We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location! Amazing staff! Clean! Do it!”
Review of Academy Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Academy Hostel
Ranked #39 of 333 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

You won't be disappointed (so long as you aren't expecting a Four Seasons). The location is PERFECT, right next to Il Duomo in the center of town. Rosa/Maria? the lady who checked me in and is the owner/manager? was SO helpful and SO friendly. The place is clean, secure, and quiet when it should be and loud when it should be (social hour!).

This is THE place to stay for the adventure/budget traveler!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will2TravelMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed here for two nights and I have no complaints with the rooms or facilities. The breakfast and dinner (a real treat) were lovely and really made for a nice stay.
The only complaint I have is with the staff. I was very unwell on my first day in Florence. I went to the hostel at 12pm (check in is not until 2pm). I was clearly ill and asked if I could simply sit inside until my room was ready. I was point blank refused, despite my pleas. Instead I was forced to wait a further 2 hours in the cold. Just a warning that whist the hostel is good, the staff need reminding of customer care.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahahmadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I am biased, it was only my second Hostel ever, but god if I could choose a Hostel anywhere in the World to stay it would have been this one. Right from the moment I arrived it felt amazing. Rosa on reception was the most welcoming person I have ever met, and genuinely looked after every person who I stayed in the Hostel with for those two days so well. Location was fantastic, and I met a whole goup of great people who made the stay even more special. Of all the places I have been in the world that was the first place I really did not want to leave, and am definitely planning my next trip to Florence. As far as everything else in the Hostel, it was very clean, and very modern. And not to forget a treat (some free red wine and antipasti) the hostel provides free of charge every night. 100% Recommend!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dekored5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

There are a lot of things going for this place. Its location is brilliant, right between the Duomo and the Academia. Very close to every place of tourist interest. The place is really clean. There is a lock-out between 11 am- 2 pm so that they can clean the place everyday. The staff is very helpful and also does a great job of getting residents together and encouraging them to go and explore the city at night. Everyday at 6.30 pm they serve wine and snacks and even the breakfast served in the morning is pretty good.

There are bottles of alcohol left in the pantry and are good to kick-off a party. They have washing machines and the dryers and at 6 euros, seems reasonable. We stayed there 5 five days and that was the best place we stayed at during our holiday.

The only problem faced was the room we stayed in was really noisey and it was difficult to sleep beyond 7 am as there would be a very loud noise of some sort of dumping activity but I am not very sure what it is.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amruta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Only stayed here for two nights, but the hostel staff were very friendly and helpful. Private room was a good size, nice and clean. Hostel is in a great location. Very good place to meet others travelling and make some new friends as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The staff was helpful in looking for places to go. The hostel was very clean and they have a few computers for internet access and also wifi. The wifi is good only in the common room. They have breakfast in the morning and will have a 6:30 social hour where they serve wine and some food. The location is pretty close to the Duomo and less than 10 minute walk from the train station. We meant a lot of people from all over the world at this hostel and had a blast.

Room Tip: Florence is small, but a lot of tourist go there, so looking at a hostel would be ideal for the budg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

First experience on hostel and I didn't get disapointed, very clean, close to everywhere. The hostel is just minutes away from the major attractions and the staff can help with every information you might need.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ludmilaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#10 of 333 in Florence
420 reviews
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#17 of 333 in Florence
215 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#19 of 333 in Florence
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#15 of 333 in Florence
2,625 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Ghiro
Il Ghiro
#67 of 333 in Florence
145 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
B&B Tre Gigli Firenze
B&B Tre Gigli Firenze
#40 of 333 in Florence
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Hostel

Address: Via Ricasoli 9, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 333 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range: £34 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet, smart new hostel is at the most central location in Florence, beside the Duomo on the start of the street that leads to the Museum dell'Accademia (Academy Gallery where Michelangelo's David is housed). The hostel is an early 17th Century Palace, a gem of sober architecture and refined atmosphere.Academy Hostel Florence are the ideal venue for a vacation in Florence. The rooms feature elegant and welcoming interiors, wenge essential-design furniture, and the best amenities offered by Hostel Florence Academy. he entrance lounge room of Hostel are a combination of elegance and style where art and design contribute to the guests tailor-made experience of good taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Academy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Academy Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing