We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food served in nice way”
Review of Borgo San Jacopo

Borgo San Jacopo
Reserve with
Borgo San Jacopo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #249 of 2,704 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$143
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Live Italian gourmet excellence at Michelin starred restaurant Borgo San Jacopo. Perching over the Arno, our fine dining restaurant offers a unique vantage point of Ponte Vecchio. Fall in love with the view as you sample the finest Italian dishes enhanced with innovative twists, designed by starred chef Peter Brunel. Savour the freshness and utter quality of the produce and ingredients hand-selected by the chef himself before being skilfully prepared and presented in inventive dishes. And make sure to indulge in a prestigious vintage from our selection of the best 900 labels in the cellar.
Burnham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food served in nice way”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Took my wife to Florence and this resaturant was recommended by a collegue of mine and I must say it was a huge surprise to my wife in her birthday. We both had the taster menu lovely wine from Checci, Chainti.
When we go back , I will definetly book again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    124
    63
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Diet for you and for your wallet!!!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Very nice location, right on the left side of Arno just next to Ponte Vecchio, the only reason for the 2 stars otherwise it would have been 1.
The menu consists of few choices and kind of random though. The portions are ridiculously small like in a Russian Gulag. Entries are almost invisible: a lonely portion of food in the emptiness and sadness of a big dish which makes it seem to be even smaller! This is unbelievable: when I asked the waiter about a meal, he honestly suggested not to get it, I appreciate a lot the waiter's honesty but it is not possible that in such a small assortment of food on the list there is even something not recommended especially if at the end of the night you are going to pay more the 120€ per person!!! They have got to be kidding me!?!?
I must admit that they do bring you a lot (compared to the average amount of food delivered) of assorted (good) bread to compensate for your starvation, at the end of the story you managed to stay on a diet even after going out for dinner and your wallet got thiner too!!! Perfect if you can waste money and have a date with an anorexic top model: this is gonna be your place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pomodillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Get the taster menu - delicious and a bargain!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Seriously the taster menu was soooooo good - and for just 20 euro I couldnt believe my luck. My husband got the most expensive main on the menu but he was jealous of mine right away!
Beware of extra add-ons though (glass of wine - coffee - sparkling water - etc) that can effortlessly double your bill

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdbfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad Food”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Don't go there if you like good food. They should get rid of the chef. It's more fast than fine food. The atmosphere is great. way to much expensive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RES06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful ambiance, food... mwah”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Beautiful, hip restaurant. Not "traditional" Italian. Waitress recommended the 5 course fixed menu: 5 best dishes of the 10 years BSJ. We were expecting the best of the best.... Not so much. The anchovy & zucchini course was almost disgusting... way too much salt including the zucchini. Not sure how anybody can ruin zucchini? We are not unaccustomed to less than traditional food... but we were definitely wondering who told the chef that these were her "best" creations ever?! Maybe the a la carte choices are better. Service was great. So was the sommelier & the wines.
PS... the view of the Ponte Vecchio is limited to 2 outdoor tables and only the two people facing the bridge :) The outdoor patio is tiny, 4 tables for 2, very close together...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nouschie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Borgo San Jacopo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Borgo San Jacopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing