We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, wonderful, and wonderful....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poggio Imperiale Apartments
Ranked #67 of 301 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful, and wonderful....”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Thank you Clara for making my year long stay in Italy less stressful with providing a wonderful apartment--you were always helpful and easy to work with.

The apartment was such a great place to stay and every person who came to visit me in Italy always raved about it---they all wanted to stay! I know I will always call my little apartment home for any future visits!!

I miss you, Italy and my little apartment! Again, thank you!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon23451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
31
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We were recommended to Clara and the Poggio Imperiale by someone who lives in Florence. We are so glad that we followed her advice. The apartments were beautiful, clean, airy and in a great location. You will not be in the bustling heart of Florence which can be noisy. Everything is a walk away, or a bus is convenient if you need it. (While we were there a couple came in looking for an alternative place from their center-of-Florence hotel to stay because they had gotten no sleep as the people in the bars and streets were loud all night long. Clara found them an apartment in the complex and they were thrilled!) Around the corner you can purchase local fruits and vegetables every morning and prepare a fresh Italian breakfast. You can bring one of the wine flasks provided in the apartment to a local wine shop - Buca Del Vino, recommended by Clara, taste some wines, and the store will fill up your wine bottle right there. Molto bene! I highly recommend you stay at the Poggio Imperiale. Ciao!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My wife and I were celebrating part of our 25th Anniversary in Florence and a friend recommended this location. The room was large and accommodating for our week long stay; it was very comfortable after our daily excursions. Clara was VERY helpful recommending eateries, sites, memberships, travel tips, shopping, etc. She even made reservations for us!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Clara is the friendliest host and it was our favorite place that we stayed in all of Italy! The apartment was so comfortable and we loved being away from the crowds. It was easy to get to and from the train station by bus. Boboli Gardens nearby are not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We booked 12 days at this apartment. On the 10th day, we told the owners, Clara and Carlo, of our plans to leave early on the 12th day to return to Rome and catch our flight. They checked the train schedule and found that we would have missed our flight and that we had to leave on the 11th day instead. Without us having to ask, they refunded our final days' payment.

And that's the kind of wonderful service we received!

Location is great. I highly recommend this apartment.

Plus, there is a washer and dryer on site. :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I take a trip to Florence every April and have stayed at Poggio Imperiale every year since 2007. Let me start by saying that Clara and Carlo couldn't be more hospitable. I am always greeted by one of them upon my arrival and immediately made to feel at home. Although I am familiar with Florence, they are always eager to help me with suggestions for lesser-known destinations and great restaurants more frequented by locals. They are both warm and sincere and quickly make you feel like family.

The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated with original art, old family photos, a tasteful blend of antique furniture and more contemporary pieces, and tiled floors with Tuscan motifs. The beds are comfortable and covered with floral spreads, and the kitchens are modern and filled with all the necessary amenities. They have clearly put time and thought into the design of each room so that they are fully functional, comfortable, and aesthetically pleasing. You do not feel like you are staying in a hotel; you feel more like a guest in someone's villa.

There are trattorias, cafes, and grocery stores in close proximity to the apartments, and Clara and Carlo will help you with suggestions and reservations. If you are looking for a beautiful and memorable experience in Florence, look no further than Poggio Imperiale.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I-Ricci I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2011

this is my 4th trip to Firenze but I never stayed in an apartment. I will never stay in another hotel. Clara was always around to help suggest places to eat and to make us reservations for eating and museums. the neighborhood was fabulous, never had to leave it for delicious and reasonably priced meals. Everything was either an easy walk or a bus ride. the bus stop is with 1-2 blocks from the apartment. there are also grocery stores and a wine store that lets you bring in an empty bottle and they will fill it with your choice of very good local wine for a fraction of the cost at a regular store. I would definately return here on my next trip to Firenze. thank you Clara for a truely memorable stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Maria, large bathroom, comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen123341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Classic Hotel
#219 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
B&B Residenza Cantagalli
#241 of 672 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Santa Croce
Florence View Apartments
Florence View Apartments
#27 of 301 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residence I Colli
#88 of 301 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Le Camere del Poeta
#175 of 301 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Il Terrazzino su Boboli
#52 of 301 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poggio Imperiale Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio Imperiale Apartments

Property: Poggio Imperiale Apartments
Address: Viale del Poggio Imperiale 10, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 301 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 apartments situated inside a typical Florentine downtown villa built in 1860 by the ancestors of the present owners when Florence was preparing to become the capital of Italy (1865-71). The villa has hosted foreign artists and scholars. The villa' s beautiful wide terrace faces Porta Romana which is situated near the entrance of Boboli Gardens and the walls of Michelangelo Buonarroti. The entire building has been completely renovated in 2005 and divided into 9 independent units (6 one-bedroom apartments and 3 studios). All the apartments are fully equipped, completely independent with their own private entrance, bedroom, living room, kitchen area and bathroom with shower. Underground parking available upon reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poggio Imperiale Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing