We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All well and good until they tried to charge us for the 'jacuzzi room' when no one had mentioned it being an extra charge.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Home Florence
Ranked #89 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All well and good until they tried to charge us for the 'jacuzzi room' when no one had mentioned it being an extra charge.”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

jacuzzi! £190-£120 hotel lovely breakfast ok but bread very small hard to toast. Slightly awkward sitting with strangers around a table for breakfast. Staff very informative about jacuzzi an made it out to be a big deal for them to fill and prepare as it takes 2 hours. I wouldn't be so apologetic if I knew it costs €190 and why would they moan so much about it you'd just get it done wouldn't you? We then reserved it a second time and said to leave the water in as we used it the night before it was an issue again to reserve it although we only wanted to watch the sun go down on the terrace as it was a good view. However not to our surprise the jacuzzi was empty we tried to fill it ourselves but didn't work so we just watched the sun go down and that was that. When we checked out in the morning James had a feeling that we would be charged for the jacuzzi as the booklet never mentioned any price but never mentioned it being free either. So the total for the 3 days stay city tax was €24 which is also ridiculas and then another €120 for the jacuzzi €148 for something we never knew we had to pay for. So I refused to pay it and the man behind the desk was very sarcastic in saying in response to my I wasn't informed of any price ' I don't think so Madame' although he knew himself that the 2 times I asked him he never said anything. So on I went to get him to call the manager who wasn't in who informed me that it's an extra room that they obviously need to charge for. So I said well not one price was mentioned the numerous times we asked to reserve it so how are we meant to know. Someone stayed an extra two hours to fill it. Would that matter if I was paying €190 for it? Why mention that? Why was it such a berdun to use. She then said sarcastically its our fault. Yes it is and ill wait here until its removed. I left the hotel only paying €24 city tax. Ruined my Florence experience

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathrynstevo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavio_Ottanelli, Direttore generale at Hotel Home Florence, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for staying at Home Florence. We are very sorry for the misunderstanding. Jacuzzi on the top floor is one of our best services, it is actually amazing since from up there you can enjoy a wonderful and romantic view of Florence. However his service is not free of charge and we are sorry if this was not clear. We apologize again for the inconvenience and hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    228
    82
    48
    20
See reviews for
53
369
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were really excited about this hotel because it looks super cute and we were specifically looking for a balcony. Unfortunately when we got there they told us they had a problem with our room and they had booked us elsewhere for at least one night but possibly our entire stay. The new hotel ended up being really nice (no balcony though). They were nice to us at the front desk but we were really annoyed about the cab situation. They bought us a cab to the new hotel but didn't tell the driver what hotel we were going to (thank goodness we wrote it down). He was advised to drop off us in the Piazza (not at the hotel). Not very professional. They never us told us what the issue was but my guess is they overbooked and we got bumped since we booked through a 3rd party. It's a shame because the hotel was super cute.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MIssjanetexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavio_Ottanelli, Direttore generale at Hotel Home Florence, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Jane,
Thanks for choosing Home Florence and for writing your feedback. We are sorry for the inconvenience but really we had technical problems with some rooms, and we had to accommodate our kind guests in another hotel. We sincerely apologize.
We hope to have another chance to welcome you in our hotel Home Florence! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A charming hotel, full of character and tastefully decorated. The hotel is situated within easy reach of the town's attractions. Friendly and very helpful staff made our weekend an overall very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ludwig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavio_Ottanelli, Direttore generale at Hotel Home Florence, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Ludwig,
Thank you for staying with us and for writing such a nice review! We look forward to welcoming you again. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Hi got back from Florence 1st June stayed at the Hotel Home, it was a lovely hotel rooms nice and plush,
grate breakfast and staff very helpful,
found Florence very expensive, we had a nice meal at Ciro and son, nice steak, service good not great but there was a lot of people this night, my son booked my wife and my self a meal at La Villa Vedetta, but it was spoilt we told the waiter my wife was Gluten free but the meal came out with gravy it still looked nice I wish we stayed and ate it, advise if you are eating out and not for a special occasion stick to the three squares. we are off to Cuba on Monday we will let you know what it was like, has any one been to the Sol palmeras

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RegandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavio_Ottanelli, Direttore generale at Hotel Home Florence, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for choosing our hotel and for writing your nice review! Waiting for you to come back and visit us! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed in this hotel for many days

Previous management used to appreciate the loyalty of the customers, but the new management is not happy with loyal customers

New management put prices up for 10-30 Euros which is significant difference if you are booking more than 3 rooms

Unfortunately us as a company will have to back up as for ourselves the price difference is significant

Even though our staff has always been happy to stay in this hotel, and I am quite sure that even some of them left great feedbacks, but for us as a company and business it is very important the appreciation of loyalty and regular business

However for couples and families this hotel is ideal, even though it is a bit far from center, but still it only 5 Min walk to Santa Croce, and maybe 10-15 minutes to Ufizi

Breakfast is good, but only if they are not busy or fully booked

I will be coming back as individual probably, but unfortunately as business we are not interested any more

Hope this feedback will help some readers to make up there minds and maybe will help management to review there business plan

Room Tip: great place to stay if you have cash to splash
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavio_Ottanelli, Direttore generale at Hotel Home Florence, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Alexis, thanks for keeping on choosing our hotel! Thanks also for writing your useful review. We are actually really used to take care of all our guests especially when they are repeaters! What you write sounds really weird! Do not hesitate to contact us directly for any kind of assistance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have been upgraded to the loft suite with terrasse! the view over Florence was amazing the bedroom was as usual very tidy and spacious!

The style is amazing, the bedding is very confortable, and the bathroom was outstanding!

Unfortunately the quality of the service decreased significantly with the new management and new staff, Indeed the breakfast buffet wasn't topped up quickly enough furthermore we asked to book for the mid season and the staff couldn't do any gesture as the management seems to not value our loyalty (in the last 2 years we spent more than 21 cumulated days in this hotel)

Overall it is a very good experience, and would definitely recommend this place for a romantique vacation in the amazing city of Florence!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Y D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavio_Ottanelli, Direttore generale at Hotel Home Florence, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest, We thank you for your loyalty and for your nice review! We promise that we do our best to satisfy all our guests and if they are loyal guests, even more! Waiting for you to come back for another superb stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#94 of 422 in Florence
825 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#56 of 422 in Florence
2,100 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#59 of 422 in Florence
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cellai
Hotel Cellai
#85 of 422 in Florence
878 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
772 reviews
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#50 of 422 in Florence
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Home Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Home Florence

Property: Hotel Home Florence
Address: Piazza Piave 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Home Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Home Florence Hotel, nice and cozy villa just by Florence downtown! White though apparently pure and simple is the color including all the other colors. When crossing crystal a white light beam turns out into a rainbow unveiling its hidden complexity. At Home Florence you can experience the same shy and composite sophistication. Modern design characterized by pure and perfect elements sweetly melts with the elegance of an historical Florentine palace. The result is an harmonious balance of lounges and decors where white with golden details is the predominant color.Home Florence is located along the Arno River in the very heart of Florence historical center, close by the main tourist attractions of the city such as Basilica di Santa Croce, Ponte Vecchio, Duomo di Santa Maria del Fiore and Uffizi Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Home Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing