We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cortona: Star up in the Sky” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rugapiana Vacanze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rugapiana Vacanze
Ranked #23 of 42 Cortona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cortona: Star up in the Sky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We decided to spend our vacation in one place this year and chose Cortona as a quiet getaway from,the bigger, busier cities of Rome & Florence. Cortona was out of this world. We took the train to Camucia-Cortona and then took the bus for the 4 km ride up the mountain to Cortona. The views were incredible. Just about 50 yards down the street from the piazza where the bus stopped, we found the doorway to Rugapiana. After Massimo buzzed us in we climbed the steps up to the top floor where our rustic room awaited us.He was more than welcoming and gave us many suggestions. Stone walls and a rustic bed, with our bathrobes was very welcoming and definitely put us into the atmosphere of the city. The room also had a refrigerator. The hotel was provided breakfast coupons to be used each morning at one of the cafes just down the street. The hotel is on the only level street as the rest of the city streets are on very steep inclines.Restaurants were all wonderful and we also bought olive oil from one of the regional shops. Transportation was rather easy as we were able to take a bus to Arezzo one day, and on another take the bus back to the train for a journey to Assisi and Perugia. The view from city overlooked the valley and the Lake was also in view. One can even take an easy walk into the countryside. We were about an hour south of Florence by train.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and there are 3 floors, so be prepared to climb many steps. His website has pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerrylovesTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    65
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
27
131
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at Rugapiana Vacanze as a large group ... booking four rooms that were then essentially made into two apartments (on level two and three).

The approach to Rugapiana Vacanze is via the Nazional (main street) and was extremely easy to find. Close to everything in Cortona ... we weren't disappointed.

The rooms were decorated tastefully in period furniture. A small kitchen, living and dining area.. a good size bedroom and the bathroom was fitted with a washing machine (extra bonus). The rooms had a good feel and a very Tuscan style. One room had a four poster bed with mosquito netting.. was very romantic (for the single guy in our group.

The owner greeted us and had good English skills. He was eager to make us feel at home and gave us a plethora of information including the history of the building which was amazing.

You could base yourself here for quite a while.

It was lovely and I'd certain stay again. What a wonderful time (PS: check out the amazing fresh markets on a Saturday.. a must).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Had reason to stay in Cortona for 8 nights and we stayed in Rugapiana vacanze. Massimo made us feel very welcome. Great location on the Via Nazionale (the only flat street in Corto.na!) made it so easy to sight see and visit all the fabulous cafes, bars and restaurants that populate this lovely town. Rustic charm meets mod cons, our apartment really became our home. Beautiful Tuscan furniture adorned the room, along side the local pottery making it a very pretty site. Was very sad when we had to leave but made a promise that we would return

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Cortona with friends, & based ourselves at Rugapiana Vacanze - & what a great decision it was. Great location, with a choice of cafe's, wine bars & shops just outside the door. Rustic, spacious accomodation, with air-conditioning & fans!
Such a beautiful town, will definitely stay here next time!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aroz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We were staying here (two couples) as we were attending a wedding in the local church in September last year. Having read some mixed reviews on tripadvisor I was slightly apprehensive. My apprehension was short lived when we met Massimo. He gave us a detailed welcome to his B&B and a grand tour of our accommodation - we had the top floor. Massimo also gave us a history lesson while we sat and took our surroundings in. He couldnt stress enough that any time we needed help he was just a short distance away. THe B&B is VERY central, the main street is at the front door and the main squares just steps away. It is a very clean place and fully kitted out if you ever felt the need to cook, the only time we cooked was eggs for breakfast. After all, being in Cortona, there is no reason to cook - due to the plentiful supply of amazing places to eat.
If I am ever lucky enough to be near Cortona again, I will stay here

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlesthobo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was our second visit, the first last year and then again in June, both times for a week. We love Cortona and Massimo and his Bed and Breakfast give great value accommodation in the heart of town. Yes there are a lot of stairs if you have a room on the third floor as we did but we found it was good exercise after indulging in Italian food and wine in one of the many restaurants and we are what they call a mature couple! Very mature! The door to the accommodation opens directly from the main street so that you are in the heart of things and all the action.
We have not found Cortona to be overcrowded with tourists and the delights of sitting outside at a cafe and watching the locals go about their daily lives is fascinating. There appear to be a great variety of activities including, whilst we were there, the local Philharmonic Orchestra in the Piazza complete with a 10 year old drummer - fantastic! We saw a weekly market, an antiques market and two weddings, not to mention the large screened television in the evening for the locals to watch the European Cup football.
We hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honokaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Last month we stayed at Rugapiana Vacanze three nights and could not have been happier with our room, our host or the town, all a high point in a month touring around Northern Italy. The Rugapiana is in a perfect location for walking everywhere and for getting the bus from the Camucia-Cortona train station (but be sure on the way back to the station to ask driver if the bus actually stops at the station - ours had to let us off several blocks away). Our room looked just like the web pictures (and we all know that is not always the case) and was exactly what we wanted - charming with beams and cotta typical of its age, very comfortable in every respect. Though we were on the top floor, Massimo insisted on carry our bags up the several flights of stairs when we checked in and when we checked out. (After several other hotels, stairs and lots of trains, I appreciated the break.) Although we stayed in a number of hotels and B & Bs during our trip, Massimo gets our vote as the nicest and genuinely helpful host we met in Italy. His English is very good, worlds better than our Italian. Our best dinners were in two small trattorias he recommended that were not in Rick Steves, Frommers or our other guidebooks. We had no problem with going to the nearby bars for typical Italian breakfast (espresso drink and baked good), and quite enjoyed the host in one of them (I think his name is Mauro), who kept giving us extras on the house (we also ate lunch there one day) as well as getting out into the neighborhood rather than a hotel breakfast room. After three trips to Italy, we are well aware of the challenges traveling in Italy involves and the things that can go wrong in any hotel or guest house. That said, we have no hesitation in giving an unqualified "five star" review to Rugapiana Vacanze, which made Cortona a highlight of our trip, and look forward to returning for another stay.

Room Tip: We liked our room on the top floor very much. It was mostly very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckylivehawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Locanda Pane e Vino
Locanda Pane e Vino
#14 of 42 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.6 mi away
B&B Gabri
B&B Gabri
#9 of 42 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casale L'Antico Carro
Casale L'Antico Carro
#7 of 42 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rugapiana Vacanze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rugapiana Vacanze

Property: Rugapiana Vacanze
Address: Via Nazionale 63 | In Pieno Centro Storico sul Corso Principale, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rugapiana Vacanze 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Rugapiana Vacanze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing