We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was ok but location and hospitality is what I'll return for”
Review of Le Seggiole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Seggiole
Ranked #306 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Room was ok but location and hospitality is what I'll return for”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great location, near a piazza but hidden enough not to be bothered by street noise. When we arrived, the housekeeper was rushing to get to mass so we had to quickly lug our luggage up the stairs to the apartment, about 2 flights (not sure if there was a lift, but we had backpacks so it wasn't too bad. Might be a problem if you have big/heavy luggage). If you are coming in and out in the evening time, make sure you flick the switch for the building just inside the entrance and outside the apartment door, otherwise you'll stumble around in the dark as we did before we figured it out!

Our room was the end unit on the left, which is good since you only hear one neighbour beside you (I think you can hear them if they are talking loudly in the bathroom). The room was average size, with simple decor. But it felt very clean. Bed size was good and the mattress was firm. We found outlets on each side of the bed, which was useful. Blankets, linens and towels were good.

Bathroom was a bit on the small side but functional. There's little counter space above the sink. Shower size is ok (you get a shower curtain), but the water pressure of the shower isn't very strong. An irking thing was that the light switch is on the opposite side of the door handle, so you always have to remember to reach over to turn the light on before opening the door. Weird thing is that even after you turn off the light, the fan continues to run for a few minutes before a loud stopping stutter. The hair dryer is very good.

That first night, my impression of Le Seggiole was just average. But the hospitality we experienced the next day upped that impression. The next morning, when we came out for breakfast, we were greeted by Ulrika (one of the B&B owners), who was absolutely wonderful. She offered us hot tea/coffee and we chatted for a bit before the other guests started showing up for breakfast. Breakfast wasn't anything special but it was decent - there was coffee/tea that she brewed, hot milk available, fresh juice, fresh bread, packaged muffins, jams, etc. When we were done, we settled the remainder of the balance immediately since we had to leave early the next morning to catch our train. She offered to come in earlier to provide breakfast. It was very sweet of her but we politely declined. When we returned to our room that night, we found she had left us some breakfast items on the table (packaged muffins and juice boxes) and a lovely little note wishing us a happy journey. We were very touched by her hospitality. The room was ok but the location and hospitality is what I'd come back to Le Seggiole for.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hailo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    90
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
179
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Perfect location, lovely host and hostess, and everyone else seems to have been very satisfied with their room. If you are offered the room with the bathroom and desk on one level and the bedroom up some stairs, you should know that (1) the stairs are steep and wind up with a skinny railing on one side (2) the view from the window is into the central airs haft, with laundry lines and (3) upstairs from the bedroom is the kitchen of the family above, where chairs are moving, children are clomping, and dishes are clattering around 7 am during the week. Also, when you arrive at the address, the B&B is two long stories up from street level and there is no elevator/lift. Some people apparently delight in the split-level room (oh, there are also about 5 steps down into the room from the entry door), esp young couples, I'm told. But again, the hosts are very nice and helpful and apologized for the inconvenience to this 60+ single lady who did not expect such a lot of lugging herself and baggage up and down so many stairs. Bed was solidly comfortable, place is clean, the made espresso in the morning and gave a nice little map with some restaurant suggestions.

Room Tip: Be sure you understand what you're getting into if you are offered the room with the stairs up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MChrisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Perfect central location, but without the hazzle from noisy streets. Simple but comfortable rooms and an extremely welcoming host. We would stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1happyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I have always stayed at a large, chain hotel when I visited Florence in the past. This time I decided to try B & B Le Seggiole after reading a review in my guidebook (Secret Spots of Italy- I think the author's name is Kenedy). WOW! Just perfect. Great location, wonderful hosts and fantastic breakfast. I look forward to my next stay at Le Seggiole.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marco b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Fantastic location in the centre of Florence. The rooms are simple but very comfortable. Extremely clean and tidy. The breakfast was lovely. Every morning after you rise you go out to the dining room and there is a spread of breakfast. It can get a little noisy at times if you have the window open as there is no aircon. I will certainly stay here again when in Florence. Free Wifi.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajwhi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I organised the stay last minute and I was so lucky to end up at Le Seggiole. You're right near the Duomo yet away from the main roads so don't get any late night noise. Ulrike & Fabio were fantastic: providing loads of useful information and recommendations - both speak perfect English - they gave a great insight into relaxed Italian life. The free wifi is a bonus too!

Room Tip: I had the one with a fresco!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Le Seggiole in April 2011 for about a week, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay at this B&B. Ulrika and Fabio were gracious and kind hosts. Ulrika had a simple but lovely breakfast waiting for us every morning (cereal, toast, yogurt, tea, coffee). The location is fantastic - 15 minute walk tops to all the sites. The rooms were simple but very comfortable, the bathrooms were fully equipped, and there was free wifi. If and when I come back to Florence, I will certainly be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Driedfigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#119 of 422 in Florence
767 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#43 of 422 in Florence
780 reviews
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Charme
B&B Emozioni Charme
#14 of 675 in Florence
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#235 of 422 in Florence
152 reviews
Villa Aruch
#24 of 304 in Florence
176 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Seggiole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Seggiole

Property: Le Seggiole
Address: Via delle Seggiole 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Seggiole 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Le Seggiole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Seggiole Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing