We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel comforts with the warmth of a home run B&B”
Review of Locanda dei Poeti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda dei Poeti
Ranked #17 of 650 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel comforts with the warmth of a home run B&B”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Martina is very responsive and helpful. We arrived about an hour earlier than informed and Martina's father-in-law, who runs the store next door, saw us outside. He let us in to wait and called her so she came quickly to attend to us. The front desk at the Locanda is not manned all the time, but they are quickly available if you need them.
The whole place especially our room smells so nice that we didn't feel like leaving. It is well kept and tastefully decorated, a lot of love and thought has been put into the place. The room was big, toilet was a good size. There were many towels and proper toiletries provided - somewhat hotel-style. The TV had cable provided as well.
We had a choice of 3 cafes for breakfast. Mignon was the best and a lovely place to visit, as recommended by Martina.
The Locanda is quite near the train station if you head down the right road. It is in the Mercato Centrale / San Lorenzo market district and may feel a bit dodgy at night, but is actually perfectly safe. The Accademia is 10min walk away, and the Duomo just a little more down from there.
In all, Martina is a generous and welcoming host and the Locanda is a great place to come home to.

Room Tip: We had the room facing the street, one level above the front desk. It was good, spacious. Didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qiao O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    140
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
83
370
37
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Fiquei no quarto single que é pequeno mas atendeu perfeitamente às minhas necessidades. O B&B é muito bem localizado: perto da estação de trem e de várias atrações. O restaurante em frente (infelizmente não me lembro o nome) é muito bom, mas há uma gama de lugares com comida deliciosa na região. Muito tranquilo e silencioso! Recomendo!
I stayed in the single room which is small but perfectly met my needs. The B & B is very well located: close to the train station and various attractions. The restaurant across the street (unfortunately I can not remember the name) is very good, but there are a range of places with delicious food in the region. Very peaceful and quiet! Recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drica_from_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I came across a comment by someone working in Florence, who put her parents in this B&B. That convinced me to stay here and was not disappointed. We stayed for 3 days and slept in the room close to the street. Florence stays busy till 2-3 AM, but the street noise did not bother us. Our room had ample space, traditional ambience and the toilet/bathroom was roomy and sparkling clean. The center was walking distance and Martina gave us a map and showed on the map on how do to a walking tour, recommended places to see, eat and do. Just ask her, she will be willing to show you. We took it, too, because it was close to the train station (SMN), less than 5 mins walk, since we took the speed train from Rome to Florence.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bong O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at Locanda dei Poeti for one week during June 2013. The trip incorporated a visit to Mugello race track for the Moto GP and then four days exploring the city. Overall, it was a fantastic trip. It was a shame Valentino Rossi fell on the first lap - but that's racing.

Locanda is located within five minutes walk of the city centre. So, expect the hustle and bustle that goes with it. Ear plugs will be required if you have a room over-looking the street.

Although described as bed and breakfast, the breakfast aspect is fairly limited. However, each floor has its own kitchenette for tea, coffee and light meals. We managed to make our own breakfast each day. We found this added flexibility much more suitable.

We do not normally take holidays in the city. However, Florence is a worthy exception. The city is safe, fascinating and offers English speaking service almost everywhere. There are restaurants to suit everyone.

That said, I can't imagine this is a place to visit if you are not fully mobile. People in wheel chairs will be disadvantaged in Florence.

A return visit in 2014 is already planned and the flights are booked!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights here in September and were really impressed. We were in the Japan/East room (or something like that, I can't quite remember) which was spacious and airy. Downsides were a very low bed that could be a struggle to get out of and facing onto the street which we found a bit noisy. But what made this was the hostess, who welcomed us and then helped us get booked for two fantastic restaurants for dinner, recommended a great place for lunch and got us a booking for the Ufizzi the following day as well. Tremendous! And made even better with the free wifi. Only downside was it being a bit noisy but otherwise, fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburghdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Mediteranian room in this B&B and we totally love the freedom and homey feeling it provides. There is a kitchen at each level and we are able to cook or make our tea and expresso freely. There are always snacks provided in case we get hungry.

On top of the free wifi, there is a PC located at the common area. Best of all, it comes with a card reader slot where I could upload my photos into dropbox everyday.

Martina, our host, is very friendly and helpful. I can see the effort put in to make this place romantic, poetic and comfortable for guests. It really feels like home!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammiSkyward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I ended our trip to Italy in Florence and stayed at Locanda dei Poeti. Although, we were so close to everything as all the other reviewers state, this was a wonderful little retreat from it all. Being the end of our stay we were worn out and the city was a little to busy for us but with our wonderful room to go back to it made everything much more tolerable. Martina was a fantastic hostess who was there to help in any way she could. She made great recommendations on where to go and where to eat. If you are like my husband and I and can only take so much of the city and the hustle bustle of the market don't miss the gardens just a short walk from this B&B. We meandered through them for hours on our last day and enjoyed the quietness and the sculptural art throughout. I highly recommend this B&B because of it's location, ease of access and thoughtful hostess.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavenTamiNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#8 of 412 in Florence
942 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 412 in Florence
794 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#32 of 412 in Florence
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 412 in Florence
1,146 reviews
San Lorenzo
Glance Hotel In Florence
Glance Hotel In Florence
#22 of 412 in Florence
204 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#16 of 650 in Florence
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda dei Poeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda dei Poeti

Property: Locanda dei Poeti
Address: Via Guelfa 74, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 650 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Locanda dei Poeti was founded with the idea of creating in the historic center of Florence a unique place to stay in Florence, a short walk from the train station of Santa Maria Novella, in the heart of the neighborhood to the old San Lorenzo Market, a stone’s throw from the Duomo of Florence. Within a structure of 1400 tastefully renovated, the bed and breakfast offers a warm and cozy atmosphere both in the typical Tuscan decor is in welcoming staff that we reserve for our customers. The B&B Locanda dei Poeti is located in the historic center of Florence. All the famous sights of Florence are within easy to put foot Academy Gallery, Basilica of San Lorenzo, Piazza della Signoria, Palazzo Vecchio, Galleria degli Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio and Palazzo Pitti are just some of the places within the area all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Locanda dei Poeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing