We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE OWNER IS AN ANGEL”
Review of Alekin Hostel

Alekin Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alekin Hostel
Ranked #235 of 310 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Chico, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“THE OWNER IS AN ANGEL”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was having some personal problems with someone on my trip and the owner was AN ANGEL. He was so nice and accommodating. I know that people posted that sign with the "my rules". But really this is just bad English. They don't have any weird rules. The 11pm rule is great for people who actually WANT TO SLEEP! It's like having your own place behind a 500 pound wooden door.

Room Tip: Get the private room. It's just a few euros more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanShidyak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
1
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I stayed here for three nights in January 2013.

To start the hostel isn't easy to find, I paced up and down the street to find it, then found the number easily, looking for a buzzer was impossible, or just anything to let me in the locked door. Initially I thought it must not exist. I had to actually email the owner who came over straight away. On entering the building it smells of gas, or bins? I booked a room for one and was given a private set up in a room for two good for me. The hostel is literally just a place to sleep.

The down side to my stay is I could constantly hear closing doors and the front door being opened and slammed, Room 1 is next to the front door. I didn't have a terrible experience, but I have had better stays in other hostels. As someone travelling on my own it's nice to have an area to sit on the computer or even eat, and interact with other travellers at the end of the day, if you are expecting such a thing, look onwards. There are rather intimidating signs everywhere that say don't be loud, close your door, don't move anything. Oh and the wifi password was outrageously/ comically long. On a positive the rooms are clean and maintained well, the bin wasn't emptied but I felt comforted that nobody had entered my room

At the end of the day, the location makes this place, the historical centre is literally on your doorstep and within walking distance! Can't go wrong in this aspect.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed here with a friend for 2 nights. The location is great, even though it was a bit hard to find at first (follow the blue numbers). We got a room for 5(!) people, even though there was only two of us. The room may be simple, but we didn't go to Florence to stay in the hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olyas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We choose it because of its location -- close to Uffizzi, square, etc
The room is not decorated very well but clean and comfortable to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yujiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Hard to find at the first time because the houses have different numbers to comercial and residential houses. The price is very accessible and the staff is very friendly. we stayed in the reserved room with shared bathroom. The bathrooms are very clean and the number is good enough for the number of rooms (The floor we stayed were 4 rooms and 2 bathrooms). Its located close to everything interesting, including good restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Location:the Hostel is very very close to the city center of Florence, which is great, but quite difficult to get there by car [gps - tom tom gets confused, others don't find it at all]

Rooms: we stayed in a 6 bed room. quite small for so many people, but clean and comfortable beds.
Bathroom: very small, one bathroom for all rooms (at least 5) and there is now way to look the door.

Owner: he's ok, you don't see him, except when you gives you the keys and you have to pay.
Checking in hours are flexible, i think he lives very close to the hostel, so if you know you arrive late just give him a call to let him know.

Internet: decent speed if you manage not to mistype the password :D
[see picture attached, the picture is added just as fun fact, we had no problems]

definitely worth the 13 Euro we payed!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank alusoare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

If you ask me what I expected for 15€ each it is true but really the guy from the hostel is ok. He tries to pay for what the room lacks, doing his best but unless you are really very poor try to avoid this place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#213 of 412 in Florence
168 reviews
Uffizi
Bronze Horse
Bronze Horse
#213 of 310 in Florence
54 reviews
Uffizi
Palazzo Uguccioni
Palazzo Uguccioni
#41 of 310 in Florence
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Porcellino Gallery
Porcellino Gallery
#205 of 650 in Florence
96 reviews
Uffizi
B&B Olga's House
B&B Olga's House
#144 of 650 in Florence
211 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 310 in Florence
2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alekin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alekin Hostel

Property: Alekin Hostel
Address: Via Porta Rossa 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 310 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing