We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best. Panini. Ever.”
Review of All' Antico Vinaio

All' Antico Vinaio
Ranked #2 of 76 Bakeries in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Visa, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Uffizi
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
121 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Best. Panini. Ever.”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I'm a vegetarian, so ordering in Italy can sometimes get complicated but the friendly, cheerful guy behind the bar constructed one of the best sandwiches of my life. Ingredients were perfect with distinct lovely flavors. Definitely get one made to order, even if you're not a veg, because the bread is fresher. Then sit outside on one of the little stools, have a little glass of wine and watch the world go by. A must eat of Florence.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Hikingrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18,688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,739
    3,026
    604
    193
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“in florence 3 days and came here 4 times!”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

i was literally only in firenze for 3 days, more like 1.5 full days and we managed to come here 4 times! it is THE BEST value for your euro! and you can easily tell that during the daytime when you see loads of people sardined into the small store, waiting for their chance to order, and also the hoard of people outside eating away. if you're lucky you will score a seat! we had 3 sandwiches for 12 euro! the foccacia bread is so delicious and comes straight out the oven from across the street! it gets delivered every few minutes because that's how quick they sell! get prosciutto or porchetta, you can't go wrong! and place your fair share of basil, mozzarella, peppers, zucchini, tomato in your sandwich! yumyum!!!! i believe they are open til 11pm but do come earlier if you can! as they DO sell out of breads!

if you speak italian you probably will get served first even if you are on the line.. just make sure they hear and see you. they appreciate any bit of italian you can order with! but they also understand english

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sasli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Toscana, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Again!”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I lived in Firenze 4 months and this is the best address I can give.

The owner, Tommaso, became a friend. He is so friendly and he will welcome you well.

2€ for a glass of Toscan wine + 3,5€ for the best Focaccia. How could you say no?

I have been going there at least once a week, it stays for my friends and I the best place in town.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Camille L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I spent a semester in Florence and one thing i will remember is this place! Tomasso, the owner, is the best! And the fooooood! If you want a huge panino with fresh toscan products go there! Wine is excellent too and you can drink at the glass every bottle you want ! But most of all it is the real florentine atmosphere..

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank annev868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“hmmm...”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Most places weren't open for dinner yet, but we were getting a little peckish, so we stopped by this place for a quick bite. (It was in the Time Out book with a good review, after all.) We had a panino and a crostino with liver pate, which, while they satisfied our hunger for a while, were not especially good...so we're not sure what the fuss is about. I suppose if you're having plenty of wine, it helps! Probably a bit unfair to rate a wine bar you've only visited at 5pm, I suppose.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christiiiiine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed All' Antico Vinaio also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to All' Antico Vinaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing