We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tuscan Food, Atmosphere and Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Vecchia Firenze

Ristorante Vecchia Firenze
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Ristorante Vecchia Firenze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #513 of 2,660 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: US$22 - US$57
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Duomo
Description: The restaurant is located in a building built in the fourteenth century and inhabited by families known as the Pazzi, Frescobaldi, Guicciardini and Albizzi. Vasari ironically call "the Visacci" for the statues in bas-relief on the facade depicting illustrious Florentine men. The restaurant offers typical Tuscan cuisine with assortments of early imaginative, meat on the grill with the highlight of the "Bistecca Fiorentina" and a selection of wines always updated certainly lived up to the best tasting. Every Saturday and Sunday from 20.00 Dinner TASTING DIVINE. A menu 'always with new pairing each dish with a different wine from a winery selected among the best in Tuscany that we illustrate' everything 'that you should know about wine more' popular in the world.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Tuscan Food, Atmosphere and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We liked this restaurant and food so much, we dined there two evenings in a row. Certainly some of the best meals we had in Italy. The fixed menu choices are excellent and still give you many options to choose from for each course or you can pick things Ala carte. From the street, it does not look like much, but once you enter, it is quite large inside. Be sure to check out the courtyard, it is definitely the place to sit. Our waiter Luciano did a great job, and the owner, Paolo was very nice and had a great personality. It is also reasonably priced. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Semaphor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    240
    78
    37
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value Tuscan restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Like others we weren't too sure what to expect as from the outside it doesn't look up to much. We were pleasantly surprised as the food was excellent the staff friendly and the final bill very reasonable. The only downside was the house red wine. We should have paid a bit more as it was the only wine we didn't enjoy in Florence.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smithmimek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well executed Tuscan fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We eat here one or two times, every time we have an extended stay in Florence. It's classic Tuscan with a friendly vibe and comfortable setting. Lunch is the best value and don't be afraid to select a fixed menu--it's not so much the dreaded tourist menu as a great way to explore options for all courses in a way that works well together. Any of the grilled meats are a great choice and our daughter was crazy about the house tiramisu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigCityTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best value around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

My fourth trip to Florence in November, second with my wife, and we keep coming back to Vecchia Firenze since it ticks all the boxes. We went "vegan + fish" since our previous visit, so are exploring a whole new side of the menu, and have not been disappointed. I guess we ought to try somewhere else at least once to see if we're missing out on something by not paying 50% more elsewhere, I'd expect real Italian to be vastly superior to Texas Italian restaurants, but I can't see how this place can be beaten for value. I read some of the bad reviews with disbelief, convinced they'd mistaken it for somewhere else, but the decor is pretty unique, so guess they must slip up occasionally, maybe when too busy. But not happened to me in about 20 meals over 7 years.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kdysn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We Liked this place! Really cheap and tasty . Very cheerful stuff. Very good vine, nice interiors. The restaurant looks like old and traditional one, and not for tourists but for locals.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria-somik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Vecchia Firenze also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante Vecchia Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing