We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful first time experience in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B La Casa dei Tintori
Ranked #12 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
S.E. PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful first time experience in Florence”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is a better late than never post having visited Florence in October of 2013. Having searched trip advisor endlessly for a B & B in Florence, we decided to try La Casa dei Tintori, somewhat blindly but guided by other trip advisor posts. It's always a bit intimidating as a first time traveler to any city to find a warm and welcoming place. From our initial contact via email, it was clear that every detail is important to them. And, from the moment we walked through the doors, we felt at ease and knew we had chosen the correct B & B. Riccardo and Lavinia are just so real and hospitable. Please take any of the suggestions they give for shopping and eating. You will never be disappointed. We stayed in the Indigo Room off the kitchen and honestly, heard no noise. I did ask for a room off the street after reading some other posts about street noise. The rooms are very clean and we had a full size (American) shower. The location of the B & B is fantastic and a short 2-5 minute walk to most everything in any direction. Just a caution, you might not want to ever return home. Thank you, Riccardo and Lavinia for making our stay in Florence unforgettable. Peter and Lori

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank promola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    145
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
146
381
93
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent 3 days at the Casa dei Tinori, in the Green Room. Overall, it was a great choice.

This room had one large bed and two small ones, ideal for a family of four. Breakfasts were better than in the other B&B during our trip. The hosts were very nice and very helpful, from giving us tips for visiting Florence to helping us find a doctor for our daughter.

Location was great, within walking distance from everything without being too close to noisy squares. The only downside was that we could hear everything from the lobby in our room, but since it is a small B&B it was very quiet most of the time.

I would definitely recommend this place.

Pierre C.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The B'n'B is located close to center of Florence. It can be easily reached from the SMN train station by taxi or walking.
We really enjoyed the room and and we wish to thank Riccardo and Lavinia for the wonderful service that made our stay very comfortable: We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tochiro76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed while at a conference for a week and then an extra few days while exploring some of the many attractions in Florence. From the moment I arrived to leaving, I was made to feel looked after and at home. Ricardo & Lavinia came to the rescue when another hotel booking got cancelled, finding a room for me.

They also suggested some fantastic places to eat. As it was so central, close to many eateries and bars, I did get woken up one night by someone on the street outside. I appreciated the croissants and rolls at breakfast; more variety than most Italian breakfasts.

Room Tip: The red room that features on the main image of their website is incredibly spacious. The room my c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJOTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband, sister, and her husband all traveled to Italy this fall (October 2013). We had no reservations for anything (flight, hotel, car, train, etc!). So, everything we did was "on the fly". We were able to have some amazing food and got around Italy pretty well, but one of our favorite parts was staying at the Casa de Tintori in Florence. It was such a quaint little B&B. The owners and hosts Ricardo & Lavinia were so sweet and welcoming. They made our stay very enjoyable. Everything at this B&B was clean and well maintained. And it's an 800 year old building!! The bathrooms were updated and the rooms were very comfortable. And, I'm not exaggerating when I say that the cappachinos at this B&B were the best I had in Italy. They ground the coffee right there in their little kitchen and served up my cappachino HOT. You can't get hot coffee in Italy. :) Also, the location of this place is perfect. It's right on the river and there are a lot of great restaurants and piazzas close by. We truly enjoyed our Italian adventure and our stay at Casa de Tintori.

Room Tip: We stayed in lemon/yellow colored room and it was beautiful. Hard wood floors and a chandelier over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrslewis1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

we stayed 2 nights with Ricardo and Livinia. They helped with parking the car, storing our bikes, bus lines, train schedules and driving directions! totally full service so do not hesitate to ask for ideas or help. They were so warm and friendly in addition. Big smiles at breakfast and genuine enthusiasm about all the great things to do and see in Florence - both touristy and off the beaten path. You can walk everywhere from their awesome location (but biking is great too) rooms were wonderfully appointed and extremely clean and comfortable. Quiet even in the front bedroom. Like home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseland, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I recently visited Florence and stayed at La Casa dei Tintori and had a wonderful experience. The B & B was near the Santa Croce neighborhood and a block away from the Arno. The location was great for walking any and everywhere. It was on a quiet street and sleeping was very comfortable. Ricardo and Lavinia and baby Camilla were very hospitable and knowledgeable about the area - very helpful, too. The nice thing about La Casa dei Tintori is that you had the opportunity to experience authentic Italian living. We always felt like we were at home and part of the family - comfortable and cozy. Grazie mille!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lombardicg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Santa Croce
La Maison du Sage
La Maison du Sage
#8 of 675 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Casa dei Tintori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Casa dei Tintori

Property: B&B La Casa dei Tintori
Address: Corso Dei Tintori 33, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for clean, warm, friendly hospitality and personal service the Casa dei Tintori B&B in Florence, Italy is your answer.Casa dei Tintori is a careful and accurate restoration of a 13th Century building in the historic center of the city.While retaining its Medieval charm, the Bed and Breakfast is equipped with all the modern amenities, including air-conditioning, heating, private bathrooms with showers, TVs and a free fast Internet computer that enables guests to keep in touch with family and friends back home.Each of the five private guest rooms is decorated in period furniture and fabrics in patterns and colors derived from the Florentine tradition of Medieval textile dyers.Casa dei Tintori is located in a quiet, residential and very safe neighborhood with a variety of charming shops, good restaurants, and “ gelato “ stores that make life worth living.This central B&B in Florence is only a short walk from famous landmarks like the Uffizi Museum, the Pitti Palace and Boboli Gardens, the Ponte Vecchio which spans the Arno river, Santa Croce, Piazza della Signoria, the Duomo and many more.If that's not enough, there are famous statues, monuments and art galleries everywhere you look.There are, of course, high fashion stores, artisan and leather shops, open air markets and more restaurants than one can count.The Medieval building has an interesting history. Eight centuries ago it was a dyers' house, a large wool weaving and textile dying workshop. In fact thedistrict originally teemed with similar craft workshops under the aegis of "Arte dei Tintori" (Art of the Dyers).With the friendly help of your hosts, Alfredo and Valeria, the B&B Casa dei Tintori in Florence, Italy can truly be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your B&B La Casa dei Tintori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast La Casa Dei Tintori
b&b La Casa Dei Tintori Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing