We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
Review of B&B Bonsignori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Bonsignori
Ranked #117 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We found this B&B to be wonderful during our stay. The location is great, right across the road is a Piazza with the most wonderful restaurants filled with locals, not just tourists. The next block to the rear is the Pitti Palace, then you walk down to the Ponte Vecchio, and on to the city centre. The breakfast provided daily was the best we experienced in our entire stay in Italy and our host was very lovely. Beds were comfortable, rooms not overly big but given the price of staying here, it was a great deal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
101
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

firstly i start from saying we have to postpone our trip to florence we had paid our deposit and Riccardo through numerous emails, researched from his end of the world ,how to return our deposit with out incurring a huge transfer fee . His commitment to doing this ,even though he is a busy man , proves to us how honourable and exceptionally helpful he is . this is why i would suggest this is proof to an excellent character and we have no doubts both Riccardo and his wife would be wonderful hosts. we cant wait to be able to travel to Florence and book at b&b Bonsignori.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra60548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My son and sister had stayed at the B&B on their trip to Europe. My husband and I contacted Riccardo once we had our dates set. We were sad that the orange room and green room were already rented, about 6-7 months ahead of our trip. However, the blue room was available. It isn't on the website, and I'm not sure if the option is available year round, but we loved the option. We had the kitchen as our breakfast room and a sitting room to use with the use of the TV. We had a private door that shut off the common spaces. The bed was large and comfortable and the room was huge. It also had a single bed in the corner as well. The bathroom was large, however, we did not have ample hot water. The tub was a bit difficult to get in and out of as the sides were about 3 feet high. We made it work and who can complain when you're in Firenze! We only saw Riccardo and Elisabetta once when they dropped by to check on things and the girls who did the daily care. I knew this would be the case from my sisters experience. We are independent travelers so we did not mind. The girls made sure we were settled and helped us secure a cab to the airport rental car agencies when we checked out. They are super helpful, and want to make your stay wonderful. The breakfast options were ample and we did figure out how to make coffee by watching our host in Venice. If we didn't know how from that experience we would have been without caffeine. The steps are steep and it is best to use the handrail. We loved the area where the B&B is located. We ate at the pizza place across twice, Gusta Pizza. It has great TripAdvisor ratings too; doesn't open until later that we usually eat. There was a line ahead of the opening time, thing ahead. The square across was a lovely place to try out other restaurant options and to watch the Florentians getting home from work and enjoying the outdoors. As you head to the bridge and before you cross over the bridge, there is a great gelato shop on the corner. We loved it! Lots of fresh options that would sell out if the fruit was in season. There is a tobacco shop there to if you need anything. We felt safe walking to and from the B&B and would recommend it to our friend and family. We walked everywhere, except from the train station. We then took a taxi to the airport rental car location. Everywhere you go you'll have bits of great, good and could improve. That's why traveling abroad is an adventure, if you didn't want that then stay home!

Room Tip: If the blue room is an option, take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliciaLinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at B&B Bonsignori in October and it was a perfect choice. The orange room was wonderful. We arrived before the room was ready but Elisabetta took the time to tell us about the neighborhood and the local restaurants, both of which are worth exploring. It is out of the tourist area, which is very nice, but it is close to the museums as they are just across the Arno. One evening we took a walking tour of the neighborhood which was very enjoyable. The breakfast had everything you would want or need in the morning. There are a number of flights to go up to get to the B&B but it was more than worth it. On previous trips we had stayed in hotels but will stay here during our next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed in the Orange room and loved it. Lots of space, large comfortable bed, and a great breakfast. The hosts are friendly and helpful and run a very clean and welcoming place. Best of all, the location is perfect. It's in an part of the city where locals live and work, and there are lots of artists and craftsmen working in the area. It's away from the tourists, but it's an easy walk to all of the museums. We never felt the need to take a bus. My only negative comments are that there are alot of stairs to go up, so that may be a limiting factor for some people, and although the winows cut down the noise, it isn't all negated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 486anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano Marittima, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in the camera arancione (orange room) at B&B Bonsignori for 2 nights in October 2013. It was a perfect location. My wife and I live in Italy so we prefer to stay in the more 'local' zone of a town/city in Italy so this was perfect for us. It's 5 minutes from the center but a little quieter and has less touristy restaurants/cafes/stores.

The room was great. It's furnished with modern and antique furniture and has exposed wood beams in the orange room which I thought was a nice touch. The bathroom was extremely clean with all new materials. Excellent view of the street and church of Santo Spirito. We had a comfy bed with a ton of space which is rare in Florence. The food was delicious, homemade crostata con fichi (pie-like item with homemade fig jam), fresh fruit, cereal and a great little espresso machine.

One of the best parts was the service. Riccardo and Elisabetta are amazing. My wife and I arrived a bit early and we were having a ton of trouble finding parking so Riccardo hoped in our car with us and drove around with us looking for a parking garage that was open and had space. It took a while because it was a nice day and many people were out and about but he stayed with us and even gave us some advice on places to check out.

I couldn't recommend it anymore if this is the kind of place that you want. We'll definitely stay there again.

Tip 1; If you are passionate about wine, go to Pitti Gola e Cantina which is about 50 meters from the hotel in front of the Palazzo Pitti. It was a wine feast for my wife and me. The guys there are incredibly knowledgeable about wines and extremely friendly. We spoke to them in Italian but heard them speak fluent English to another couple. The food is also unexpectedly amazing. We thought the food would be a side-thought but it was delicious and matched perfectly to the wine.

Tip 2; If you want a traditional Florentine meat oriented dinner with no frills we heard that Trattoria la Casalinga in front of the hotel is amazing. We couldn't even get a table on a Monday night because it was so full so go early or make a reservation.

Room Tip: Camera arancione (orange room) - Biggest room, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tftjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in July and had an amazing experience. The room (Orange room) was very ample and had everything we needed. It was very clean and although simply decorated very fresh, the way you want a B&B to feel like! Breakfast is as many other places, self-service of very nice coffee, fruit, yogurt, bread, ham, cheese, cake, pastries... basically more than enough to start your day. you will only be disappointed if you want a cooked breakfast. The welcome was warm and full of advise, which was great because we went to truly Florentine places and since it is located in 'the other side of the river', its not packed with tourists. You can walk everywhere as it is just one block away from the river. The only downside I would say is that the street is very busy and our room was facing it, so it was a bit noisy at night and early morning, it depends on how good you are at sleeping! Overall, very good value for money!

Room Tip: Orange room is very big, can sleep up to 3 people, but faces the street, which is a bit noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianaDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Florent
#165 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Beatrice B&B
Beatrice B&B
#133 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Pitti
Florence Old Bridge B&B
Florence Old Bridge B&B
#48 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Residenza d'Epoca Toscanelli
Residenza d'Epoca Toscanelli
#206 of 675 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Residenza D'Epoca Al Numero 8
Residenza D'Epoca Al Numero 8
#177 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Pitti
Piazza Pitti Palace
Piazza Pitti Palace
#32 of 675 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Bonsignori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Bonsignori

Property: B&B Bonsignori
Address: Via Maggio 19, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Bonsignori 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your B&B Bonsignori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing