We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highpoint of my Florence stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of In Tavola

In Tavola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Association In Tavola aims to spread the Italian food and wine-rich regional culinary traditions, such as those of Tuscany, with its incredible variety of dishes and recipes. With the intent to promote this knowledge, the association organizes cooking classes with professional groups or individual lessons
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A highpoint of my Florence stay!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was the most fun evening...I took a 5 hour Italian cooking lesson for a typical 4 course Tuscan dinner. It was so well organized, so much fun, 4 cooking stations and each group of 4 - 5 persons had their own chef teaching them how to make, an eggplant appetizer, pasta from scratch, beef Bolognese sauce for the pasta, chicken with mushrooms and zucchini, and tiramisu. The best part is at the end, you are served the dinner you cooked in the wine cellar by your chef...and multiple bottles of wine included. Not only was it great fun, but it was one of the best meals I had!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank niftylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    26
    6
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
779 reviews
362 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,306 helpful votes
“Fun Half Day”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I spent a very enjoyable half day learning how to create authentic Tuscan dishes as well as a smattering of other regional dishes in Firenze last July. The experience of making pasta from scratch and collaborating with folks from the USA and Austrailia was unique. Equally as fun as the cooking was the eating. The papardella was delicious. The kitchen is tucked away on side streets in Oltrarno, not far from the Ponte Vecchio. It is well worth checking out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cook like an Italian pro - then eat what you make, complete with vino”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

What a fantastic night! My husband and I were looking for an evening cooking class, and we got that and so much more with In Tavola. Expert instruction, unbelievable food & setting, and we made some wonderful new friends. In our small group of 6 we prepared tiramisu, vegetable millefoglie (to die for eggplant appetizer), fresh egg pasta with white meat ragu, and chicken cacciatora - all in about 2 hours. Then we were ushered downstairs into the romantic "cave" dining room, where the wine started flowing. About a half hour later, the chefs brought down the finished dishes and we all ate the fruits of our labors. This will be a night we will never forget. Thank you for making such wonderful memories. We look forward to impressing our friends back home with our new cooking skills! We booked this through Viator, and they were a terrific "tour" company to work with. Would highly recommend In Tavola (and Viator).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fun class to enjoy Italian cooking”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The class was conducted in groups (3 or 4 students per group). Each group prepared 4-course meal: artichoke soufflé, fresh pasta with Bolognese sauce, chicken ala cacciatora and tiramisu. Everything was made from scratch including the pasta.

We enjoyed the class very much. Alessandro, our teacher, spoke good English and was very informative and friendly. His assistant was also Alessandro who was responsible in making the kitchen neat and tidy (he kept cleaning and wiping the tables). Another teacher, sexy Francesco was there but he was busy with other class.

At the end of the class, you eat your own cooking with unlimited wine (yes unlimited!) and received the recipe.

Back in the States, I bought a pasta machine to make home-made pasta. What a difference! I will never cook dried pasta. Fresh pasta is better. The Bolognese sauce was superb and extremely easy to make but it took about 3 hours to cook.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gaby_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic cooking class in Florence - In Tavola”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I would happily recommend taking a cooking class at In Tavola.My family and I throughly enjoyed our 4 course dinner that we made with the help of Alessandro ( who was a helpful and entertaining host). Our cooking class only consisted of 7 people which guaranteed hands on experience. The menu consisted of artichoke souffle, potato gnocchi (which was the best we tasted in Italy!!!),with white meat ragu,pollo alla cacciatora(hunter's chicken and finally for dessert the Italian classic Tiramisu, which was amazing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank happyredders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed In Tavola also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to In Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing