We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run hotel with full of restrictions”
Review of Hotel Il Duca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Il Duca
Ranked #353 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family run hotel with full of restrictions”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Hotel was good, clean and location was nice in center of city. But, we are being continuously monitored here and we can find lot of restrictions like not to put your stuff in fridge, not to wash your clothes etc..If they have something like these they should have placed there rules and regulations while describing about there hotel. So, people might avoid it right at the time of booking.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank vikraminPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M, Proprietario at Hotel Il Duca, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
The customer is always right is a concept invented by a customer. He's right who is polite, courteous and sympathetic to anyone who is doing a job in which the client is not competent. Why after 12 hours spent smiling, explain, listen, answer the phone, respond to email and, in the midst of all this, groped to work while the state does everything to get you shut down. I should add that our maniacal attention, about the proper use of the equipment the hotel is because we want to maintain a good level of quality, even for customers who stay after your departure.
Angela Musacchio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    54
    47
    34
    48
See reviews for
38
107
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The hotel is situated in the old city with narrow street which I liked. Once we entered the hotel we found it to be light and airy. The rooms were nicely decorated, very clean and adequate facilities - the air conditioning worked well which was important as the temperature was 35c. There was a small terraced garden where you could enjoy a drink after sightseeing. The hotel was run by a family and although they were quiet and reserved, were very helpful when asked - I lost the key for my suitcase and they sorted the lock without any fuse. There was quite a good variety of food for breakfast but unfortunately there was no fruit, the only suggestion I would have made to inprove things.We enjoyed our stay and would certaily recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppy01bonnie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Hotel was choosing by travel agency and our mistake was to not read the reviews before. So: the staff seems to composed by a family members: old man watching all day at TV (he wear exactly same shirt for four continuous days), old lady in breakfast rooms teaching you how to not touch any device (so yours toast will be exactly as she prefer) and young unpleasant lady who not give you access to wi-fi network even if you ask to pay, even if she play computer in front of you. As a compensation for travelers who sweat in summer, we were in November, so we ask for, of course, impossible more heat. It was a very cold experience; marble is nice but not so healthy indication at 10 Celsius degrees. If you come by car, a parking place will cost you extra 25 euros per day. No elevator, poor breakfast, stupid rules posted on rooms doors and a generally impression that they make you a favor. Offer yourself more prestige, bring more value to yours money and choose another location. Even clean and close to center, avoid feeling to be a "refugee asking to stay for free". They do not deserve yours attention and yours money, does not matter the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cezar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M, Proprietario at Hotel Il Duca, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
The customer is always right is a concept invented by a customer. He's right who is polite, courteous and sympathetic to anyone who is doing a job in which the client is not competent. Why after 12 hours spent smiling, explain, listen, answer the phone, respond to email and, in the midst of all this, groped to work while the state does everything to get you shut down. I should add that our maniacal attention, about the proper use of the equipment the hotel is because we want to maintain a good level of quality, even for customers who stay after your departure.
Angela Musacchio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a week end and enjoyed our stay! We would recommend to a friend staying in Florence !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Like a few others we read the reviews AFTER we'd booked this place and were a little worried. However, we've just come back after a week at the Hotel Il Duca and can say without any hestiation we'd stay there again. Its a family ran hotel, located right on the edge of the pedestrianised area of the old part of the city (okay saying pedestrianised is pushing it as the locals seem to ignore the rules but hey we're in italy :) )
Yes we were a little worried when the first thing we had to do was pay a 42 euro `tourist` tax, which came into effect in July (after we'd booked), this would have been fine if the man on reception could have said it himself, but he was trying to find his crib sheet which had it pre-written for him, but couldnt find it, so we were really worrying why we were being asked to pay more on a pre-paid trip. Needless to say once we had paid and settled into the room we were more then happy. Clean and simple rooms, with 1 english speaking channel (CNN - be prepared to see a lot of Piers Morgan and the same adverts over and over) but we not in italy for the rooms, thats just our place for sleeping).

Breakfast was at 8am, so yes not exactly early, but what the give was really fresh and tasty. Brioche and light cakes and coffee. Fruit juices available too oh and cereal. Not an `english` breakfast, but i wasnt in England. :)

After our first day out, we returned (our italian becoming a little more flowing then when just arrived) and the simple nods and afternoon/evenings to the staff were reciprocated with a smile.

If you have any problems with the room i can understand that the family may struggle if cannot communicate easily, but i found a quick check on google translate gave me an idea of what to say etc and we didnt have any issues arise.

On evening prior to our check out, i spoke with the gentleman on reception asking for our passports to be returned as we had an early start (5am), he wrote down the time as he returned our passports, and i thought nothing of it. We got up at 4 and were all packed up and rang the taxi company (note - when they say will be 5 mins they MEAN it, they are QUICK and its fixed cost from airport to hotel and back!!). Carrying our luggage down the stairs (there is no lift for the 1 floor there is) and in reception was the lovely gentleman who was waiting for us, he unbolted the huge door and waved us off.. people who said they found the family cold and unhelpful missed something i think. He wished us a safe trip and we left. As i said, we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaywalker2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I read some of these other reviews before my trip to Florence and if I hadn't booked the room beforehand I probably wouldn't have chosen this hotel, and that would have been a mistake.

I found Il Duca a quite nice, peaceful and clean, well-run hotel. The staff members weren't overflowingly cordial, but friendly and helpful enough for my taste. Admittedly, they didn't speak English that well but that didn't bother me. I'm not a native English speaker myself so I understand that not all the people in the world are fluent in English...

All in all I would recommend Il Duca for travellers who are looking for a reasonably priced basic hotel in Florence and who understand that you can't have five star quality with three star prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Location? Perfect! No more than 500 meters from Duomo and the very pleasant (and cheap) Zio Gigi restaurant. Rooms? Reformed, clean, a/c working very well, free wi-fi and cable TV. Breakfast? Ok for a small "albergo", but starts at 08:00, so late in my opinion. Staff? That´s the big problem... the hotel is a family house, so they make the roules... no smiles, no helps, nothing... but in anytime they were stupid with us, just without affection with the guests. If you are looking for a cheap hotel (not easy in Florence) with comfortable rooms, don´t worry, stay here, but, don´t care about with antipathy...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kalcenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M, Proprietario at Hotel Il Duca, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
The customer is always right is a concept invented by a customer. He's right who is polite, courteous and sympathetic to anyone who is doing a job in which the client is not competent. Why after 12 hours spent smiling, explain, listen, answer the phone, respond to email and, in the midst of all this, groped to work while the state does everything to get you shut down. I should add that our maniacal attention, about the proper use of the equipment the hotel is because we want to maintain a good level of quality, even for customers who stay after your departure.
Angela Musacchio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#356 of 411 in Florence
408 reviews
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#253 of 411 in Florence
534 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Malaspina
Hotel Malaspina
#286 of 411 in Florence
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
HHB Hotel
HHB Hotel
#348 of 411 in Florence
113 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Alinari
Hotel Alinari
#325 of 411 in Florence
301 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Genesio
Hotel Genesio
#350 of 411 in Florence
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Duca

Property: Hotel Il Duca
Address: Via della Pergola 34, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Duca 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Il Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing