We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lazy lunch”
Review of Finisterrae

Finisterrae
Reserve with
Finisterrae is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #344 of 2,744 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Santa Croce
Description: Ristorante Mediterraneo, Pizzeria Napoletana, Caffetteria Fiorentina, Pasticceria, Gelateria Siciliana
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lazy lunch”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were on a day trip to florence from our cruise ship and our tour stopped for lunch at the piazza santa croce,guide recommened restaraunt,it was very busy but we were quickly seated and ordered pizza.The food quality was really good and not too badly priced,it is set in a lovely location and well worth a visit

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    407
    117
    61
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Wonderful Service”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in Florence in Santa Croce near Finisterre and were blessed to have found this gem on our first night in Italy.

Our server, Annetta, made us feel right at home. She was busy but always checked on us and was quite helpful with her wonderful menu recommendations.

We had a great dinner on our first night and also stopped by a few other nights for their fabulous gelato and desserts. One night while 7 of us were enjoying dessert and Proseco, the owner was seated at the restaurant and had cannoli delivered to us--it was the best cannoli!!!!

We had an impromptu party at our flat one night and we ordered 'take out.' Annetta, again, helped us figure out our menu and it was perfect.

Thank you, Finisterre, for making our stay in Florence extra special. We will see you again!!!!


Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful pizza in a crowded piazza”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were hungry and overheated in crowded Piazza Santa Croce, looking for lunch after our walking tour (and about a dozen other walking tours) ended. We took a chance on Finisterrae and were richly rewarded. Despite the lunch time throngs of tourists like ourselves, we did not have too long a wait to get a table outside. The outdoor dining area was pleasant, shaded and afforded a look at the piazza and surrounding architecture and shops. Service was fine considering the crowds. The pizza was worth the wait - the crust, tomato sauce and seasonings were amazing. We were energized after this meal for another 4 hours of sightseeing in this lovely city.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“They don't care”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Across from Santa Croce, they are literally swamped with tourists. They have so much business they don't have to even try to be good and it shows. We stopped for coffee with folks who had eaten there a few days earlier. They hadn't liked the food, but we figured how bad can it be for coffee. Bad service made a bad experience.

Helpful?
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza and gelato”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our walking tour of Florence ended in the square and we were starving. Our guide recommended this restaurant. All of the outside spots were taken, so we ate inside. Service was a little spotty as the waiter had to also wait on a tour group, but we took it in stride. The pizza ingredients were fresh and flavorful, and the choices of gelato were great!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smash17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Finisterrae also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Finisterrae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing