We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting. . . but not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
italhotels ginori al duomo
Ranked #251 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting. . . but not bad”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We just stayed at this hotel over the Easter Holiday 2012. Upon our arrival, we found out that they had over-booked and sent us to another hotel (weirdly, the Hotel California and our cab driver looked like Don Henley) for the night. That hotel was fine, but just an inconvenience and just added to the annoyance. When we came back to this hotel, our room wasn't ready yet (and wasn't for another hour). O.k., well, they put my mom and sister in the room next to the reception desk as my mother is older and there is no lift in this hotel. We were down the hall. They promised the room by reception would be quiet, but of course was far from it. The door was quite thin and of course the phone calls/buzzer and the breakfast setup was loud each day. I personally loved when the reception person was on the phone speaking in Italian and then made a comment about "Americans -- Blah Yuck". Gee, that was nice to hear.

The wi-fi was not very strong, as another reviewer stated and I had to go to another room to get it.

The breakfast was very good and the location was excellent -- close to markets.

I would recommend the restaurant Za-Za's that is only 2 blocks away as a reasonable and great place to eat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 981SusanB981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    183
    77
    36
    47
See reviews for
119
279
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Excellent location and although there was a slight problem at first when we arrived, the Manager more than made up for this and was very helpful in many ways, I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel for a wonderful stay.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Evans33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My Gran and I stayed here last summer and we have no complaints. The Staff were good-particularly the maid at breakfast time (sadly I don't remember her name). The only real issue is the lack of lift. This was ok for me but my Gran had to have a rest half way up the stairs to our room. For that reason, I wouldn't recommend it to any one infirm or very unfit.

It's hardly the lap luxury but he hotel has loads of character and is steeped in history and the rooms are comfortable and clean. It's at the heart of the city and is easily accessible from the train station. I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a room away form the street as they are very noisey at all hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

the staff were so friendly and accomodating, we had a great stay and ended up staying a week. Good location, great food (with the added wine cellar) and wonderful hospitality. Would reccomend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warzasaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe D, Direttore at italhotels ginori al duomo, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Cliente La ringraziamo per il tempo a noi dedicato , speriamo con i suoi consigli di migliorare sempre piu' la nostra struttura. grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The staff was so frriendly and so helpful . Also since traveling alone felt that they were protective and concerned about my safety. When I arrived late back at the hotel after going to Assi the manager was outside looking for me as another person had called him and told him I was on my way but had missed my train. The breakfast offered cereal which is a comfort food and also prunes ( did I mention I am over 60 and prunes are also much appreciated.) They carried my luggage to and from the room I would stay here again, in addition the location is perfect to walking the old city. The rooms are clean and the windows large which draws in much sunlight.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe D, Direttore at italhotels ginori al duomo, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Cliente La ringraziamo per il tempo a noi dedicato , speriamo con i suoi consigli di migliorare sempre piu' la nostra struttura. grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Overall this was a good hotel. It's location was on a quiet street but extremely close to the center of the action. It is a very ancient building so the walls are paper thin. The time that I was there they had a serious leakage in a room right across the hall, so they had to do major restoration one day that was very loud and went on the entire day. The manager was apologetic and offered to let me sample some wine in the cellar that evening, but never followed up. Internet was good but only on the floor where the couch was located in a general area. It's advertised as wireless throughout the hotel. However, it didn't work in my room or anywhere else EXCEPT the couch area. Breakfast is available from 8-9:30 only. It would be nice to offer it from 7:30-10:00 so that for early departures it's available. It was an average breakfast selection. Inside my room when you had the bathroom light on, there was a loud noise. It would be lovely to have this corrected if possible, but with it being an old building, not sure if it's just the way it is.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duomovi, Direttore at italhotels ginori al duomo, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
thank you for your time, sorry for all things are not perfect , but anyway we are satisfied for your review. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The location is fantastic, once you find the place that is. However no lift but sometimes you can be lucky to get help with your luggage. The building is beautiful. The rooms are basic. Perfect place to sleep but not for much else. Bathroom could do with a bit of renovation. It is very small. The is no mini bar and complementary water is tap water. There is free wifi though which is a bonus and the mattress is comfy. Walking distance to most areas including the major bus terminal.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bforbubbles89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Croce di Malta Hotel
Croce di Malta Hotel
#168 of 412 in Florence
752 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#85 of 412 in Florence
457 reviews
Park Palace Hotel
#158 of 412 in Florence
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Glance Hotel In Florence
Glance Hotel In Florence
#22 of 412 in Florence
200 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#110 of 412 in Florence
710 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#233 of 412 in Florence
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to italhotels ginori al duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about italhotels ginori al duomo

Property: italhotels ginori al duomo
Address: Via De' Ginori 22/24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Florence
#110 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — italhotels ginori al duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ginori Al Duomo and 'a boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city' in a pedestrian zone around the Duomo, the hotel offers special rooms renovated completamanete each other with antique furniture, the hotel also offers a garden where you can taste fine wines from the same cellar The most important point of hotel is the space garden with the pool, jacuzzi bath and solarium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your italhotels ginori al duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginori Al Duomo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing