We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!”
Review of Hotel Leopolda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Leopolda
Ranked #268 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hotel Leopolda's great service made our stay in Florence valuable.

At the check in, a nice and friendly lady provide us good information on where to go, how to get around, what to eat and so on.
She was very busy at the moment but so kind to print out our tickets for museums.
We can't thank enough.

We hope to stay at Hotel Leopolda again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shu111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Leopolda last month. It was Pasqua (Easter weekend) and the festivities in Firenze were very well complemented by our comfortable stay. The room was spacious, with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean and roomy, not congested with unnecessary things. The provision of toiletries and towels was ample, and the room was cleaned everyday.

Maurizio is an excellent host. Very patient and spends time to know his guests and help them out in any way required. The breakfast is appropriate enough, a grand spread was not to be expected.

The only drawback is that it is not in the center of Florence. Just a little bit of a walk from the city center, about 20 minutes. In any case one would be walking around Florence to see the big sights, so this is not such a big deal. The tram and bus connections are convenient as well.

Overall, in line with the earlier reviews for this one, a highly recommended hotel for a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikhil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

the family of the hotel is the most sincere, nice i met in Italy. They are very very nice to give us the satisfaction for everything in Florence. the hotel is not so big, but very very comfortable. Smiling, Sincere and good service are the best in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Seven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Hotel Leopolda was such a wonderful hotel. This bed and breakfast was everything one can hope for. The owners were so friendly and accommodating, the rooms had a "homey" feel. I stayed with three other friends and we all had no complaints. Hotel Leopolda was about a fifteen minute walk from Santa Maria Novella Train Station, so no complaints about location. The owners spoke fluent English which was a plus side, and were always available. If I ever come back to Florence, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAybeeee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel. It was the best place I stayed at while studying abroad in Europe. It's run by a cute Italian family which makes it feel very homely. I felt very safe and I went there with three of my friends. This hotel is not far from the center of the city. My friends and I walked everywhere from the hotel. I loved the owner, he was really sweet and I enjoyed speaking Italian to him :) Just like home!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel Leopolda for 2 nights and it was about a 15 minute walk from the train station, but it was completely worth it because the staff was so friendly and amazing. They gave us maps and circled all the main places to visit in the city. They also gave us a printed copy of the names of places to eat and visit. They made our stay very comfortable and I would definitely stay here again. The room we stayed in was for 4 people and there was a queen size bed, 2 twin size beds, a bathroom and free wifi in the room. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a school group touring Italy. This was the second hotel of the trip and although not as new as the first one, it was just as clean. I'll base the comparison on American hotels but only so those that are coming from America have something to compare it to, the rating will not be based on the comparison.
The room was nice, not large but not tiny, and was clean with access to wi-fi. The elevator in the hotel is very tiny, like 2 people and two suitcases completely filled every inch tiny, but at least it had one. There were 3 items that made this hotel someplace I might not stay at again. First was the access from the bus. Supposedly the only place you can load and unload is about an 1/8 mile from the hotel so then you have to walk the distance dragging your luggage along a broken sidewalk. The second thing was the very limited continental breakfast. No meat or cheese, just some pre-package biscotti and toast with a small amount of cake and pie. The biggest draw back was the one cup of cold cappuccino each. We stayed there two nights and both mornings said something about the cold drink. When I realized what was causing it on the second morning, it was the time between frothing the milk and adding it, I asked for just an espresso and was told only one drink per guest. The woman that ran the breakfast each morning didn't seem too happy to be doing so and that might have contributed to her attitude. The other younger woman that was there seemed friendly enough. So based on those items I would say it would be a toss up as to whether I stayed there again. I would probably look at other hotels in the area first to see what they had to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fyrfyter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelleopolda, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Leopolda, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Fyrfyter12,

All of the Staff in Hotel Leopolda thank You a lot for staying with us in our room n°5

We appreciated that You found our room n° 5, (as well as all of our rooms),:

“... room was nice...”
“... was clean ...”
“... with access to wi-fi. ...” we rember You that our WiFi is free of charge !!!

We appreciated that You noticed the elevator in our Hotel.
Of course, our NEW elevator has been installed and built for a Hotel as our with 14 rooms. Anyhow, as You write, it is enough for “... 2 people and two suitcases ...” .

Regarding the acces from the bus, we wish to remember You that Florence is an old city and is very well known in all over the world as the home of Renaissance, therefore also our streets are not so large as Yours and is not so easy to find a free Bus parking just in front to our Hotel, but this is possible at just 100 meters from our Hotel, inside the yellow line reserved to the bus. ( limited time 15 minutes).

Please consider that our Hotel is just on the border of Florence's pedestrian area, this allows to all of our guests arriving by Bus, as well as Your Group, to walk for just only 100 meters.

If You walked with Your trolley for 1/8 miles, really, we dont know where Your Bus Driver brought You !!!.

We let You know that Guests having a Hotel inside the pedestrian area are obliged to park bus outside of it and they have to walk with trolley for a long distance.

Regarding the breakfast we inform You that our breakfast is a “...continental breakfast” and doesn't includes, as very well know from all of Tour Operator working with the Students groups as Yours, meat or cheese.

Infact, all of Tour Operator working with the Students groups as Yours, inform the Hotels, if a Student's Group require a “stronger Breakfast” with a selection of cheese and meet. Of course, the rate for each person is higher.
We inform You that no any request for a “stronger breakfast” we received from Your Tour Operator.

Anyhow we wish to remember that You enjoyed with our Buffet breakfast including :

Selection of Biscuits
Selection of Cakes
Selection of Jams
Selection of Toast
Corn Flakes
Butter
Selection of Fruit Juices
One Hot drink included per Guest at their choice between: Espresso, Chocolate, Tea, Cappuccino

This is, as You write, a breakfast and not a lunch or dinner.

Second Hot drink, for Student's group, is charged on room's bill. ( Espresso on our price-list is Euro 1,50 while Cappuccino is Euro 2,00).


Since one year we have been obliged to charge the second drink to the Student group due Students and their Staff asking, in the past, 2-3 more cups each one of hot drinks free of charge.

We are very well know for our friendly/professional service, room's cleaning etc.etc. and thank to Guest's reviews on Trip Advisor we received The Certificate of Excellence 2013.

The accolade, which honours hospitality excellence, is given only to establishments that consistently achieve outstanding traveller reviews on TripAdvisor, and is extended to qualifying businesses worldwide. Only the top-performing 10 per cent of businesses listed on TripAdvisor receive this prestigious award.

Therefore, maybe, You misunderstood the feeling of lady that ran the breakfast each morning when she informed You about the charging of second hot drink, that we rember You just only at the cost of Euro 1,50 for each Espresso !!!

Hotel Leopolda is small but with a lot of opportunities in order to give 100% service to the guests.

Wishing You a nice trip back to home we are,

Yours Faithfully

Elisa Scali
Hotel Leopolda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Albergo Sonia
#290 of 410 in Florence
152 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#157 of 410 in Florence
320 reviews
Careggi
#190 of 410 in Florence
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soggiorno Michelangelo
#287 of 410 in Florence
54 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enza
Hotel Enza
#248 of 410 in Florence
312 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#176 of 410 in Florence
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leopolda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leopolda

Address: Via del Ponte Alle Mosse 65, 50144, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £38 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leopolda 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Leopolda, a three stars category Hotel, is located in a XVIII century's ancient building, bordering the down-town of Florence. Hotel Leopolda is located just only at 15 minutes by walk from the Railway Stn. Of Santa Maria Novella or just only at 4 minutes by bus n° 17, (bus stop just in front of main exit of Railway Stn. Ask to the bus driver for the 2nd bus stop of Via delle Porte Nuove). Hotel Leopolda has been lovingly restored in 2003 by Vivoli family in a quite and comfortable Hotel, offering You large and spacious rooms uncommon in modern hotel.The owners, Marisa and Patrizia, and all of the staff, grant to the Hotel Leopolda the right place to Your staying in Florence for both tourism and business.Hotel Leopolda is also the right place to stay during the exhibitions in "Stazione Leopolda", just 5 minutes walk, or in "Fortezza da Basso", headquarter for all of Pitti fashion's exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Leopolda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing