We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town!”
Review of Osteria del Teatro

Osteria del Teatro
Ranked #4 of 103 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Since 1994 Osteria del Teatro welcomes you with politeness and professionalism, offering typical Tuscan cuisine with a selection of tasty dishes. It is a restaurant in Cortona, Italy, charming and genuine, owned by Emiliano Rossi, experienced and friendly chef. For a good lunch in Cortona or a romantic dinner visit our restaurant to discover the exquisite Cortona cooking pleasures! Our restaurant trattoria in Cortona allows you to enjoy tasty and sought-after dishes from Cortona in a unique setting: a 6th century building totally renovated and restored to original splendor. Three different settings welcome you in an elegant and very exclusive atmosphere: the first room reclaiming the typical features of the ancient inns of Tuscany, the second is characterized by a cozy contest, the third is enriched by precious frescoes which make your dinner or your lunch in Cortona intimate and romantic
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best in town!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The food one of the best in Italy. We also liked the wine selection. We had the the Poliziano Sanjovesi red wine. The service was excellent, the waitresses had a good sense of humor and made us feel welcome and comfortable. The back ground music was Paverotti which we love. Everything about this restaurant was memorable and very italien. The decor was very artistic with lots of charm. The restrooms were very clean and with an outstanding decor. We loved this restaurant so much that we went back the second time. It is the best in Cortona and should not be missed. Reservations are absolutely necessary.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,514
    529
    83
    40
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best restaurant of 20 days in Italy”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This is an absolute "must do" when you visit the beautiful city of Cortona. "Only" 500 different bottels of wine on the wine list and some of the finest Italian dishes on the menu. The location is great and the service is warme and very personal. Just the way we like it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulKerkhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Cortona”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Fabulous restaurant. Ask for their special Campari spritzer to start off your meal. Do not expect to get up from the table hungry! The waiter couldn't have been more helpful and gave excellent advice about the choice of wine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“excellence”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our experience at this restaurant was great, and we would travel back just to eat here again. We ate indoors in the lovely great room. The menu was incredibly diverse which we appreciate. We ate tortelloni stuffed with braised beef with sweet onion sauce from Tropea; tortellini with tartufo; pink farfalle noodles with beef; taglioni with duck and fennel. Everything was outstanding. All pastas are homemade. The onion in the bag was delicious. We also ordered desserts which we don't normally do--however this was due to the outstanding nature of. This included a mille fleur and nocciola gelato served with choolate pistachio shavings. Cool appliances included a huge pepper grind and a special server for the chocolate. Excellent ambience and service. Absolutely charmed and will long remember. Plus, prices were very affordable, especially for the quality.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank aventine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortona, Italy
1 review
“Excellent experience - just great”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had very good dinner and lunch in the restaurant, the personal was friendly and we had an "agreeable" time, caring. Good wine recommendations. It was alround enjoyable. dont miss to visit the restrooms..... Enjoy

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria del Teatro also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Osteria del Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing