We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt right at home”

L'Osteria di Giovanni
Reserve with
L'Osteria di Giovanni is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #127 of 3,045 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$113
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Duomo
Description: At L’Osteria di Giovanni we not only maintain strict allegiance to traditional Tuscan dishes (including many antique recipes that are not commonly used these days), but we also experiment with new flavours and combinations, whilst remaining faithful to local and season produce. Popular new dishes include smoked duck breast on rocket salad and dressed in balsamic vinaigrette, tortelli stuffed with pear and pecorino, with leek and paprika sauce, pici with sausage and kale, and lamb slow-cooked with artichokes. We stronly believe that your restaurant experience should be unique and satisfying on every front. We look forward to welcoming you one day to L'Osteria di Giovanni.
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Enjoyed the ambiance and the food. Place was full which was a good sign. Waiters were not stuffy and made us feel welcome.

Thank dwinfielde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Our home is your home! And inviting you in and being able to give you a memorable experience is what we are about. It worked, and we are so grateful for that. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 84 of 3,441 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

The food was simply excellent - we enjoyed the steak and our starters and deserts were excellent too.

The service created a truly memorable experience. We were in the restaurant for 3 hours and enjoyed every minute. This was due to the attentive and enthusiastic service we encountered. They even rewarded our custom with local freebies such as Cantuccini!!!

Thank Lamp93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Our food is SLOW food! Time to chat, make friends, crack a joke with the waiter. We are so glad that you appreciated those aspects too. That is part of being Italian! We hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is slightly outside of the main bustle of Florence which is a good thing, and it is close to the river. It has a great atmosphere and was filled with people soon after it opened. Service was excellent the entire night. We were checked every 10 minutes by the owner and our waiter brought new drinks quite often. The food was very tasty. Most of the family ate pasta which was delicious and the fish was good as well. The five star experience was secured when they brought us fried bread (appetizer) and dessert on the House. We will definitely come again if we return to Florence.

Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

We are certainly in the city centre, but you are right, ours is a very quiet side street. We see you won you over with our fried "coccoli" - very very yummy!

Hopefully one day you will return to our little corner of the world and you will get to taste them again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

This restaurant came highly recommended so perhaps we went on an off night. We had reservations and so we were seated fast but service was extremely slow (we were being more patient than we would in the states) and the waiter was flustered. The meal was overall good, traditional Italian, nothing too fancy or spectacular. But one of our pricest meals.

1  Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

We are going to agree with you and hope it was an off night. We are fully aware that they can happen, as much as we would like them not to. So we are sorry not to have made it an amazing experience for you, and hope that maybe one day in the future you will allow us to try again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We found this hidden gem of a restaurant by walking past it and saw alot of people in the restaurant late at night. We went for dinner and we found out why it was so busy. The food is great and the service was excellent. We had their homemade pasta with mushroom and was delicious. We also had their Florentine steak which had little to no fat and was cooked perfectly. They have us free desserts too. Homemade wine was also the best choice.

Thank JZervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

We are so pleased you enjoyed everything! Thanks so much for choosing us and drop by again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Osteria di Giovanni also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to L'Osteria di Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing