We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay at Hotel Home Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Home Florence
Ranked #90 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ok stay at Hotel Home Florence”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our 2-night stay with the hotel was ok and could have been better. The taxi from the Firenze SMN train station took about 10-15 mins to get to the hotel. The hotel’s white look was as advertised, from the walls to the furniture. The dining area looked great with its all white furnishings. It all went downhill when we checked in our room on the first floor. As soon as we entered, it smelled of fresh paint. TV service was supposed to include premium channels but the cable wire wasn’t even plugged into the cable box. I notified reception about it and I was told that they would contact a technician to have it looked at and installed. Needless to say, the tech never came so we were reduced to watching Italian shows with no English option. Mind you, our stays in Rome had premium cable service with English options so I found this off-putting. As we were about to go to sleep, the room suddenly reeked of cigarette smoke. We found this strange because the windows were closed and it seemed like it was coming from the air conditioning. I called reception and the guy comes into the room and tells me that he didn’t smell anything. I didn’t want to call the guy a liar because it was so evident that there was a smell. He kept telling us that it couldn’t be smoke because there is no smoking in the hotel. Thank you, Mr. Obvious. Suffice to say, our room situations left a bad taste in our mouths. Continental breakfast was just ok. I would think twice booking with the hotel again and recommending it to others. C rating.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flipluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavio_Ottanelli, Direttore generale at Hotel Home Florence, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear guest, thank you for staying at Home Florence and for writing your review that is very useful to us in order to understand our guests’ point of view and keep on improving. We are very sorry and sincerely apologize for any inconvenient you may have suffered during your stay. We really hope you’ll be back one day for a definitely better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    232
    84
    48
    21
See reviews for
56
375
29
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The small hotel is located not too far from the University library, along the Arno river. Three floors, some thirty rooms.
Easy walk to main squares and monuments (quarter of an hour), in a green area.
Modern design decoration, natural wooden floors, natural textiles, white oversize furniture.
The room is a little small.
Very pleasant breakfast with special juices, home made biscuits and cakes, salty appetizers.
Staff is friendly and available.
Internet very slow,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lapatriarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavio_Ottanelli, Direttore generale at Hotel Home Florence, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing us and for taking your time to share your experience at Home Florence Hotel.
We are glad to know we were able to satisfy your expectations.
We would be really happy to have the opportunity to show you other kinds of room such as the Deluxe or Prestige, bigger than the Classic ones. We hope to welcome you again at Home Florence Hotel soon!
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for 3 nights during a trip to Italy and had a good experience. The hotel is very modern and has a cool design, but it's still typical European - not great shower, small room, etc. The breakfast was great, and they offered us coffee when we arrived early afternoon. The fitness center was small but adequate.
The walk to 'downtown' Florence was about 10 minutes, and wasn't too much of a burden. The hotel is on the river, so we would often walk along the river to get to the center of town.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Florence a little bit outside the city center.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavio_Ottanelli, Direttore generale at Hotel Home Florence, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Jessica
Thank you for sharing your experience, your feedback is very important to us.
We are glad to know you enjoyed and appreciated your stay at Home Florence Hotel.
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potenza, Italia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Nice stay at the hotel for 1 night in May 2013. Everything is white and it looks really nice.
Comfortable bed - Sky TV available.
The shower is open and after it the water was going out from the bath but excpet this all the rest is perfect.
Very good breakfast with very tasty cakes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josiowolny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavio_Ottanelli, Direttore generale at Hotel Home Florence, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear guest,
we thank you for your reference and compliments. We are happy to read that your stay in our hotel has been nice and comfortable and that you appreciated our breakfast so much.
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Hotel Home was a so-so experience. The design is not bad, a lot of white, sometimes slightly over the top, but a really ok hotel. Rooms are tiny and certainly past their glorious times. Ours was very noisy and sound proofing non existent.
Location slightly off track, but the city center is in walking distance in any case.
Breakafast nothing to write home about, discount quality, lacking choice and staff clearly lacking motivation.
On the bright side - the rates are very reasonable.
If you need a bed in an ok hotel and don't intend to spend any time on the premises, this may be yours.

Room Tip: Don't take a room towards the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montgolfier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2013, booked using a voucher which gave us a lovely 'romance' package - room and breakfast, flowers and fruit, and a bottle of champagne.

The hotel is very stylish, with designer details everywhere in white, and plentiful food and drinks - the breakfast in particular was wonderful, with a huge variety of tasty treats, and a friendly chef who can whip up hot food, coffee and fresh orange juice in a flash.

It wasn't a very long walk into the centre of the town (even in the pouring rain!) and we enjoyed being able to walk along the river with a view of the Ponte Vecchio.

The staff were extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for us. I think March is fairly quite season tourist-wise, and the hotel felt quiet, too - although this meant that one evening we had the balcony area to ourselves and played pool while we drank our champagne, which was great fun.

The room and en-suite bathroom were well cleaned every day and the towels were fresh and fluffy.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our room was a little on the small side, with the bed taking up most of the main area. If you like p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiaBuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pai
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This hotel is beautiful designed and has such a good attention to detail. It is still friendly and informal. Food is amazing. The staff are incredibly helpful and professional. We had a problem with our booking, through the travel agents and not the hotel. They gave us coffee and cake and sorted out another hotel for one night as they were fully booked. And then they took us round to the hotel. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I have stayed in a huge amount of hotels around the world and this is one of my favourites. They even has Sky TV, which you could swap into english - amazing. Plus free wifi.

Room Tip: the single room had everything you needed in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#95 of 411 in Florence
858 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#55 of 411 in Florence
2,157 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#60 of 411 in Florence
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cellai
Hotel Cellai
#86 of 411 in Florence
890 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 411 in Florence
1,130 reviews
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Home Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Home Florence

Property: Hotel Home Florence
Address: Piazza Piave 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Home Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Home Florence Hotel, nice and cozy villa just by Florence downtown! White though apparently pure and simple is the color including all the other colors. When crossing crystal a white light beam turns out into a rainbow unveiling its hidden complexity. At Home Florence you can experience the same shy and composite sophistication. Modern design characterized by pure and perfect elements sweetly melts with the elegance of an historical Florentine palace. The result is an harmonious balance of lounges and decors where white with golden details is the predominant color.Home Florence is located along the Arno River in the very heart of Florence historical center, close by the main tourist attractions of the city such as Basilica di Santa Croce, Ponte Vecchio, Duomo di Santa Maria del Fiore and Uffizi Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Home Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing