We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!”
Review of Hotel Leopolda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Leopolda
Ranked #266 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have had sleepless nights, one with mosquitoes buzzing around and biting us and the other with the reception staff which I believe is the owners wife (it seems to be a family run business) talking and laughing so loud it woke us up at 00:30. The breakfast is very basic and every morning we get offered coffee and without fail we have to ask for something that has run out, like milk or yogurt. The last morning 'the wife' didn't offer us coffee because said she was too busy ... Well enough said. We didn't complain about the sleepless nights nor about the miserable breakfast nor the rubbish water pressure so not sure why we would get this treatment. Never coming back to this hotel again which is sad because we really enjoyed Florence and it's not good to leave on a negative.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Techiesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel was clean, comfortable and within walking distance of the city.The information and help we were given to ensure a memorable visit to the city was truly priceless.The restaurant suggestions saved us time and money.Our rooms were clean and spacious.We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britfrompitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have traveled around Europe and have never found hospitality before like Marisa and Patrizia showed my group. The hotel was clean and well located in Florence. The breakfast was great and I enjoyed the morning café. The owners take an active role in their business and work incredible hard to make sure you enjoy your stay in the hotel and in the city. I cannot recommend this hotel enough to people traveling throughout Italy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

When I arrived at 10:30 pm, I was greeted by a sweet lady who showed me my lovely, cool, spacious, very clean room. She thought I didn't want breakfast but in fact TRIPADVISOR had proposed only the room - and I said I felt a bit disappointed that breakfast wasn't included and she IMMEDIATELY proposed me to come for coffee and sweets in the morning.
The area is quiet, the hotel is clean, PATRIZIA, the hotel administrator is WONDERFUL and you feel like you've come to family to visit.
THANK YOU

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We arrived in florence at 00h30 and the lady at the reception had wait for us even if we reserved a room in this hotel at the very last moment without paying before. The staf was nice, big room and very clean. 10 to 15 minutes from the center town by feet.
Only one bad thing: the room are not well isolated so we can hear some noises from people in hotel and street. Not a big problem for some people. For other, bring earplugs.

However, I really recommend it.

Room Tip: if possible, don't pik the room with windows on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

It's a 20-25 minute walk or a 2 euro bus to the centre of Florence, well away from the tourist areas. Very quiet, easy to sleep in.

The very helpful manager gave us a map and all te information we needed to get around. That was of great help.

The room (number 23) was the largest room I've seen, the king sized bed was comfortable but it was two mattresses, not very romantic. There's no safe or tea / coffee making facilities but it is great basic accommodation.

Wifi signal was very week on the 2nd level but the good news is there is a lift! We also were very surprised to find an award winning restaurant just a block away with fantastic wine, service and great food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This hotel covers your basic needs in a friendly manner. It is laid out on various floors in an apartment building. The family that runs the hotel is very attentive and goes out of their way to make sure that you have anything you need. It takes about 30 minutes to walk to the center of the city, but you can take a taxi for a few euros or the public bus. There are restaurants nearby if you want to stay close to "home" for a meal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkygrl422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#159 of 410 in Florence
313 reviews
Albergo Sonia
#292 of 410 in Florence
149 reviews
Careggi
#191 of 410 in Florence
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#300 of 410 in Florence
242 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Centro
Hotel Centro
#313 of 410 in Florence
328 reviews
Soggiorno Michelangelo
#285 of 410 in Florence
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leopolda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leopolda

Address: Via del Ponte Alle Mosse 65, 50144, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £48 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leopolda 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Leopolda, a three stars category Hotel, is located in a XVIII century's ancient building, bordering the down-town of Florence. Hotel Leopolda is located just only at 15 minutes by walk from the Railway Stn. Of Santa Maria Novella or just only at 4 minutes by bus n° 17, (bus stop just in front of main exit of Railway Stn. Ask to the bus driver for the 2nd bus stop of Via delle Porte Nuove). Hotel Leopolda has been lovingly restored in 2003 by Vivoli family in a quite and comfortable Hotel, offering You large and spacious rooms uncommon in modern hotel.The owners, Marisa and Patrizia, and all of the staff, grant to the Hotel Leopolda the right place to Your staying in Florence for both tourism and business.Hotel Leopolda is also the right place to stay during the exhibitions in "Stazione Leopolda", just 5 minutes walk, or in "Fortezza da Basso", headquarter for all of Pitti fashion's exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Leopolda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing