We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long week...”
Review of Mary's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mary's House
Ranked #526 of 661 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel itself is in a great location - less than a 5 min walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station and about 5-10 min walk to the Duomo (tourist spot numero uno).

I wouldn't stay here again as my room was adjacent to the Manager's office, which resulted in a lack of privacy for me when leaving my room or going to use the bathroom. Additionally, I was woken up about 7-8am every morning by the staff speaking very loudly next door.

If you do decide to stay here, MAKE SURE you take slippers or flip flops with you for walking around your bedroom and going to the bathroom as the floors were VERY dusty - my feet were black just from walking from one side of my bedroom to the other in bare feet.

I was a little unnerved when I first arrived as the man greeting me showed me to my room and then took my passport without saying anything...he might want to have told me that he was taking my passport away with him for a few minutes.

I would have benefited from having an extra blanket in the room. The sheet on the bed was VERY thin and being September; it certainly was not very hot in Italy....I had to wear my hoody to bed one night as I was very cold - thank god I had a jumper with me!

Lastly, I was due to catch a flight from Pisa about 9am on the Sunday meaning I had to be on a train at about 7.30am - was a bit of a rush in the morning as no-one was up until after 7 ready for me to check out. It would have been useful if they had asked me what time I would be wanting to check out.

I think next time I would spend a bit extra to be in a bigger hotel with my own bathroom and more privacy than I had on this holiday.

Room Tip: Try to avoid sleeping in the room next to the Manager's office --- you would feel more private t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderer_787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

It seemed to be a family run guest house. It's on the 2nd floor of an apartment building. We were let in after ringing the bell at the main entrance. And when we went up the stair to the 2nd floor, a guy was already waiting for us with the door open. He asked for the booking name, led us to our room, took our passport, then left. Two minutes later, an old lady in her nightwear came into our room, and just started talking to us about the main sightseeing spot in Florence, with the aid of a map. But she went through everything so quickly, like she just want to get her job done. Both of them doesn't seems to be very friendly. It might be rude to say, but they really stank. I know it was a hot day, but they should have the decency when they met their customers.

The room is quite big, with a balcony. There is a small fridge in the room. It was unplugged and took ages to start getting cold. So if you were to use the fridge, do have it plug in once you get there. They change the towels and sort of clean the room everyday. The location is good, 5 mins from the Florence S.M.N. train station, and about 5-10 minutes walk to the city centre. There isn't a lift. I'm a girl with a medium backpack and a small suitcase, but I found it ok.

Overall, the location and the room is great. It's just the owners there were a bit weird.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0nd0nKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I chose the place because of the good reviews. Sadly to say, I have to change my mind. Firstly, there is no elevator to the hotel so I had to drag my heavy suitcase to the second floor. Secondly, there was no breakfast available. With the price I paid, I had thought I was entitled to at least a cup of cappuccino and a cornetto. The location was great, very close to Santa Maria Novella Station. But overall I would say this place is average.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabelmariska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Good value, fantastic location, 1 minute walk from the train station and easy to find. Very clean and tidy. Fridge in own room an added bonus. Great for a quick stopover. Very quiet at night time, never heard anything from a busy city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank i_r_rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was a strange little hotel, it is very quiet. We did not see another guest the whole time we were there. The welcome was great. Mary greeted us and gave us all the information about the local area and where to go, this really helps when you have just arrived and have no clue where you are. The hotel is halfway between the train station and the town centre so ideally placed. The rooms are large and ours had a little balcony which was nice. Very clean and spacious. The free wifi was a bonus. This is a great place to stay if on a budget, I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Basic, clean, towel, toilet roll. Single room shared bathroom, sink in room. Good location, 5 minutes from SMN train, close walk to all main attractions. Mary gives map showing all sights and nearby supermarket. Good fast free wifi in room. Always carry earplugs!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I have nothing bad to say about this one. Check out was at 10 AM, but they let us keep our bags in the office till our train later that night, which was super convenient! The wifi worked well, and there was no curfew or anything. The manager helped us out a lot with directions and suggestions too!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaac R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,350 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,953 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 410 in Florence
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Florence Metropole
#151 of 410 in Florence
2,108 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's House

Address: Via della Scala N_ 43, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #526 of 661 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £37 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not serve breakfast. We are on the second floor and there is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mary's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing