We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we expected - and more!!”
Review of Rugapiana Vacanze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rugapiana Vacanze
Ranked #22 of 43 Cortona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We booked the two bedroom apartment - and it was beautiful. Wonderfully kept and fantastically decorated.

We slept in the back bedroom, and my Mother had the front room, which she said was a little noisy, but nothing to stop her sleeping at all.

After reading previous reviews, we were aware of the stairs up to the room, but they were no problem whatsoever.

Massiamo was lovely, really helpful and friendly

I have visited Cortona many times, but this is the first time we have stayed overnight, and there was a festival in the main square in the evening, which gave a wonderful carnival atmosphere.

If you get the chance to come here, you must take a trip to the T Nobile leather/handbag shop - they are beautifully made, and I do have a few from here!

Room Tip: If worried about the noise from the street (no vehicles, only people walking by talking), then ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozaic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2012

Massiamo gave us a fabulous greeting. He was very friendly and helpful and recommended a great wine bar which we went to nearby which also has free wifi. Our room was just what we needed after a very rainy grey day. It was large, comfortable and warm and beautifully decorated, very luxurious I thought. It had a TV fridge and lovely bed. All the furniture looked like it had been specially picked for the room and the place had lots of character. Our private bathroom was small but functional. The room overlooked the back and was very quiet. We slept well and had breakfast in the morning in a great little cafe nearby. Location is amazing right in the centre of town and close to all the sites. We parked on the road up to the town which was about a 5 minute walk away. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My boyfriend and I spent one night here and absolutely loved it. The room was cozy and spacious. We kept saying how we felt like we were at home. The breakfast was also very good and everyone involved in our stay very nice. I would love to come back to Cortona and stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We loved Cortona but not our stay at Rugapiana Vacanze. To start with we choose an apartment rather than a B&B room because of the availability of a washing machine. Upon checking-in Massimo informed us that the washing machine was broken. Seeing our disappointment he stated that a new one might be delivered the next day which was Sunday - right. It didn't show that day nor the next, our last. (I'm curious if it's there yet.) We had to ask several times for a replacement light bulb which was very slow in coming. Finally, running out of amenities such as hot water and and toilet paper topped off the whole experience. Maybe this isn't normal for Rugapiana Vacanze but it was certainly our experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snow---1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugapiana, Direttore at Rugapiana Vacanze, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Hi from Cortona
We sincerely don't understand what was the problem during your stay here.
We have offered an Apartment Deluxe, even if your original booking was for a Standard Room.
It was our gift to you, at no additional costs, the washing machine was broken and it was immediately repaired but it was impossible to do during your stay, which was only 3 days.
About the bulb that can burn out at any time, it was immediately replaced, as soon as you told us.
Our team is always available to our guests.
Sincerely.
Rugapiana Vacanze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We (four adults, two couples) stayed in one of the two bedroom apartments. The location is on Via Nazionale so was easy to walk to everything in Cortona. It is on the main street, but if you close the windows it is quiet inside. Massimo was very easy to work with reservation and answering questions. The apartment had everything we needed for our three night stay and it was very clean and comfortable. Our apartment was on the top floor so travel light as you have to carry your bags up the stairs. I also had read that hot water was an issue here and we had very little hot water for showers. We arrived by train to Camucia-Cortona and luckily found a cab to take us up to town as the bus seems to be very iffy. The day we left there was no bus so we had to walk down the hill a ways to find another bus stop. If traveling by train I would highly suggest making arrangements with a taxi to be there to pick you up at the train and to take you back to the station. Enjoyed our trip - if we are ever in Cortona I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumghoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This b & b is wonderful. We were only going to stay only one night in Cortona--but I fell in love with Cortona and our sweet little apartment. Massimo, the owner, checked and let us stay another night. The apartment was a haven--beautifully decorated, comfortable--far more than I expected. Yes it is on the "main street," but the street is pedestrian only so it is very quiet. All restaurants are within a 10-minute stroll. I will return to Cortona and I will stay here--and eat at Fafluns! Massimo is wonderful too! Ciao, ciao

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybirdjaybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#15 of 24 in Cortona
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia Cortona
Hotel Italia Cortona
#6 of 24 in Cortona
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 24 in Cortona
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
820 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sabrina
Hotel Sabrina
#18 of 24 in Cortona
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rugapiana Vacanze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rugapiana Vacanze

Address: Via Nazionale 63 | In Pieno Centro Storico sul Corso Principale, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range: £50 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rugapiana Vacanze 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Rugapiana Vacanze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing