We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better the second time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B La Casa dei Tintori
Ranked #9 of 649 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Even better the second time!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I chose to revisit Florence this spring and stayed again at Casa dei Tintori. I loved it even more the second time! Riccardo and Lavinia are excellent hosts, so caring and welcoming. Riccardo loves his city and always has good tips to share on where to go, what to see, and how to make the most of one's stay. Lavinia has worked hard to make the B&B even more homelike, providing an excellent breakfast and going over and above to make visitors comfortable. I enjoyed every aspect of my stay, loved Florence, and will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house can be a little noisier, as they're on the main street. Aside f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassionforHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    148
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
149
392
94
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife & I stayed at La Casa Dei Tintori for 3 nights. I picked this place out out of all other places based on the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor.com. I want to confirm that all of those reviews are spot on true. Riccardo & Lavinia are excellent hosts. Both speak excellent English are eager to help in any way they can. They gave us all the help we needed to navigate Florence & Tuscany in the next three days, Including making reservation for a wine tasting trip, calling Taxis and suggesting great restaurants. Riccardo & Lavinia even helped me arrange a little surprise on my wife's birthday while we were there. This 800 year old building is their home, they live here along with the guests. They gave us keys to their home, so we could go and come at any time.

La casa dei Tintori is walking distance to all major spots in Florence, Uffizi & Gallileo Museum were 2-3 minutes walk, Duomo was maybe 5-6 minutes walk, Ponte Vecchio was about 3 minutes away This B & B is situated in a nice neighborhood close to piazza santa croce and has lot of small restaurants & shopping . I also found a Scottish pub, where we went to get shots.

Most important aspect is the pricing of our stay, It is definitely cheaper to stay here compared to almost all the other hotels I looked it, None of those hotels had reviews as good as La Casa Dei Tintori. We stayed in the Indigo room. This was a spacious room with attached bathroom. The room included storage closet, safety locker, TV, chair & desk . The double bed was comfortable. Breakfast was provided everyday. They made excellent cappuccino, along with delicious Croissants , Danishes, Fruit Salads,Pastries, cookies and cakes.

Finally...This was our first trip to Europe, Florence & Tuscany exceeded our expectations and we had a great time. We will always remember Riccardo & Lavinia, as they helped make it memorable. If we ever return to Florence, This is where we would want to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMathew2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Lovely atmosphere. The walls told stories. Old stories. A most friendly and helpfull young couple is the owner of this place. They really were eager to make sure that our visit would be most enjoyable.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights in the Green Room. Arrived earlier than room was available but this was no problem, Riccardo gave a warm welcome and looked after our bags until the room was ready, whilst we went off to explore. The location is great, room was excellent, quiet and bed comfy. The only noise you do get is other guests walking past in the morning and a small bit of noise from the breakfast area, but it is not a problem.
Breakfast was continental style, and could have perhaps offered a little more variety but then again I always eat the same thing for breakfast anyway. Riccardo and his wife are both lovely and very helpful in suggesting places to eat and visit. Riccardo can also make bookings for restaurants or museums etc for you in advance.
All in all a great stay in a great city, and I would definitely reccomend B&B La Casa Dei Tintori.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hs318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This B&B is absolutely fabulous. Traveling by myself I felt perfectly safe and at ease. The hosts are super sweet, even if you're not planning on being sociable, they really are there for you. My room was charming and efficient. The bathroom is totally modern and super clean. The water is absolutely drinkable and the pressure is strong. You really will not miss your own bathroom back home.

The location is so perfect. At anytime that you need a break, you can quickly be back in your room by just walking a few minutes. I found this extremely convenient. At the same time, in the evening when the city calls you back, you can just walk a little bit and be in a plaza full of music and people.

I do have to say, the location is great, but for the same reason, if you have a window to the street, expect noisy weekend nights.

I will stay at Casa dei Tintori every time I return to Florence.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.E. PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is a better late than never post having visited Florence in October of 2013. Having searched trip advisor endlessly for a B & B in Florence, we decided to try La Casa dei Tintori, somewhat blindly but guided by other trip advisor posts. It's always a bit intimidating as a first time traveler to any city to find a warm and welcoming place. From our initial contact via email, it was clear that every detail is important to them. And, from the moment we walked through the doors, we felt at ease and knew we had chosen the correct B & B. Riccardo and Lavinia are just so real and hospitable. Please take any of the suggestions they give for shopping and eating. You will never be disappointed. We stayed in the Indigo Room off the kitchen and honestly, heard no noise. I did ask for a room off the street after reading some other posts about street noise. The rooms are very clean and we had a full size (American) shower. The location of the B & B is fantastic and a short 2-5 minute walk to most everything in any direction. Just a caution, you might not want to ever return home. Thank you, Riccardo and Lavinia for making our stay in Florence unforgettable. Peter and Lori

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank promola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent 3 days at the Casa dei Tinori, in the Green Room. Overall, it was a great choice.

This room had one large bed and two small ones, ideal for a family of four. Breakfasts were better than in the other B&B during our trip. The hosts were very nice and very helpful, from giving us tips for visiting Florence to helping us find a doctor for our daughter.

Location was great, within walking distance from everything without being too close to noisy squares. The only downside was that we could hear everything from the lobby in our room, but since it is a small B&B it was very quiet most of the time.

I would definitely recommend this place.

Pierre C.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 412 in Florence
519 reviews
Hotel David
#2 of 412 in Florence
3,195 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 412 in Florence
1,508 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,774 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#3 of 412 in Florence
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Casa dei Tintori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Casa dei Tintori

Property: B&B La Casa dei Tintori
Address: Corso Dei Tintori 33, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 649 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for clean, warm, friendly hospitality and personal service the Casa dei Tintori B&B in Florence, Italy is your answer.Casa dei Tintori is a careful and accurate restoration of a 13th Century building in the historic center of the city.While retaining its Medieval charm, the Bed and Breakfast is equipped with all the modern amenities, including air-conditioning, heating, private bathrooms with showers, TVs and a free fast Internet computer that enables guests to keep in touch with family and friends back home.Each of the five private guest rooms is decorated in period furniture and fabrics in patterns and colors derived from the Florentine tradition of Medieval textile dyers.Casa dei Tintori is located in a quiet, residential and very safe neighborhood with a variety of charming shops, good restaurants, and “ gelato “ stores that make life worth living.This central B&B in Florence is only a short walk from famous landmarks like the Uffizi Museum, the Pitti Palace and Boboli Gardens, the Ponte Vecchio which spans the Arno river, Santa Croce, Piazza della Signoria, the Duomo and many more.If that's not enough, there are famous statues, monuments and art galleries everywhere you look.There are, of course, high fashion stores, artisan and leather shops, open air markets and more restaurants than one can count.The Medieval building has an interesting history. Eight centuries ago it was a dyers' house, a large wool weaving and textile dying workshop. In fact thedistrict originally teemed with similar craft workshops under the aegis of "Arte dei Tintori" (Art of the Dyers).With the friendly help of your hosts, Alfredo and Valeria, the B&B Casa dei Tintori in Florence, Italy can truly be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B La Casa dei Tintori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b La Casa Dei Tintori Hotel Florence
Bed And Breakfast La Casa Dei Tintori

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing