We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious local food! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Trattoria Guelfa

Trattoria Guelfa
Ranked #200 of 2,676 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: San Lorenzo
Description: Storico locale fiorentino nel cuore della citta, alla mano e accogliente, qui la cucina toscana va dalla ribollita alla fiorentina, dalla selvaggina ai tartufi, dall'osso buco alla tagliata. Salumi tipici, gustosi crostini, zuppe contadine e pasta fatta in casa, davanti a un fiasco di vino rosso delle colline del Chianti. Ingredienti freschi comprati al mercato per ricette che cambiano ogni stagione. Stile rustico e casareccio nelle due sale arredate con oggetti del mondo agreste.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious local food! ”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the authentic local food which was reasonably priced. The house wine was decent too! Would recommend as it's away from the touristy area so you feel like you are in a 'local' restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ilb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    286
    67
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Nice atmosphere, excellent food, portions too large (the beefsteak is gigantic). A very reasonable house red. Some authentic local food too, so if you've ever wondered what tripe was like.... We'll go again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Warm atmosphere, tasty food”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Our hotel was on the same Guelfa street, so we found this trattoria on our first evening in Florence. We loved it so much that we ate there 3 times (out of 9) and dined at other places just for a change. The restaurant is small and cozy, the staff was friendly, and the food was good and not expensive. They have 3 menus for 15, 20, and 25 Euros (the last one - with Florentine steak). In general, it's a typical Italian trattoria, located away from the tourist crowds, with nice food, reasonably prices and warm atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandy_spb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So good we ate there twice!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Small dining room, but loads of great food for reasonable prices. The spaghetti w/clams was awesome as well as the Scampi & zucchini pasta! But our favorite was the Spinach & ricotta ravioli w/ Truffle cream sauce! Waitress was very helpful, and did not steer us wrong in her suggestions!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KerryRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, and lots of warmth”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Guelfa is tucked away on Via Guelfa not far from the railway station in Florence. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to make our group feel welcome, they were warm and generous. The food was nice, varied enough to cater to all tastes (from traditional Florentine to staple Italian tourist dishes) and good portions. The little touches they added, like a birthday cake to celebrate one of our group's birthday just added to the experience. We come to Florence every year and are always looking for authentic, wholesome and good value food in a warm and relaxed setting - Guelfa fits the bill and will now become one of our regular stops.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPISJC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Guelfa also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Guelfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing