We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bottega Baracchi

Bottega Baracchi
Ranked #17 of 99 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Bottega Baracchi a real real concept shop halfway between restaurant, wine bar and store, an innovative space that has as primary essence, excellence, in all its various forms. Small, subtle fragments capable of giving color to our journey. A lunch, a cocktail or a simple breakfast, go to Bottega Baracchi, sit back and try what is our vision of emotion. Between tradition and innovation.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

You can sit on the deck outside and watch the people coming and going. We went for drinks everyday of our visit and were not disappointed. Afef and Johnny are fun waitstaff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandypooh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    49
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The third addition to the family's fine restaurant empire, this one aims to be the second with a Michelin star. Descend the staircase past the mirrored stand-up bar behind the cafe on the piazza as you enter Cortona, pass the displays of local meat, cheeses and pastas, glance at the kitchen, and enter a vaulted cellar where the wines are displayed.

The menu is a sometimes humorous riff on Tuscan specalities. An appetizer of coccio pecorino was a rich cheese fondue with morsels of truffle in a rich sauce that craved a spoon to devour every drop. The eggplant parmigiana was not what you'd cook at home, with a creamy red sauce. Fracosta chianina with local beef was the chef's version of beef Florentine. Served perfectly rare, it came with a small jar of rosemary-infused beans. The star dish we enjoyed, recommended by the owner, Benedetto, was a a ham-stuffed ravioli carbonara, garnished with bacon, the yellowy egg sauce enhancing all the other flavors on the plate.

The menu has a full range of appetizers, pastas and main courses, many with local and 'bio' ingredients, presenting classical Tuscan dishes with a bit of whimsy.

Service was very attentive and knowledgeable, by a young staff with excellent English. In a tourist spot, most of the diners Saturday night were Italian speakers. Open only since late April, it had the friendly polish of a more formal restaurant, and the buzz of a neighborhood trattoria.

We enjoyed a Smeriglio Syrah from the family vineyards. There are fine wines at all prices.

For dessert we shared a zuppa inglese, not the trifle your grandmother made. Infused with blackberry liqueur in a pool of intense vanilla cream, it was a delicious end to a fine evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boybanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Infusion for Cortona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Bottega Baracchi is a great new addition to Cortona's already long list of very fine restaurants. The happy news is the menu is fresh new and different from the classic Italian selection. There are 2 eating areas one outside is an outdoor terrace facing the Piazza and entrance to Cortona. This is a nice choice for appetizers and drinks or a cappuccino and breakfast. The other is downstairs and is large meandering thru various rooms with vaulted brick ceilings a more formal restaurant. It is freshly decorated with great style not too formal and not too casual warm and interesting. All their wines are along the walls beautifully displayed on shelves or resting on slabs of barriques. The lighting is especially well done. The entrance to the restaurant downstairs is on the street level where there is a bar where one can have a stand up drink as well.

Waiters are very welcoming speak english and are helpful. We highly recommend the Tuna Tartar as an appetizer. Made from Mediterranean Tuna it is very fresh and scrumptious. Also the coconut shrimp is fantastic, light and tasty. I also had a roast pork local of course and divine.

Definitely a winner and of course the wines are fantastic. We had a Baracchi Sangiovese, always a treat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tuxedoSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch in the square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have been to Cortona for one day. After strolling for the paved streets of the beautiful town, we were looking for a place to taste the local food, cheeses and wine! We found the Bottega, located in a beautiful panoramic square. It is one of the most pleasant stops of our trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cornalia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortona, Italy
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A New Excellent Restaurant/Cafe in Cortona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The new addition to the offerings in Cortona, Bottega Baracchi, is innovative, interesting and provides a real alternative to the traditional cuisine in Cortona.
The old cafe has been renovated in a modern style with the "Baracchi flair".
The restaurant downstairs replaces the old Disco. The menu is excitingly refreshing with a wide variety of cuisine, including fish. The food is excellent- il Falconierie quality served in a relaxed cafe style.
There is a very good wine list
Overall a wonderful experience which I highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bottega Baracchi also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Bottega Baracchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing