We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not brilliant, not terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Home Florence
Ranked #86 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Not brilliant, not terrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Hotel Home was a so-so experience. The design is not bad, a lot of white, sometimes slightly over the top, but a really ok hotel. Rooms are tiny and certainly past their glorious times. Ours was very noisy and sound proofing non existent.
Location slightly off track, but the city center is in walking distance in any case.
Breakafast nothing to write home about, discount quality, lacking choice and staff clearly lacking motivation.
On the bright side - the rates are very reasonable.
If you need a bed in an ok hotel and don't intend to spend any time on the premises, this may be yours.

Room Tip: Don't take a room towards the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montgolfier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    227
    78
    48
    20
See reviews for
51
357
29
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2013, booked using a voucher which gave us a lovely 'romance' package - room and breakfast, flowers and fruit, and a bottle of champagne.

The hotel is very stylish, with designer details everywhere in white, and plentiful food and drinks - the breakfast in particular was wonderful, with a huge variety of tasty treats, and a friendly chef who can whip up hot food, coffee and fresh orange juice in a flash.

It wasn't a very long walk into the centre of the town (even in the pouring rain!) and we enjoyed being able to walk along the river with a view of the Ponte Vecchio.

The staff were extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for us. I think March is fairly quite season tourist-wise, and the hotel felt quiet, too - although this meant that one evening we had the balcony area to ourselves and played pool while we drank our champagne, which was great fun.

The room and en-suite bathroom were well cleaned every day and the towels were fresh and fluffy.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our room was a little on the small side, with the bed taking up most of the main area. If you like p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiaBuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

This hotel is beautiful designed and has such a good attention to detail. It is still friendly and informal. Food is amazing. The staff are incredibly helpful and professional. We had a problem with our booking, through the travel agents and not the hotel. They gave us coffee and cake and sorted out another hotel for one night as they were fully booked. And then they took us round to the hotel. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I have stayed in a huge amount of hotels around the world and this is one of my favourites. They even has Sky TV, which you could swap into english - amazing. Plus free wifi.

Room Tip: the single room had everything you needed in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

What do I mean by rogue parking? I mean it's illegal and hotel staff has given up doing anything about it. When we parked our car in the public parking area in front of the hotel we noticed several African immigrant men hanging around the lot. They were not official parking lot attendants but demanded money. My husband feared that the car would be damaged if we declined. At first the hotel staff were dismissive about our concerns but finally one brave young staffer shared the information that even though police had been called many times,they never came and these guys continued to operate with impunity.It appears to be the norm in some cities that a driver is intimidated in handing over money where legally none is required.
As for the hotel: Oh goody, free minibar! I thought. But how I had to laugh when we discovered that the minbar held only 3 items: water, a Fanta and a Coke.
Bathroom badly designed. Bed OK. The all white decor seemed pretentious to us. But the included breakfast was a true feast.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BulleWatervilleMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Great design very white and minimalist - staff is extremely helpful - the breakfast is very decent

Room was outstanding more than I had initially expected

View from the room is outstanding top floor with a hot tub on the roof

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremycph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

This modern, clean and efficient hotel is at a great location to walk to the cathedral area. The staff was helpful, the breakfast was generous. I would definetely recommend this hotel for business or pleasure

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagar d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
170 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Pretty nice hotel located by the river Arno. All decoration and details are white. Good breakfast (you can ask for freshly squeezed orange juice) and excellent staff always very helpful. It is not that central but with a short walk (10-15 mins) you can reach the center. Rooms are nicely decorated even though a bit tiny and the air hearing system rather noisy at night (I eventually chose to switch it off). Nice bathroom with a rain forest shower, however the box half open although being stylish is not that convenient since lot of water is spilling outside and the floor ends up completely wet. I was travelling for my business on my own, maybe 2 people would find the room a bit too small. There is free wifi available in all rooms. Overall I really liked it and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fijitime71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#94 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#55 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#62 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#114 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Home Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Home Florence

Property: Hotel Home Florence
Address: Piazza Piave 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Home Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Home Florence Hotel, nice and cozy villa just by Florence downtown! White though apparently pure and simple is the color including all the other colors. When crossing crystal a white light beam turns out into a rainbow unveiling its hidden complexity. At Home Florence you can experience the same shy and composite sophistication. Modern design characterized by pure and perfect elements sweetly melts with the elegance of an historical Florentine palace. The result is an harmonious balance of lounges and decors where white with golden details is the predominant color.Home Florence is located along the Arno River in the very heart of Florence historical center, close by the main tourist attractions of the city such as Basilica di Santa Croce, Ponte Vecchio, Duomo di Santa Maria del Fiore and Uffizi Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Home Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing