We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smack in the middle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Residenza della Signoria
Ranked #53 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
390 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Smack in the middle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

The accomodation is right in the middle of Florence. The room is fairly big, clean, cosy, quiet and it has nice old wooden ceiling. The accomodation was easy to find based on the instructions sent if you follow them closely. The access code worked fine and everything was just as described and promised. No breakfast is included but there are a couple of cafes (one is next door) where you can get breakfast for 3.50€ when you mention that you are a quest of the Residenza. Stefano is friendly and provides you with all information, tips and maps you need.

The best of all is the location. It is right next to the main street in the old town, only a 100m or so from Duomo and Uffizi. No time wasted for transportation and convenient to go back and take a rest when your feet start hurting.

It is not that far from the Santa Maria Novella railway station or SITA bus station so can easily walk the distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    59
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
51
211
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this lovely B&B during our 3 week stay in Italy. It's location is unbeatable - less than 5 mins walk to the Duomo and Uffizi. Less than 10 minutes walk to the Ponte Vecchio. Ideally located across the street from arguably the best gelato store in Florence (Perche No!). Quiet bedrooms (We stayed in the Junior Suite, Rm 7). Attentive and helpful staff! Two things I mention not as negatives but to help future travellers make the best decision for them - we found the mattress very firm - I liked it but my husband would have preferred it softer. Also, the towels are not like traditional towels - they aren't fluffy. They are more like dishcloths in consistency but they work well at drying you off and I've seen them in other European hotels and don't mind them.

All in all we loved our stay. The price was great and we would stay again!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DrS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May 2012 for our wedding anniversary. The room had an awesome view of the duomo on one side and the Palace on the other side!! They had a complementary half bottle of champagne in our room at check-in. Stefano was extremely helpful throughout our trip. We stayed for three nights and Stefano even booked our reservations for the Uffizi.

The location of this place was the best. It was so close to the main street/walkway between the Duomo and the Palace. The room was great, beautiful with a good amount of space and a great view.

I highly recommend this place and when we go back, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidJLNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

OK, to be honest I was a little skeptical of staying here. My boyfriend and I visited Florence during the holiday season, and other places were just soooo expensive. When I found this B&B at such a reasonable price, I was like ok, it's probably not going to be nice, but what the heck. It's not like we are going to spend a ton of time in the room anyway. I mean come on, we are in FLORENCE! We wanted to go out and discover the city... who cares what the room is like?

After a long Christmas Day flight, we arrived in Florence bus/train terminal. As excited as we were, it was cold and rainy, and started to downpour as soon as we got outside. Although my guy wanted to get a cab, I was like no way it's too expensive- let's walk! I know it's not that far. Haha- let's just say he was NOT happy, especially when we were dragging our suitcases down wet cobblestone streets, totally lost. We sheltered ourselves in a leather storefront while checking out the map again, when the incredibly nice Italian owner comes over and asks in very broken English if we would like some help. I pulled out my paperwork, showed it to him, and he literally points across the small narrow street. We made it- all on our own! Haha...

So we follow instructions, inputting the code the owner emailed when we booked, took the miniature elevator up to the third floor, only to enter another security code, and there they were waiting for us! The woman who assisted us (I forgot her name) was sooooo welcoming, and she couldn't wait to show us a map of all the sites her city has to offer.

This little place is totally in the center of the action of the city! Restaurants and stores right out your door. The room itself was extremely cute, with wood beamed ceilings, and a large armoire to place our clothes in. There was a small table and chair set (that we used every night for our "happy hour" wine and cheese thing), and the bathroom was clean and modern. There is a small kitchen in the front registration room that everyone can use, and they had glasses, a small cooktop, dish-ware and utensils, not to mention small refrigerator. AND, when I looked out our window, there was the Duomo, literally glowing in the darkness. Amazing :)

I loved this place, and I would highly recommend it!

PS- the ONLY negative thing I would say is the towels they provide. They were large, but almost like dishcloths in texture lol. Totally did not dry you off- at all. So... just a bit of feedback either for the owners, or those planning to stay there (bring your own! Lol)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamaskibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed here (family of four) for 3 nights in July 2012. The service was excellent , elegant beautiful large room and very clean. Location was fantastic. Easy walking distance to all sights. Stefano was very helpful and treated us like royalty. We felt like we were staying at a friend's house instead of a hotel. Will definitely stay here again!!! Thanks for your invaluable advice and hospitality Stefano. Will tell all my friends & family to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iwant2getaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stay here for great location and a walk to all sights. Very helpful staff are only there certain hours. Restaurant next door is well worth visiting for good food and beautiful frescoes. We went twice.

Room Tip: Sorry, my mistake, no swimming pool there as is it is city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night in Florence. The room was large and clean with high ceilings and a comfortable bed. Excellently located at walking distance from all the major locations, including the Uffizi. You don't need any transportation in Florence -- you can walk everywhere, as we did, and soak in the sumptuous surroundings. We even walked all the way to the Piazza della Michelangelo and viewed the Florence skyline from there. Florence is a must-see city, and the Residenza della Signoria is a convenient and affordable place to stay. There are lots of restaurants in the vicinity -- we went to Paulo's, just below, where we had a delicious dinner of Tuscan cuisine.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler60786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Stanze del David Place
Stanze del David Place
#62 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#89 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
#22 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Charme
B&B Emozioni Charme
#10 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#34 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Uffizi
Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Residenza della Signoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Residenza della Signoria

Property: B&B Residenza della Signoria
Address: Via dei Tavolini 8, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B&B Residenza della Signoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza della Signoria opened in September 2008. It is a charming town house suite located in an elegant and ancient palace in Via dei Tavolini right around the corner from Via de' Calzaiuoli, the most famous Florentine street connecting the Dome to Piazza della Signoria.Thanks to our excellent location in the historical center, just few steps away from the Uffizi gallery, you can quickly reach the main monuments and the most exclusive boutiques in Florence on foot.The accomodation is elegant, refined and includes all the facilities; your stay will be unforgettable, a dream in the Renaissance atmosphere of the Florence city centre.The property is situated on the third floor of the building provided with a comfortable elevator (comfortable for 4 person). In a charming and elegant environment we offer 6 silent and large rooms overlooking Via Calzaiuoli, the typical red roofs of Florence or offering a view of the Dome.Each room is characterised by wooden floors, 4 meter (13 ft) high coffer style ceilings with exposed beams, classic style handmande furniture decorated by expert Italian artisans and luxurious upholstery. The comfort is provided by KING SIZE beds (200cm x 180cm or 79in x 71in), independent air conditioning, private ensuite bathroom with glass shower and bidet, double glazed windows, hairdryer, LCD TV 19" with DDTV, electronic safebox, free wireless and wired internet connection, telephone with direct access to outer line. All rooms are no-smoking rooms.Some Junior suites large about 26 sqm are also available, with living room zone, table and 2 armchairs. These can also be made up with 1 or 2 extra beds wihtout reducing the room habitability. The extra beds are not just sofa-beds but real beds able to provide the same comfort as standard beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your B&B Residenza della Signoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Residenza Della Signoria
b&b Residenza Della Signoria Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing