We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic gelato near the Uffizi”
Review of Carapina

Carapina
Ranked #113 of 214 Dessert in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Takeout
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic gelato near the Uffizi”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Loved the gelato. Fresh fruity flavors and rich chocolate. One of the best in Florence and very close to the Uffizi. It's worth finding!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    46
    21
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our favourite gelato in Florence!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Having a son who loves gelato, means we try to seek out the best in each city we go to. Florence was difficult as they have so many gelaterias! We culled out list to try as many as possible in our short stay and Carapina won hands-down! We even went back for seconds, it was so good! The gelato is creamy and the flavours true. Make it a defnite destination in Florence!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazwinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh, friendly and homemade.”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

I walked my feet out my flip flops to get back to this place.
Easily the most honest and tasty of gelato shops in Florence- having managed to get through quite a few of the flavours I would highly recommend any of the fruit choices, as they are so fresh!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flissbiskit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easily the Best Gelato in Florence”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Carapina has some delicious and quite reasonably priced gelato made with local dairies' milk. Gelato flavors vary based on what is in season, making for some delicious flavors. Aside from a number of fruit flavors Carapina also has some more exotic flavors such as white wine or local cheeses when I visited. The gelato is kept in stainless steel canisters to preserve their flavor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamiltonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Freshest Seasonal Flavors”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The freshest seasonal flavors can be found at Carapina's. They have amazingly fresh and fruity flavors.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alex k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carapina also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Carapina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing