We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing week self catering in Tuscany”
Review of Le Oche Grigie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Oche Grigie
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing week self catering in Tuscany”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My girlfriend and I (young professionals in London) had a brilliant week at Le Oche Grigie in Tuscant.

The owners are great hosts. They were great over email before we left, answering all our queries, aand even waiving the need for us to pay a deposit in advance when they found out that our bank would charge us for an international transfer. When we arrived they sat us down for half an hour talking us through all the different day trips which we could do, all the different activities that were possible, and recommendations for restaurants in the local towns. We wanted to be left alone for our week (which they did), but this service was a lovely touch, and made a real difference - we ended up doing a lot of what they recommended.

The site itself is great. The building is beautiful, and has been very well done up. The apartment we stayed in was a great size for two people - and well kitted out with everything we needed. The kitchen was fine for self-catering. And it was a real bonus having working wifi. The pool and the area round it was beautiful. The pool isn't huge - probably 15m by 6m, but it was just about big enough for serious swimming, and certainly big enough for lounging around in. And there were always enough loungers and deck chairs. The surrounding countryside is breathtaking. We ran every morning (on a route recommended by the owner) and we were running through fields of sun flowers and olive groves. There is also a stables next door - my girlfriend took a house out for an hour one morning (without booking) for 20 euros, which is amazing value and she was riding through the fields etc.

The best thing about the place though is the location. We flew in (from Gatwick) to Pisa, and it's just under 2 hours drive from there on quick roads. Once there though you're right in the middle of some amazing Tuscan towns. We tended to go for a run every morning, check emails, laze by the pool, then leave for lunch at 11:30/12 ish then go to the local towns for lunch and an explore, then be back for the late afternoon sun by the pool. The location means you can do this and dip and out of some historic towns. We went to Cortona (30mins), Asciano (25mins), Montepulciano (40mins), and Siena (just under an hour). These are incredible hill top cities, where you can get a great lunch (and ice cream) and wander around. We also want Rapolano San Terme (again on the recommendation of the owner), where there are 2 outdoor natural baths areas. We went to the San Giovanni one, which was brilliant. Turning up at 4pm we payed 10 euros each and stayed there until 7:30pm when it shuts, and lay in the different hot pools and mud, and then had drinks at the many sun loungers in a beautiful setting. Definitely worth doing.

All in all a great week - the owners did everything we would have wanted of them, and we were able to fully relax, but also explore a lot of the best bits of Tuscany, with minimum hassle. [Obviously definitely need a car].

Would highly recommend to others.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2009

Sergio and Gigliola are the epitome of hosts. They couldn't be more gracious, both in their correspondence with you before you leave home, and in the time spent at their lovely home. Lodging is in the form of a small, beautifully decorated apartment. Their nightly rate is extremely reasonable. The grounds are Umbria at its best, and every view is a Kodak moment. You will enjoy their pleasant hospitality each morning in a separate building which houses a breakfast room. Gigliola outdoes herself with what is presented for breakfast, including a home-made pastry which is different each morning. They remain in the breakfast room with you and will chat, if invited to do so by the guests. We loved this B&B so much, we extended our stay. It is a perfect location to use as a home base and take day trips to places by car. Montepulciano, Montalcino, Cortona, Pienza, are just a few of the beautiful places that are so accessible within a day. Many of the roads we drove were the same ones driven by photographers who take pictures that you see on calendars and postcards. All of that beautiful scenery is right there for YOUR camera. You will not be disappointed if you stay at Le Oche Grigie. It is a gorgeous place, with the very best hosts.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2007

We spent five wonderful days at the Le Oche Grigie ("the Grey Geese"). The owners, Sergio and Gigliola, were warm and welcoming hosts and helped to make our Tuscan vacation particularly enjoyable. They were very helpful and provided us with maps and other local information and also made reservations for us at museums and restaurants.

We traveled with our boys, ages ten and eight, and Sergio and Gigliola were great with our children. Our boys particularly liked their swimming pool and the pulley used to lift heavy items to the second floor of the house.

Our first night in their home, we arrived late but had not yet eaten. When we asked them where we might go to eat, they called the closest restaurant and asked the owners to stay open extra late just for us. That's the kind of special attention we received as their guests.

Our daily breakfasts always included delicious, freshly baked pastries and various fruit spreads, home-made by Gigliola.

The convenient location of Le Oche Grigie made it easy to take day trips to many neighboring hill towns including Cortona, Siena, Orvieto, San Gimignano and Assisi.

On our last evening, we were invited to join our hosts for a traditional Tuscan dinner on their terrace. We spent four wonderful hours of lively conversation in mixed English and Italian, while sampling several courses of scrumptious local dishes accompanied by locally made wine. We will always remember that excellent dinner and the spectacular view of the Tuscan hills.

  • Liked — The owners!
  • Disliked — Nothing - We loved it!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crash2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2006

Le Oche Grigie is operated by a husband and wife. It is located just outside of the medieval town of Cortona and about an hour train ride south of Florence.

The inn has five fully stocked apartments, a swimming pool and breathtaking views. The century old inn is nestled among olive groves and farmland. Mr. & Mrs. Taffa were gracious hosts and often have their guests for dinner on their private deck. They live on the premises.

---------

  • Liked — The owners were extremely gracious hosts.
  • Disliked — Nothing bad about it.
  • Tips/Secrets — Rent a car so you can get into town easily. It's an easy 5 mile drive to the train station.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank richard_lozano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
6.2 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
730 reviews
5.8 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
87 reviews
11.3 mi away
Il Giardino di Romi
Il Giardino di Romi
#1 of 1 in Mercatale
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
801 reviews
5.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
3.0 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Oche Grigie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Oche Grigie

Property: Le Oche Grigie
Address: Via la Fratta 31 | Farneta, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Cortona
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Oche Grigie 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing