We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host and Great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Grillo di Firenze
Ranked #12 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Lara was extremely welcoming when we arrived and took us through a very detailed introduction to the map of Florence - where to go for markets, Restaurant, sites etc.

We were impressed with our large (and very clean) room, and the gorgeous chocolate love heart arrangement Lara had prepared for us for our honeymoon. It was lovely. The bathroom was the biggest we have had on our trip also so that was great!

The hotel is ~20min walk to flea markets/city centre, but we enjoy the walking aspect of our trips. Breakfast consists of yoghurt, croissants, & sweet cakes.

All in all a great stay, very welcoming host, great rooms/facilities. Thank you Lara for having us!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

This B&B is very clean, has a great location, large room, great balcony, perfect wi-fi availability, great English speaking hosts and nice views. It is very good value for money. The minor deficiencies are that the breakfast could be improved with fruit and the option of an egg as the breakfast choice is rather limited.
Great night sleep. Great advice on what to see and do as well as how to get about. Bus at the front door.
We would definitely stay again and highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed if you choose this B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard_VanBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

very lovely family hotel, Lara is very helpful to assist map remarks with sighting, supermarket,
restaurant, icecream store. The rooms is a bit small bit it's ok for us. Net time, If I have chance to
visit there again, I will choose this hotel again. by the way, breakfast is quite nice.

Room Tip: take 22 bus form train station. very easy to get the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linglingshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

What you get for the price is amazing!

Lara and Lorenzo who run the B&B are the best welcoming committee into Florence. They detail everything for you from how to get around, what to see, and even where to eat. It's a great 360 and comprehensive welcome to Florence.

The price of the room was unbeatable. You're only about 15 mins away from city center in a more residential area, which for us was lovely. We got the perks of a great priced room, away from the craze of the tourist area but easily accessible, and food options that LOCALS visit which means BETTER quality and AFFORDABLE pricing. I can't stress that enough. If you eat where locals eat you know two things that the food is ACTUALLY good because this is how they stay alive, not just tourist mumbo jumbo, and the prices are fair since they are bringing in the locals. Highly recommend things in the neighborhood.

Our room was clean and lovely, private terrace, newly renovated bed and bath. Great looking. I would recommend our stay to anyone. B&Bs are the way to go when visiting Italy and this one made our Florence stay perfection.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

My cousin and I stayed here for a weekend during the busy summer season. Prices were cheaper than I expected and Lara and Lorenzo were amazing hosts. We flew in very late, but Lorenzo waited for us to arrive so we could check in. Lara was there every morning to make us coffee and serve up the breakfast buffet. Both speak excellent English, which was good since my Italian is rudimentary.

Rooms were extremely spacious, bathrooms were sparkling clean. The shared balcony with the view was amazing. It's centrally located, so public transport is very accessible.

Bathrooms are shared, but we never ran into any issues with that as there are only 4 rooms, I believe. Both owners were also extremely helpful in pointing out attractions that were a must-see.

Checkout was easy and painless. I would most definite stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mightykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

orenzo, the owner, is extremely helpful and friendly and always available to answer any questions! The rooms are spacious and clean with a very modern interior, and the location of the B&B is ideal - you can walk everywhere. The only small thing is that there is some traffic noise from the street, but not so much as to be seriously disturbing. Definitely to be recommended!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank PT1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a fantastic time here. Lara and Lorenzo are really great hosts. They made us wonderful coffee in the morning and set out a very nice breakfast buffet. Lara also told us about good places to go and about the shopping in the local area. We went during the off season. Bathrooms are shared. Most of the time we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. We thought the bed and bedroom was really pretty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Il Giglio d'Oro
#4 of 657 in Florence
725 reviews
Leone X Guest House
#23 of 657 in Florence
239 reviews
L'Olivo
#51 of 657 in Florence
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais Villa Antea
#5 of 657 in Florence
930 reviews
Fiorenza B&B
#3 of 657 in Florence
816 reviews
San Marco
3B Bed & Breakfast
3B Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 657 in Florence
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Grillo di Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Grillo di Firenze

Address: Via Maragliano 69, 50144, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £51 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Grillo di Firenze 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Grillo di Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing