We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, basic amenities”
Review of Hostel Veronique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Veronique
Ranked #369 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for one night while traveling through Italy. The location was perfect and the staff were very friendly. We stayed in a room with a queen and two singles - very basic amenities, but beds were clean and comfortable. There was a bathroom down the hall, but it wasn't very clean and I opted to forgo taking a shower there since we were only staying the one night. While the location was great because it was right in the middle of things and across from a large market, it was incredibly noisy all night. It was so loud, it seemed like our windows were open, yet they were closed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

The rooms are nothing like those on the pictures. In fact they're empty, plain walls with only one side light, metal beds and a garden table with a chair and a coat hanger. No reading lights, no carpet, no wardrobe. NO AIR CONDITIONING. Extreme hot and sultriness in the rooms, unfortunately, my room had a window which opened to some 3rd party AC output, which pomped hot air and nasty smell. Well, normal fan was not helpful in that situation and actually it was cooler on the streets (!). Trashcans are not emptied despite long stay, which I find unacceptable. Be prepared that your food may disappear from shared fridge on the corridor. BE PREPARED TO BE BITTEN BY BUGS. This hostel is a joke and may be only good for people who don't care. I will never come back. It diminished my Florence experience - it's better to pay more and stay shorter somewhere else!!

Room Tip: Find a better place to stay or you can regret
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank filueuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was quite an unpleaseant stay. We travelled on a group of 5 people for 2 nights, we just needed a place to keep our bags during the day and to sleep in the evening.
The first night was awful: the matress was unbelievably soft (not on a good way), each bed had only ONE sheet to cover both your matress and yourself, can you imagine that? It was very cold, the heating system almost didn't work and they didn't give you any blankets, you only had a cover besides that one sheet.
It was incredibly noisy during all day. At night you could hear everything as the walls were literally paper thin: you could hear machines cleaning the streets, cars honking, people screaming and talking (and our room was on the forth floor!). Also, you should know that there is a bell on the street that does you the favor of waking you up every hour, so you can only sleep from midnight to 5.a.m, then the bell rings every hour (including 5a.m).

To go to our room, on the forth floor, we had to go up on a tiny elevator that only worked with a key and only 4 people could fit there. Also, we were only given one set of keys for all 5 people.

About the bathroom: they were 2 bathrooms on our floor, one of them was average, a bit small, the hair dryer worked poorly. The other bathroom was a problem because the hair dryer didn't work at all, there was no shower curtain so the floor was a mess after someone took a shower and the flush didn't work right. The water pressure was not good on either bathrooms. Also, I believe that they didn't cleaned the bathrooms during our stay there, because it was always somehow dirty.

They also tried to charge us 3€ for each bathing towel, when on the site clearly said that it was free, so don't let yourself be fooled, if on your booking site it says that is free, ask the reception guy to check it.
When we arrived there, we had to pay the whole stay and they only accepted cash, so we had to go to an ATM to withdraw money.
Keep in mind that the city tax (1€ per person per night) is not included on the total price.

The only advantage is the location. The hostel is located on the historical center of Florence, so you can get to the main train station of Florence (Santa Maria Novella) or Ponte Vecchio in less than 10min by foot.

Room Tip: Definitely do not stay on the first room turning right on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marianneA20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

SO convenient to everything. Right in the bustle of it all. Very nice room and best bathrooms of our whole trip. Big towels, friendly receptionist who worked very hard to help us despite the language barrier. Funny entry way that looks dark and like it couldn't possibly be where your hostel is, but then beautiful space once you get to the rooms-which are just another apartment in the building. Loved it.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vermonter57282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We spent two nights in hostel Veronique. This place is really good choice for tight budget tour. That's not a typical hostel, it looks rather like a flat with private rooms rented. Veronique is situated really centrally, close to Piazza della Republica and Ponte Vechcio, next to all Florence's attractions! Via Porta Rossa, where hostel Veronique is, looks really pretty and adorable.

Another good point of this hostel is price. Only drawbacks are old and a little bit messy bathrooms and so poor decoration of rooms, but you can forgive that after sight seeing around Florence!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marceli_7665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

It was amazingly located, near to everything, though Florence is really small and you can walk to anywhere important to see, but still this location is absolutely the best the could be, 2 blocks away from anything you might wanna see.

The hotel is not that clean but resistible and the rooms are not comfortable, but it is nice for a short budget stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camipot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

It is true, there are mosquitoes on the walls. But for this price no other hostel/hotel made it close and from that point of view well worth the stay. Woalking distance from the Duomo and most other attractions of Florence.
Be advised to clearly state your time of arrival (if possible call ahead) as it is run by family with no extra help and they are not always available to let you in at the building entrance! Did see some poor souls face this on arrival...
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellersimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Aline
Hotel Aline
#307 of 410 in Florence
47 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#222 of 410 in Florence
173 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#289 of 410 in Florence
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#185 of 410 in Florence
502 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#140 of 410 in Florence
674 reviews
Hotel Masaccio
#272 of 410 in Florence
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Veronique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Veronique

Address: Via Porta Rossa 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £27 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Veronique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing