We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, great reception staff, in between the railway station and the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Benci
Ranked #271 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This spring I spent a few days in Florence, attending a meeting, but having some time to relax, too. I remebered the name of this hotel from a night I spent there many years ago, and having found a good offer in internet, I decided to give it a new try. This turned out to be a good choice.
The hotel, easy to find, is located in a nice square, just in front of the entrance of "Cappelle Medicee", very close (less than 10 min walk) to the Santa Maria Novella railway station and even closer (5 min walk) to the Duomo and Battistero. If you are driving to Florence, the hotel offers a parking service, but I was travelling by train, so I didn't try it.
My room was not too small, with a window looking over a nice patio, and it was very quiet. Rooms looking over the square might be a bit more noisy, but I read other reviews mentioning godd isolating double windows. Both room and bathroom were very clean and functional.
The personel at the reception were wondeful, kind, helpful and competent, as were the cleaning staff and the staff serving breakfast. My only crticisim is for breakfast, that is very plain, with coffe/tea/cappuccino and some cakes (not freshly baked), brioches and yogourth, but no salted breakfast option and no fresh fruit.
The hotel has no restaurant, but there are many restaurants, and also a small supermarket, nearby, and the staff is ready to help with suggestions.
Free wi-fi connection is available in all rooms.
With the online offer I found (such offers seem to be regularly available) the quality/price ratio was very good. I will certainly consider staying here again when I have a chance to go back to beautiful Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maichi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

Not only was the staff quite possibly the rudest, most unaccommodating that I have EVER come across in all my years of traveling the rooms were cramped and filthy. I have traveled quite a bit in my life and our experience at Hotel Palazzo Benci almost ruined the entire trip to Italy. The wireless internet is touch and go, and when you do have a connection you are only allowed 24 hours use so you have to keep logging in and out or going to the front desk to ask the staff for another login and password, quite annoying. The bathroom in our room was small (albeit expected in Europe), the toilet required several flushes every time and there was mold all over, on top of that I had to take several cold showers and no response from the staff on correcting the problem. There is also a lot of outside noise at night and earplugs were needed while sleeping. The major issue was with access to the hotel room, my friend living in Italy at the time was told if she ever tried to go up to our room, they were calling the police and kicking us out, allegedly a law in Italy. This is completely not true, based on speaking to several other hotels in the area and staying elsewhere in Italy. Literally we received a 5 minute lecture about how they were calling the police! It was insane, and even if we were in the wrong that could have been calmly explained. I would NEVER stay here again and considered moving to another hotel during out stay but others nearby were all booked. Save your time, money and frustration. Stay at the Hotel City down the street, it was a much better experience for our friends that stayed there.

Room Tip: The second floor is non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scasey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mototour, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Benci, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Ms. Scasey05,

We have always considered our Guests' reviews and complains actually precious for our business, as we can understand which type of service or facility can be improved to provide our Customers with the best service we can offer them, but reading your review you have published on Tripadvisor has been actually like having a nightmare.
In order to restore the truth about what happened during your stay, we would like to reply pointing out to your and kind Tripadvisor's readers attention that :

You have been staying at our Hotel for five nights and you did not complain of any mulfunctioning in your room or any kind of problem with our Maid Service during your stay. Should you have informed our Front Desk staff of any problem you might have had in your room, our Staff could have tried to solve it.

As a matter of fact let's face the problems you are stating one by one :

- Access to Guests' rooms :
According to Police “Anti-Terrorism” Laws and Rules in force in Italy, only registered Guests can have access to rooms, no visitor is allowed except in public areas like the Lobby, Lounges, in our inner Court garden at Ground Floor. Should Police find in a room a not registered person, when checking people staying in any Hotel rooms, (by Italian Laws it may happen at any time, day or night), Hotel Owner would be accused of a very serious crime.
We have informed two times the person who tried to go up to your room about Italian policy, but useless we guess as, taking advantage that our Concierge was busy in our Back Office, this girl took the stairway that leads to upper floors anyway, even if she knew what she was doing was against not only Hotel policy, but against our Country Laws as well .
When she came downstairs together with the hotel Guests, our Concierge did just his duty telling her that in case shoud she have tried to go up to the room again without being registered, he would have been obliged to call the Police.
As a matter of fact, we can understand our Staff member could be upset: he was just doing his duty properly, feeling frustrated by this girl behaviour.
Front Desk Staff is not there just for tourist informations or restaurant reservations, but most of all in order to take care of Guests safety and security.
Would you feel safe in an Hotel that doesn't follow Government Police Rules?
We can tell that we have never had to explain Italian Rules three times to the same person in the last 22 years, and our Customers have always been respectful of Rules of the Country they are Guests of, without any complain.
You have been kind not mentioning the name of the Hotel where you have asked information about this matter: as they are not “following” Laws, it could have serious problems about their unlawful procedures if you did publish it .

Our Internet Wireless Connection ( free of charge) :
We give our Guests a personal code, which is valid for 24 hrs of use in three months time. This means that, disconnecting the pc, connection time left can be used in the next days.
You have asked for a new code everyday, maybe not considering that the 24 hours printed on your personal code receipt was a “usage time”.At the end of your stay, we have realized that your four different codes you have been given were not completely used, and you had still plenty of hours of connection to use in each of them.

Problems in your room :
Nobody of your party complained about problems in your bathroom: if advised, we could have taken care of your toilet flush by calling a plumber.
Please also note that nor other Guest of ours complained about cold water, nor you did and we wonder how could only your shower water be cold as the one coming out from your shower and taps was the same water other people have been using, without reporting any problem, flowing into the same pipes circuit, and coming out of the same boiler.
As to our Maid cleaning service, we guess that if the room was actually dirty, you would have come immediately to complain at Front Desk upon arrival, or at least on the next day, but you never complained about this matter.
Also we would like to point out that no noise can disturb our Guests from the street as our rooms overlooking the street or the square have double glazed soundproof windows. Could be another Guest, next to you, was making noise: in this case you could have ask our Front Desk, which is available 24 hours a day, for assistance about this problem but you did not.

To come to a conclusion, we are very sorry if you did not feel at home during your stay, but we do not regret having been respectful to our duties.
We could have helped you trying to solve any problem you could have reported to us, maybe your stay would have been much more confortable.

Thanks to Trip Advisor to allow us to reply to this matter

Hotel Palazzo Benci
Mr. Andrea Braccia, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Excellent location, a 5 min walk to the central station of Florence, extremely friendly and helpfull staff and most important an excellent value for money. Internet access is free and available in rooms and lobby and clean rooms. Can be a bit noisy from outside at times though with the church bells

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yannaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Nice hotel, very cooperative staff, though I got very small room. Its ok as I was alone. Located very close to churches, market for leather goods. Clean and hygeinic

Room Tip: beter book much earlier to avoid getting small rooms. Book in advance you get good price. Location e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PRATHAPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We were impressed with the location of Hotel Benci and the size of the property situated in the heart of Florence, near the train station. The breakfast buffet was good and included in the price. The rooms were a little outdated and the bathroom was small but functional. The only reason we didn't give it five stars for the price was that we left the "do not disturb" sign on the door and the maid still came in and moved everything around and cleaned! We mentioned it to the front desk and they were apologetic but I have a feeling the same thing would happen the next time we stayed there. Good value for the price but don't leave your valuables laying out in case the staff enters unexpectedly (nothing was missing but just a warning!)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vvchoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The room was small but you don't go to Italy to stay in your room. The location is smack in the middle of all the sights to see. Just a few minutes to the Duomo. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kookamunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel, the staff were very helpful, it was easy to walk to all the attractions, the breakfast was good, there were internet cafes not far form the hotel.The rooms were clean and very comfortable, I would stay there again if I visited Florence again. Only 5 mins walk to the train station.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezza54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Giotto
Giotto
#246 of 410 in Florence
129 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#64 of 410 in Florence
515 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#342 of 410 in Florence
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#164 of 410 in Florence
441 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Alinari
Hotel Alinari
#304 of 410 in Florence
319 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#213 of 410 in Florence
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Benci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Benci

Address: Piazza di Madonna Degli Aldobrandini 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £63 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Benci 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Benci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing