We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, fast friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trattoria Marione

Trattoria Marione
Ranked #392 of 2,680 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Santa Maria Novella
Bath
Level Contributor
163 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food, fast friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We went here two nights in a row and should have gone here that last night rather than gamble for one closer to the hotel. The restaurant is small, busy and rather loud. Food is excellent. They seem to do the meat dishes better than the basic pasta; however, our sons reckon they make the best lasagne. The pork belly was amazing and the roast potatoes equally so.The Panna Cotta, served up immediately out of a fridge in the dining room, is the best I have had. Be aware they do not take bookings. They open at 7pm and the queue is long even before they open. The prices are extremely reasonable - I'm sure you can spare some for a tip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    971
    1,119
    380
    184
    146
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had to wait 20 minutes for a table, but they gave us free glass of wine while we waited. We enjoyed waiting out on the sidewalk and meeting others. The atmosphere is hustle and bustle- no frills kinda place. the food was great. We ordered lasagna and lamb entree. Both were delicious! If you are walking by and a table is open, go in. Otherwise, not sure I'd wait to eat here again. Had better dishes elsewhere in Florence.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j9smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
321 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“An average restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

It is an over crowd place, without ventilation and with not very goof service. However the food is not bad. A lot of typical italian plates, tasty. The lamb was perfect the pasta also. It is really pity that the atmosphere is not better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivanmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than the ratings suggest, IMO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Any place with a handwritten menu scores points in my book. But that aside, my partner and I had one of the best meals on our trip here. We ordered lampredotto (stewed beef tripe - highly recommended), vegetable soup, and roasted potatoes. Perhaps the selection is a bit hit-or-miss; the porchetta ordered by an adjacent table looked dry and unappealing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ninjadinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Good Ribalito and Pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We visited Marione after the agent who rented us an apartment near the Ponte Vecchia told us it was one of her favorites. We arrived at the restaurant at about 9:00 and found it quite busy, but were quickly shown to what might have been the only available table in the house.

We started with the traditional ribalito, a very thick soup of vegetables, panchetta and bread. We'd tried -- and very much enjoyed -- the same dish at several other restaurants in Florence; Marione's was at least a match for the others.

We both had pasta entrees. My lasagne was excellent, as was my wife's penne with bechamel sauce.

My wife enjoyed the waiter's wine recommendation (I had no wine).
She also ordered a Sicilian dessert wine, which she very much enjoyed; when she asked the waiter for more information about the wine he brought out the bottle and poured her a complimentary glass.

All in all, the dinner at Marione was very good. We would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARA49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Marione also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Marione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing