We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Loved our Stay in Florence with Clara!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poggio Imperiale Apartments
Ranked #65 of 297 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“We Loved our Stay in Florence with Clara!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Not only is the accommodation authentically Italian and located in a lovely part of the city, but you get wonderful personal service from Clara (the owner) : information on where to eat, where to get the best ice cream, wine, cappuccinos, etc, she knows it all and is happy to share it with you.
Where else can you eat breakfast outside and have evening drinks on a sunny terrace directly from your rooms? What made the experience so special for us was Clara, she has an amazing personality and always wanted to help us, even telephoning reservations for us. It was like having your own concierge service at a 5 star hotel.
We stayed in the same room as the reviewer who gave the only bad review and we would recommend this place to anyone. It was excellently appointed, clean and contained everything and more we needed for our stay, the airconditioning worked perfectly! We can only think she didn't like the character and period feel of this place which is one of the reasons we absolutely loved.

Room Tip: select terrace rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
31
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

My wife, our daughter and I had the best time of our lives in this wonderful apartment in Florence. Poggio Imperiale Apartments was so professional, prompt and attentive. It was the ideal company for us. Full of rich details and all the practical advise we could have imagined. A native Florentine, wonderfully proud of her Golden City and its trove of wonders. No matter how big or how small our question was she gave us instant and complete attention and made sure we were happy and fully satisfied. Things have changed in Italy. If you ever heard that punctuality was lax you can forget about it. Punctuality was her specialty. After 9 months our roots had sunk deeply into the charm, the modern appeal, the efficiency, the beauty, the location of the flat. We couldn't have asked for more. The buses are just at the corner of our street, but we walked to any part of the center in 10-15 minutes, food shops, supermarkets (3 nearby), restaurants (try SABATINO and IL PARADISO restaurants just a minute away each and so many more of every price range. 2 Japanese restaurants are just 60 seconds away as well, Chinese just 8 minutes. The famous and BEST and CHEAPEST open air market is the Cascine Park (beautiful green, a sleek modern tram runs right through it, CHARMING!) and we walked there every Tues. for hours of the best shopping and with prices so good....well, seeing is believing. Car rental? The downtown offices and garages for every car rental company, maybe 12, are just across the bridge (Ponte A. Vespucci) and in 5 minutes you will be standing in their midst. They are all grouped together around and along VIA BORGOOGNISANTI and just 60 seconds beyond that is the biggest bus station in Florence, SITA, and the buses there can take you anywhere in Italy and across Europe. We know, we did it often and just now took a bus from Florence to Budapest. And just 1/2 block from SITA is the main train station of Florence. And! Just 2 minutes beyond that is the famous leather goods open air market known as the San Lorenzo market. Best buys in leather in Italy! Once you are there ALL the main sights of Florence are just 1-2-3-4-5 minutes away. The famous PONTE VECCHIO bridge with its glittering gold shops and thrillingly romantic views of the Arno River and Florence are just 3 bridges down from this, our, apartment we fell in love with. Once at Ponte Vecchio you'll find the Boboli Gardens, Pitti Palace (Palazzo Pitti) and so much more are at arms reach. We highly recommend using Poggio Imperiale Apartments and staying in this wonderful apartment. Very modern, clean, efficient, loaded with everything you could need and! Its QUIET! You'll never sleep better. (There was no pool so excuse my review as being poor, it wasn't a poor pool, just no pool.)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDULANEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Clara was an amazing hostess. The rooms are great, the location wonderful and Clara's hospitality unending. She helped us find everything we wanted and even brought us ice and olive oil from her home. We included her for dinner our final night and had a wonderful evening. Thank you Clara!

Room Tip: Clara is a wealth of information and loves to share, but never imposes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed in two apartments over four nights and loved the authentic character as well as the location within comfortable walking distance of the city.

Clara was very friendly and informative assisting us with making the most of our stay.

We loved our time in Florence and would recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryandDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Could not have asked for a better place to stay in Florence. GREAT location- the Roman Gate is just down the street. GREAT service- the owner sat down with us for however much time we needed, led us to absolutely amazing places with her recommendations, and went above and beyond to take care of whatever we needed. The apartments themselves were really lovely, and its nice to have a kitchen to make breakfast in before going out for the day- much better than a hotel room!! We are already planning to go back and stay in these same apartments. Cannot say enough good things about this place- what a gem! I highly recommend it to anyone- friends, family, couples, or solo!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had a really lovely stay here. The apartment was just what we had hoped for and everyone was most helpful. First impressions go along way and the warm welcome and instructions that we received were "first class". A place not to be forgotten and we hope to return one day soon. Many thanks to all for making our stay so memorable and happy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Una G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We had a wonderful stay in Poggio Imperiale Apartments in Florence.
What a beautiful place!
The apartments had everything that we needed! Clara made our stay perfect! This place is exactly what you are looking for if you want a great vacation. Affordable, charming, a real home away from home.
We loved being so close to center yet far enough from the crowds. The apartments are right across from Porta Romana and close to the gates of the Boboli Gardens.
We will be back and will highly recommend the apartments to our friends.

Room Tip: we loved this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Classic Hotel
#227 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
B&B Residenza Cantagalli
#267 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Santa Croce
Florence View Apartments
Florence View Apartments
#29 of 297 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residence I Colli
#100 of 297 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Le Camere del Poeta
#172 of 297 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Il Terrazzino su Boboli
#54 of 297 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poggio Imperiale Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio Imperiale Apartments

Property: Poggio Imperiale Apartments
Address: Viale del Poggio Imperiale 10, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 297 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 apartments situated inside a typical Florentine downtown villa built in 1860 by the ancestors of the present owners when Florence was preparing to become the capital of Italy (1865-71). The villa has hosted foreign artists and scholars. The villa' s beautiful wide terrace faces Porta Romana which is situated near the entrance of Boboli Gardens and the walls of Michelangelo Buonarroti. The entire building has been completely renovated in 2005 and divided into 9 independent units (6 one-bedroom apartments and 3 studios). All the apartments are fully equipped, completely independent with their own private entrance, bedroom, living room, kitchen area and bathroom with shower. Underground parking available upon reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poggio Imperiale Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing