We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bisteca alla Fiorentina!!”

Trattoria Toscana Gozzi Sergio
Ranked #77 of 2,711 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: San Lorenzo
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Bisteca alla Fiorentina!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We did our homework before we went to Florence. Living in Italy for a while now, it's no surprise what to look for, what to expect and to make sure you're prepared so you won't fall into a tourist trap.
That said, Sergio Gozzi's Trattoria Toscana is one of those restaurants you look from the outside and think nothing of it. You can see people walking past it as if here wasn't interesting enough or appealing enough to spend their money.
However, here lies a traditional place where one can have lunch - and lunch only - for an affordable price and with excellent quality.
Fair enough, we went for the big one - the Bisteca alla Fiorentina, a 1,4kg piece of meat grilled to absolute perfection. We came across it in other cities in Italy or where we live, near Rome. However, this one is absolutely supreme.
The service is simple but fast and competent. We paid 61eur with drinks, salad, side dish, bread and the amazing meat. It could've been cheaper if we opted for any of the other interesting options in the Menu, but we went for the best where its made best.
Try it, you won't be disappointed!! However make sure you're there early - service starts at 12:00 otherwise you might be left queuing with the smell of amazing Tuscan food....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MValenteRola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    277
    53
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Make sure you come early since only lunch is served and by 12:30 there will be a line waiting for a table. Authentic is the word for this trattoria. We had lunch here twice and were more than satisfied each time. The menu changes daily with five first courses pasta, risotto, or soups and five or so main courses. Salad and other vegetables are also available. This is a very unassuming establishment, if not recommended by our hotel we probably would have missed it. Two first courses, two second, courses, a salad, plus one vegetable, litre of red wine, a bottle of water, plus Vin Santo with biscuits for desert, was only 47 euro's. Just across from the Church of San Lorenzo and at the beginning of the market this is a definite meal when I am in Florence again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luckywin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
238 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very friendly trattoria”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We found this small trattoria just behind the stands at the market in Firenze, and decided to step in. The place was full, and gave the warm feeling of a family place, with very good traditional Italian food. My food (meat with potatoes) was a bit too salty, but the other dishes were great. We all enjoyed very much, even the kids, and I strongly recommend!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing after the reviews”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We came here after reading reviews. Even in March it was busy - we waited a few minutes for a table to come free. The restaurant has a rural feel about it - no frills - which was a nice ambiance. We ordered pork chop which was pretty average, red winde, similarly average and a fennel side dish, which was good. We got the impression that the rating for the place probably depends on what you order and when. Not a dreadful visit, but disappointing compared to the reviews.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
259 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing Trippe”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My aunt suggested i specifically should try this trattoria once in Florence.
I called in the morning to try and book a table for 4. Sorry too busy, they said, try to come here early.... around d 13.00 hrs we manged to get to the place and had to wait for a good 20 min, standing, before a table became available..... well it was worth the waiting, we tried the triple and by Joe, we had to take a second helping, just amazing! Well worth it

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugenio_aus_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Toscana Gozzi Sergio also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Toscana Gozzi Sergio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing