We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some very innovative dishes”
Review of Osteria del Teatro

Osteria del Teatro
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Since 1994 Osteria del Teatro welcomes you with politeness and professionalism, offering typical Tuscan cuisine with a selection of tasty dishes. It is a restaurant in Cortona, Italy, charming and genuine, owned by Emiliano Rossi, experienced and friendly chef. For a good lunch in Cortona or a romantic dinner visit our restaurant to discover the exquisite Cortona cooking pleasures! Our restaurant trattoria in Cortona allows you to enjoy tasty and sought-after dishes from Cortona in a unique setting: a 6th century building totally renovated and restored to original splendor. Three different settings welcome you in an elegant and very exclusive atmosphere: the first room reclaiming the typical features of the ancient inns of Tuscany, the second is characterized by a cozy contest, the third is enriched by precious frescoes which make your dinner or your lunch in Cortona intimate and romantic
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Some very innovative dishes”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband loved this restaurant, and was more enthusiastic about it than I. He ordered a starter that was a meat dish prepared in a jar - very interesting & he enjoyed it. He loved his beef entree and panna cotta. I was a bit disappointed in my pasta - wonderful flavors, but the pasta was over-cooked, which was a first for me, after 4 weeks in Italy (& pasta almost every night). Service was excellent. Overall, very good and worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C-S-TravelersFromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,469
    513
    82
    37
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Old world Old reputation”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

While this was recommended in the old town of Cortona, we were surprised that the prior reviews from years past seem to indicate it was 5 stars. Perhaps then, not during our visit. The service was just OK, a lack of attention, perhaps as we do not speak Italian. Then the food delivery was ridiculous, everything came at one time. We said wait, and sent the main course, second prima, back as we had an appetizer and salads first. Then the main courses came and were disappointing. Pasta noodles were too hard, the Beef overcooked and the Lamb was not a chop, but a lamb shank, over cooked as well. The spinach was dry and not good.
While the restaurant has a few rooms that look good, we were in a small room with little charm

There are so many trattorias and restaurants in this area, that based on our visit, I suggest looking elsewhere

Sadly we were disappointed. Not sure if there is a new chef or an off night?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank homerun183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emiliano R, Proprietario at Osteria del Teatro, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear homerun18. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not what you expected and that of the vast majority of our guests. In Italy side dishes and salads are generally eaten together with the main courses. Maybe this is different in California but in Italy this is how we do things. Also we serve our pasta 'al dente'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best in town!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The food one of the best in Italy. We also liked the wine selection. We had the the Poliziano Sanjovesi red wine. The service was excellent, the waitresses had a good sense of humor and made us feel welcome and comfortable. The back ground music was Paverotti which we love. Everything about this restaurant was memorable and very italien. The decor was very artistic with lots of charm. The restrooms were very clean and with an outstanding decor. We loved this restaurant so much that we went back the second time. It is the best in Cortona and should not be missed. Reservations are absolutely necessary.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best restaurant of 20 days in Italy”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This is an absolute "must do" when you visit the beautiful city of Cortona. "Only" 500 different bottels of wine on the wine list and some of the finest Italian dishes on the menu. The location is great and the service is warme and very personal. Just the way we like it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulKerkhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Cortona”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Fabulous restaurant. Ask for their special Campari spritzer to start off your meal. Do not expect to get up from the table hungry! The waiter couldn't have been more helpful and gave excellent advice about the choice of wine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria del Teatro also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Osteria del Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing