We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded All Expectations”

Le Baccanti Cultural Food and Wine Tours
Ranked #105 of 330 Tours in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For over ten years Le Baccanti has provided the finest service in customized luxury cultural food & wine vacations and day tours in Tuscany and Italy. Our personalized services are recommended by BBC Travel, The Independent, Le Monde, The Telegraph and scores of satisfied wine, food and art lovers.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded All Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our tours with Le Baccanti were outstanding -- All of the guides we worked with for the Vatican, Ancient Rome, Florence, Volterra, San Gimignano, Siena, and our wine tastings were exceptional. Not only did they have impressive, professor-level knowledge, they were engaging and had my large group of extended, adult family members laughing continuously. We had private wine tastings (unique and very highly recommended), which gave us the opportunity to relax and enjoy the experience without the time or space restraints of the typical tourists. I very highly recommend the wine tasting class and cooking class that we had at our villa as well. I work in travel and typically arrange all of my own trips, but Le Baccanti was able to do everything perfectly and gave me the opportunity to sit back and actually relax during the experience -- they managed all details, made adjustments when we requested them, and planned the perfect experience from start to finish. For someone like me who is completely, obsessively detail oriented and with extremely high expectations, it is a huge and weighty thing for me to say that it was the perfect trip. You will love your trip with Le Baccanti!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KICC_100712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessaheld, Public Relations Manager at Le Baccanti Cultural Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful appraisal of the complete services we offer through Le Baccanti. We pride ourselves on providing memorable experiences for our clients, be it through wine tours with private tastings, art and cultural immersions in fascinating cities throughout Italy, and our unique cooking courses in villas and wineries. We're so glad that you had the chance to sample such a wide range of our offerings, and that you were actually able to sit back and enjoy yourself this time around! We hope to see you for your next trip to Italy, and perhaps we can organize a different, but equally wonderful experience for you - we have so many different things to choose from. Wishing you all the best, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    6
    0
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Salute!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our cooking class in Rome was indeed the highlight of our trip! Martina and Elettra were so extremely gracious and kind! Our bonus was to have Andrea there to help with the instruction.
We couldn't have had more fun, and the view from her terrace was so breathtaking and serene.
Bravissimo Coral! for getting us together through the confusion with the Testacchio Marketplace location. Finding the new location was an event in itself. But we all agree, it was the most beautiful market place in Rome, and should not be missed.
I would definitely recommend your company!
Grazie

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessaheld, Public Relations Manager at Le Baccanti Cultural Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Thanks for your kind remarks Mary! We're delighted that the experience with Le Baccanti and Andrea, Elettra and Martina was the highlight of your trip - it's an honor to be able to provide services that will hopefully become lasting memories of your time in Italy. Rome is an amazing city, and we're so pleased that you had the best guidance in getting around, and visiting the exciting marketplace. Please keep us in mind for any further travel you might plan for Italy, and we wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing tours of Italian wine regions, Barolo, Franciacorta & Friuli Venezia Giulia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

What an amazing experience!

It all started by checking out a few wine tour companies just days prior to our departure from Adelaide. Carrie from La Baccanti was very efficient in finding out exactly what we wanted to do in wine touring and described the tours very well. It all sounded too good to be true, but the tours were even better than we were expecting!

The first tour we did was a day trip from Milan to Barolo; the first winery, Rivetto, was fantastic. We were looked after by Rita who was a great host showing us the winery, giving us a great tasting of the wines and had great knowledge on the local area. Our driver, Simone, then took us to a local restaurant for lunch. The food was amazing and we had a great experience with truffles from the local area. After lunch we went to the next winery, Giacomo Fenocchio, where we were given a brilliant tour including barrel tastings, and a fantastic tasting of current release wines. Claudio was extremely generous and very passionate about what he does. Simone was a fantastic driver, brilliant personality and good to have a joke with!

The second tour was a day trip from Milan to Franciacorta. The first winery we went to was il Mosnel, the setting of the winery was beautiful, the tour was fantastic, and to top it all off the wines were superb. Lunch was in a beautiful restaurant in a quaint town on Lake Iseo, the scenery was beautiful and the food awesome! The last winery for the day was Ca del Bosco and we were blown away. The size of this winery, technology and cleanliness was amazing. The tour guide was great giving us plenty of entertainment and we very much enjoyed the wines. Again Simone was our driver and he did a brilliant job, it truly was great getting to know him.

Our final wine tour was to Friuli Venezia Giulia from Venice and it was an experience we had never encountered before. Starting with Radikon winery we were introduced to a style of winemaking very different to what we know. The wines were so unique and very interesting to taste and learn the style of orange (colour, not fruit) wine. The family were very generous here also providing snacks during the tasting. Lunch was brilliant at a local restaurant we were also treated to a vinegar tasting on the property. It was fascinating to learn of this process. The final winery for our trip was Lis Neris where a delightful girl took us through the winery and again we were impressed with the technology and cleanliness of the winery. The wines again were different in style to what we were expecting but still a brilliant experience.

Once again I have to thank Carrie on the brilliant job she did organising the tour so brilliantly in such short notice, every winery for their generous hospitality, the restaurants for mind-blowing culinary experiences and finally the drivers that took us from each location to the next. If you're looking for a great wine tour company in Italy, go with La Baccanti!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BennyDrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessaheld, Public Relations Manager at Le Baccanti Cultural Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback for these tours! We're delighted that you had such wonderful and memorable experiences on our wine tours - our staff really puts lots of effort into making your adventures as enjoyable as possible. I'm so pleased that we were able to provide you with tours that exceeded your expectations, and I hope that the information imparted by the wineries is something that you are able to use when selecting wines to enjoy at home. Thanks additionally for the feedback about your driver Simone - we pride ourselves on the high quality of our adjunct staff as well, so we're happy to hear that he was knowledgeable and personable - all good things to have in a driver! Please keep us in mind for your future visits to Italy - there are so many other amazing parts of the country to visit! Wishing you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent tours of Tuscany!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We booked several tours with Le baccatini during our recent trip to Italy. Coral helped us arrange and schedule everything...she did a fantastic job, always responded to questions quickly & was even to accommodate a last minute schedule change to make our vacation perfect :) My 8 year old really enjoyed her gelato walk in Florence!!! Other tours we booked were a wine & cheese tour, city tour of Florence & half day tour of Pisa. The company arranged transportation to and from our hotel at a reasonable cost :) Our favorite tour that we booked was the truffle hunt between Florence & Pisa! It was a wonderful truffle experience complete with a full truffle tasting lunch! We would definitely recommend this experience to anyone visiting the area!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mlokkesmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessaheld, Public Relations Manager at Le Baccanti Cultural Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! The gelato tour is new for us so we are so pleased to know that it was a hit with your son. Also, thank you for letting us know that our promptness and pricing was appreciated by you all. I can't thank you enough and it is a pleasure to provide our clients with the best service and tours imaginable. We hope to see you again and wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Castello di Meleto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just a great experience! The two of us with our own personalised pasta cooking school in one of the highly decorated rooms in the castle. A really informative class too - we learnt the basic pasta recipe then how to form 5 different types of pasta.....really transferable skills for when we get back home. The best part of course was eating the lunch with our pasta cooked into two different dishes by the chef with accompanying wines. Bonuses include tours of the castle and of the cellars. Cannot recommend this school highly enough...go on spoil yourselves you will remember it for a long time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 505John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessaheld, Guest Relations Manager at Le Baccanti Cultural Food and Wine Tours, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your review for our cooking class in a winery castle! Our teachers there are very professional and I am glad you had a convivial experience in such a beautiful setting. Make sure you cook some of those Italian recipes at home and let us know how they go. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Baccanti Cultural Food and Wine Tours also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Le Baccanti Cultural Food and Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing