We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely apartment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Ippocastano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Ippocastano
Liverpool
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at L'Ippocastano. Apartments are basic but well furnished and very clean. The grounds and pool are well maintained, very relaxing. The immediate area is quite modern and lacks atmosphere but five minutes drive away is the beautiful hill top town of Cortona with a wide variety of restaurants and shops. Local transport is excellent with the train station and bus stop a couple of minutes walk away enabling visitors to explore the wider area with ease. Massimo is very helpful and obviously keen to make your stay enjoyable. Would highly recommend the apartments and will certainly holiday there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerenLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    8
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Danbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Ww stayed here for six days ... everything you need and more in a vaction home !! It is quaint, charming and comfortable .. actually nicer than home most days :o) Ippocastano will always be my first choice when visiting Tuscany !!!
added bonus: Easy walking distance to town (and the BEST Pizza in Italy !)

Room Tip: great place !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and 3 children have just returned from a relaxing 2 weeks at L'Ippocastano staying in the 2 bedroom Gli Archi. The apartment was clean and spacious and it was great having 2 bathrooms. The kitchen facilities are a little basic in that there is only a hob and a microwave, we were aware of this before we booked and didn't find it a problem as we ate out quite a lot and were able to prepare easy pasta and potato based dishes with salads on our meals in. There was also a BBQ for shared use in the garden.
Even though there are a few apartments at the property it never felt busy or overcrowded and we often had the pool to ourselves.
Massimo is lovely, always smiling and helpful, he gave a quick tour of the town on our arrival to show us where important things like the bread shop and supermarket were. He was also around at some point on most days sorting out the pool etc. so was easily able to help with any queries we had.
Tuscany is a beautiful area, the local hill town, Cortona, makes for a good short trip out. We also ventured further afield including trips to Florence and Rome on the train, the train station being a 5 minute walk from the property. Mainly we enjoyed relaxing by the pool in the well maintained gardens, often in the shade due to the high temperatures. Following Massimo's advice we kept the doors and shutters closed during the day keeping the temperature inside the apartment comfortable even without air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is my 7th stay at Ippocastano since 2004. We - or members of our group - have stayed in almost every apartment. They are all quite charming and comfortable. The location and proximity to the train station and Cortona is superb. We missed Maria Grazia this year, but Massimo is such a great person and was very helpful. His wife and daughter are delightful! People ask me why we keep going back to the same place all the time when there are other nice places in Tuscany. I am sure there are - and we have stayed elsewhere in Tusvany - but why take a chance. I always feel like I am going "home" when we go to Ippocastano. The pool was great this year because of the extreme heat. Not having a/c was not much of a problem.....the nights cooled off nicely. Needless to say, we will return to Ippocastano and our Italian "family" again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JudyPIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I and my family (6 of us in total) had a wonderful 8 days in the Belvedere flat of the Villa degli Etruschi (I think it was called) this July. Massimo Cipoleschi was a very helpful and kind host to us, picking us up at the local train station and generally being very accomodating to our needs and wishes. The apartment was clean and spacious, and the thick walls of the old Tuscan house did a good job of keeping us cool in the heat. The garden is beautiful, the view magnificent, the walk to Cortona on top of the hill only 15 minutes through an olive grove, and to good food shopping in Camucia only 10 minutes down the hill. We all also enjoyed the swimming pool, of course...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna Mia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo C, Proprietario at L'Ippocastano, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Google Translation
Grazie mille per la vostra recensione, è un piacere accogliere clienti come voi e le vostre parole ci rendono orgogliosi e ci danno energia e voglia di per continuare a lavorare in tal senso. Come avete notato, L'Ippocastano presenta al suo interno tutti i servizi necessari per trascorrere una vacanza all'insegna del relax, della cultura, del divertimento e, risulta essere un punto strategico per raggiungere le più belle città d'arte della toscana e dintorni, alla scoperta delle bellezze naturali della zona.
Speriamo pertanto di riavervi in futuro come nostri ospiti.

Cordialmente,

Massimo e Maria Grazia
L'Ippocastano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband and I and our two teenage daughters enjoyed a week long stay at L'Ippocastano. We stayed in the two bedroom "Girasole" (Sunflower), a rustic-styled apartment and we felt like we had a delightful taste of Tuscany. We loved...
...the clean and spacious rooms -- each room having comfortable beds and a window with a wonderful view of Cortona and beautifully decorated with sunflower art. We found that air conditioning was never needed because the thick stone walls and Massimo's recommended use of shutters in the Tuscan-style building.
...the kitchen - equipped with a stove, microwave, refrigerator, and plenty of pots and utensils - made it easy to make meals.
...the quiet...I loved hearing the birds chirping and the doves cooing.
...the POOL!! Our two teenage daughters especially loved the pool and met several other children of families staying at L'Ippocastano with whom they enjoyed playing! My husband and I also enjoyed being able to use the pool in the morning or evening to have a refreshing swim. We enjoyed meeting other families as well. :-)
...the safety of the gated property so my husband and I even felt comfortable taking a short excursion up to Cortona for a couple of hours while our teenage daughters stayed at the property.
...the location...the train station and bus stop was a very short walk away so we could easily take a shuttle bus up to Cortona (such a delightful town). Maria helped us rent a car and we took day trips to Siena, Montalcino and Montepulciano (as recommended to visit by Massimo). There was also a Co-op (a large supermarket) and a delicious gelato place within a short walk. As a fan of sunflowers, I also appreciated the fields of sunflowers within walking distance as well. There were many friendly Italians in Camucia who greeted us with a smile on our walks.
...the OWNERS... Massimo and Maria were so friendly, and so helpful and made our stay in L'Ippocastano so memorable and our favorite of our holiday in Italy and France. We so appreciate their warmth and kindness!! Thank you so much!!

Room Tip: We loved the Girasole apartment. It was on the upper level and we easily accessed the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo C, Proprietario at L'Ippocastano, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Google Translation
Salve a tutti!
leggere commenti positivi come il vostro non può che renderci orgogliosi e darci la spinta giusta per continuare a migliorarci. Come avrete notato, l'Ippocastano presenta al suo interno tutti i servizi necessari per trascorrere una vacanza nel relax e nelle belle città d'arte italiane poiché risulta essere un punto strategico come punto di partenza per escursioni alla scoperta delle bellezze naturali toscane e dintorni.
Speriamo pertanto di riavervi tutti come nostri ospiti.
Saluti
Massimo e Maria Grazia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Nice place. Very good location. Nice pool and clean rooms. No wi-fi, no air condition, but when you keep windows closed, it's ok. Maria and Massimo were very helpful and kind. There is lot of building sites and they made noise and neighbors dogs barked during night times. We enjoyed our holiday anyway.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elpukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo C, Proprietario at L'Ippocastano, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Google Translation
Salve,
per noi leggere commenti positivi come il vostro non può che renderci orgogliosi del nostro lavoro e motivarci a continuare in tal senso. Come avete avuto modo di notare, L'Ippocastano presenta al suo interno tutti i confort necessari per trascorrere una vacanza all'insegna del relax e della cultura, immersi nelle belle città d'arte italiani e nei paesaggi toscani. E' quindi un punto strategico per raggiungere mete davvero significative e punto di partenza per escursioni alla scoperta delle bellezze naturali della zona e dintorni
Speriamo pertanto di riavervi in futuro come nostri ospiti.
Saluti
Massimo e Maria Grazia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
6.0 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
8.9 mi away
Il Giardino di Romi
Il Giardino di Romi
#1 of 1 in Mercatale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
1.2 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ippocastano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ippocastano

Property: L'Ippocastano
Address: Via Fratelli Cervi 14, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'ippocastano, your holidays Under the Tuscan Sun "Ippocastano" is an restored villa located in a convenient area within Camucia, near Cortona. Cortona is famous for the film "Under the Tuscan Sun" and "Ippocastano" was the temporary home to several of the film's staff. At "Ippocastano", you will have access to all that Italy has to offer including beautiful vistas, beautiful flower gardens, olive groves, boutiques, restaurants, grocery stores, and easy assess to the train station (line Rome - Milan). "Ippocastano" (meaning Lucy in ancient Etruscan), is also located on the famous wine and gastronomic route "Vino Terre di Arezzo". The apartments have a large swimming pool; lounge area, a hot tub, a picnic table and covered area, and a playground with swing set for the children. There is also a washing machine to be used for individual consumption at the apartment complex. The city of Cortona is located within the Valdichiana, which is famous for its fabulous views of the Italian countryside. "Ippocastano" was recently restored to provide you with "all the comforts of home". We have comfortable beds, modern kitchens equipped with eating areas and all of the cooking utensils you will need. In addition, we have television sets with Satellite TV, a washing machine, and an iron and ironing board. Our beautiful gardens overlook the swimming pool where you can bask in the "Tuscan Sun", smell the fragrant flowers, and drink some wine or simply relax with our comfortable lawn furniture. Ippocastano has a large swimming pool that is open from May to September. Things to do: There are many things to do in the local area. There is cycling, tennis, golf, horse riding, country walks, shopping, wine and olive oil tasting, and many fine restaurants for dining indoors or outdoors. In the summer, there are many festivals and gastronomic events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your L'Ippocastano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing