental car and was available for our many questions. As we found it in the past, Rugapiana Vacanze is clean and well maintained. It makes us feel like we belong rather than just visiting. The location is excellent with a grocery just steps away. We even found parking within close walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santabwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szolnok, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

It was really authentic and comfotable and hospitality as well. Unfortunately I had only one day stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attila07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We absolutely loved Cortona and the Rugapiana Vacanze hotel ! It was a great base for day trips in Umbria, Lazio and Tuscany and the hotel staff, especially Massimo is amazing.
We did eat at different restaurants in Cortona each night, all within walking distance, all were recommended by Massimo and all were fantastic, charming and wonderful !.
Cortona is a beautiful town, with quaint shops and charming restaurants, the Rugapiana Vacanze is a perfect place to stay.
We will be back but next time we will stay longer !!.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We had a great time staying in the Rugapiana B&B. It is very well located, right on via Nazionale, few steps from all major attractions of the city of Cortona. The apartment was of a very good standard, clean, decorated with taste, in typical tuscan style, which gave a feeling of being at home. In particular we were pleased with the warm welcoming given by Massimo, he made the difference and we'll surely suggest our friends to stop by there for a trip to Cortona. Cortona itself is a magic place, still a small village but with such an international atmosphere, very close to some of the most beautiful spots in Tuscany and Umbria. This was a beautiful discovering, we'll probably return to Cortona and to Rugapiana soon, since we didn't have enough time to visit everything this beautiful area has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had a lovely room at Rugapiana, large sized, big windows, average-sized bathroom. The decor was really charming, with lots of paintings and Tuscan decorations lining the walls of the hallways as well. We were on the top floor, so there were a lot of stairs, but we had parked below town and only brought an overnight bag up to the room so it wasn't bad.
This is not a hotel with a front desk or lobby, so that could be why other reviewers have some complaints about the service. We enjoyed that there wasn't someone around watching every time we came and left, and we arrived during business hours and were promptly greeted when we rang the doorbell, but perhaps it is less consistent at other times of day.
The location of the hotel is just one block in from the entrance to town, so we found it exceptionally convenient. Cortona itself is not especially convenient, it is a hilltown! The parking lot below town has an escalator from one level, but only stairs to another level, so you will definitely appreciate "packing light" for this stage of your journey. But you will enjoy the stay once you get there!
The room was pleasantly and spaciously equipped with hair dryer, mini-fridge, coffee maker, and breakfast was a voucher for a restaurant across the street.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank UnsheepishlySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Austrlia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We were so central that it made it possible to walk everywhere from where we stayed. Rooms were big and had everything we needed. I will be definately staying again when I go back to Cortona and would recommend it to anyone I know traveling there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliemaybradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 24 in Cortona
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sabrina
Hotel Sabrina
#18 of 24 in Cortona
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Locanda i Grifi
Locanda i Grifi
#9 of 24 in Cortona
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rugapiana Vacanze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rugapiana Vacanze

Property: Rugapiana Vacanze
Address: Via Nazionale 63 | In Pieno Centro Storico sul Corso Principale, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rugapiana Vacanze 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Rugapiana Vacanze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing