We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent host!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Monte Oliveto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B Monte Oliveto
Ranked #12 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent host!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in October, and our hostess could not have been more helpful. She pointed out some great places to eat, and some of the little more hidden Florence. Eat South of the river! Great accommodation, very nice breakfast. Unsure about Snow White and the Seven Dwarves in a neighbours garden though!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Messmessmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
180
54
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We are two friends traveling together and we had the Mansard rooms or three nights. We were made to feel so welcome from the moment of our arrival. Our room was gorgeous, clean and so beautifully decorated. Donatella helped us with ideas for our time in Florence including the great tip that we could visit the Uffizi and L'academia on a Saturday night ( because it was the last Saturday of the month) until 11:00 at night. Breakfasts were wonderful, with a variety of foods served by Dontella. Breakfast highlight was Dontalla's superb souffle. The B&B is in a very good location with an easy walk to anywhere we needed to go in Florence. I highly recommend this B&B and I hope I can return.

Room Tip: Mansard room has balcony/terrace and beautiful private bathroom with a lovely deep bath- great after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fieldwicks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Good location and pretty house. Breakfasts were pleasant but average, taken in the garden.
Donatella was helpful but we were disappointed not to be offered a drink when we arrived, after a long journey.
No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, and no water. When i asked for a drink, Donetella told me I could drink the tap water!!
It is not mentioned on the website that the Sage Room does not have an en suite bathroom. Not only that, you have to share a bathroom. It is across the landing, no robes are provided and is most inconvenient if you need to visit the bathroom several times a night, as I do.
On our last morning workmen were working in the small garden whilst we were having breakfast. We found this to be intrusive and far from relaxing. Not only that, Donatella was busy seeing to them so we weren't offered a second cup of coffee and felt slightly rushed. Not very professional as surely the work could have waited until after 10.30 when breakfast was over?
All in all a disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom facilities before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HandC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Mansard room to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. Donatella made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The loft room was lovely, with a beautiful bathroom and balcony. The breakfasts were wonderful - varied and plentiful (we particularly enjoyed the homemade fruit tart!!).
Donatella and family could not have been more helpful, giving us information on places to go in Florence, booking restaurants, museums and taxis.
The house is only a few minutes walk from some lovely restaurants and about 15 minutes or so walk from the Ponte Vecchio. Donatella recommended a few restaurants to us and the two that we tried were superb. Wonderful food, good prices.
It was great to stay somewhere comfortable, friendly & quiet - yet so close to all the sights that we wanted to see in Florence. We would recommend B&B Monte Oleto to anyone. Thank-you Donatella for helping to make our trip so memorable !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We loved our stay here. We only had the 2 of us but we had the upstairs loft. very roomy and a WONDERFUL mattress. After all the nights of sleeping on two bed together, we found it hard to leave the one at Donnatella's house. She was a wonderful hostess and very friendly and willing to help with what we needed. Located away from the hustle but close enough to walk to it all. It's on a nice quiet side street with parking for our car.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in the Wisteria room at the beginning of September. Donatella and her daughter Marta are very welcoming and take a keen interest in making your visit to Florence as enjoyable as they can with advice, maps, ticket booking etc. The house is beautiful, spotlessly clean and an easy walk (within 20 mins) to every church, museum, garden etc. The road is very quiet so sleep is not disturbed at all. We also walked to and from the train station easily. Breakfast was served on the patio, all freshly made by Donatella. It is her home and does not feel like an impersonal hotel. Thank you Donatella and family, we had a wonderful stay. Highly recommended to everyone looking for a piece of real Italy!

Room Tip: Wisteria had a lovely balcony overlooking the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveandMelanie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed for a week in the Wisteria (Glicine) room which was a good choice with the outside area to relax - might look at the Mansard room for next time.

Donatella and Nicolo are a charming couple and very welcoming. Excellent breakfasts on all days and it was good to be able to speak with other guests and get ideas for places to see and things to do.

It is a decentish walk into the centre - 10-15 minutes but it is an interesting area to stay in with good restaurants nearby. Next time I shall take a closer look at the bus system which is always an option.

Recommendations: try I Raddi in Via del'Ardiglione for lunch or dinner; Al Tranvai in Piazza Torquato Tasso was as good as last time; Sabatino down by the Porta San Frediano is very reasonable and local - amazing to think that you can see this gate very clearly in one of Filippo Lippi's paintings in Santo Spirito; Il Santino (next to Il Santo Bevitore) near Ponte Carraia is rather charming for a light bite and glass of wine; Napoleone in Piazza del Carmine good on a Saturday evening; Alla Vecchia Bettola for an evening meal. Best recommendation is La Sorbettiera gelateria in Piazza T Tasso - very steady flow of customers - try the pesca briaca and also a 'mattonella' small brick which I did not see anywhere else.

You get the general idea - I am sure we will be back next year.

Room Tip: good descriptions on website - if you are booking online through Venere for example please be aware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Il Giglio d'Oro
#3 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Santa Croce
La Maison du Sage
La Maison du Sage
#4 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#5 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Fiorenza B&B
#2 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Monte Oliveto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Monte Oliveto

Property: B&B Monte Oliveto
Address: Via Domenico Burchiello,67 | San Frediano - Oltrarno, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Monte Oliveto 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This house is not a hotel, there are no numbers on the doors, not on the rooms keys. You won't find a reception nor waiters in uniform. At Monte Oliveto you don't stay.......You Live! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your B&B Monte Oliveto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing